We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the legendary Windamere”
Review of Mayfair Darjeeling

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mayfair Darjeeling
Ranked #2 of 97 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Better than the legendary Windamere”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I'm so glad we didn't stay at the Windamere. We popped in and found it very sad and shabby. In contrast, the Mayfair is decorated to a good standard and seems very popular.

The building is fairly bonkers but very charming. The rooms are comfortable but in common with everywhere in Darjeeling, have only limited hot water and rely on convection heaters for warmth - and Darjeeling can be really cold. The food when provided as a buffet was excellent but the staff really struggle to provide and A La Carte lunches. This food took ages and didn't all arrive in the right order! The bar is great and measures are generous with creative cocktails including my daughter's favourite, Gurkha Punch. The beauty salon is amazingly cheap so worth a visit.

The reception staff I'm afraid were clueless when asked for any information about Darjeeling which is a shame. For example they didn't warn us that we might not be able to get immediate tickets for the Hill Railway and didn't know there is a church at the top of their road!

These are minor quibbles given the lack of good choice in Darjeeling so I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boudicca1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    219
    41
    16
    16
See reviews for
275
202
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
156 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

First of all I would like to say that the hotel is absolutely beautiful and the rooms are spacious with an electric fire place, satellite TV, nice bathroom and very clean and well maintained. The grounds are absolutely beautiful.

If you could draw a line between the reception/ spa/ library building and the dining room/ bar/ rooms.....and push the reception/ spa/ library building (or better yet just the staff) down the hillside it would be a great hotel.

After the 4 hour drive (to go 80 km/ 50 miles) up the mountain miserable indifferent people with condescending and snotty attitudes (for no reason that I can fathom) behind the reception counter is the last thing you want to encounter. To call them miserable and incompetent is an understatement. The concierge staff are not much better. For example, when you need anything...anything at all....... you will be told to go to the other window which is one side-step away and then be promptly ignored regardless of which window you first go to. Keep in mind that every time I was the only client in the room. In fact the only time the miserable scowlly-faced woman behind the counter smiled was when she told me I could not cancel my reservation for the next night without incurring the full charge for the room (It was not even 6 PM the night before yet). By the way there were usually 3 of them standing behind the counter doing absolutely nothing but yet couldn't manage to lift their heads to even acknowledge you.

The woman in the spa was just out-right rude, dismissive and nasty. There is just no other way to describe her.

Within the first hour I had already lost any resemblance of patience, calm or civility and just wanted to leave in the morning and absorb the cost of being totally ripped off for the next night.

For the sake of everyone I decided to go to the bar and avoid the reception area while my partner arranged our flights out of there the next day. I had to walk through the dining room (which was not open yet) to get to the bar and the staff took the time to smile and say hello. The extremely polite and courteous gentleman behind the bar was totally amazing and the service was excellent. By this time the manager had approached my partner and asked him to reconsider

They came to the bar and he seemed very sincere so we decided to give it another chance. I just avoided going near the front desk area and my partner beared the brunt of that misery.

All in all...........I am on the fence about recommending this hotel. The property is beautiful, rooms are clean and very comfortable, food is delicious and the bar is relaxing. The rest is totally awefull. That is my honest assessment.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are similar but if not, our regular room was very spacious, comfortable and re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank luv2travel9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Must admit- we visited Darjeeling at the tail end of our North Sikkim trip. For me the town was too crowded and dirty compared to the divinely beautiful North Sikkim and I was unhappy passing through the town till we arrived at Mayfair. The property was simply beautiful with various kind of flowers adorning the reception area. You are treated to a cup of hot Darjeeling tea as your welcome drink. When you head to the cottages, its a pleasant walk through the eras. The rooms take you to Victorian times. There is a back route from the hotel to the Mal Road- just 10 minutes walk so you never see the chaotic town (unless you want to go to do touristy stuff). Food is good with a lot of variety. Great relaxing stay after a 9 day long vacation! A must-stay when in Darjeeling!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nomadicexpedition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darjeeling
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2014

MY humble regards to all staffs of mayfair darjeeling it was an awesome experience for me. I would lyk to thank personally mr.santosh(manager but dnt knw 4rm which section) New year eve was awesome i as an anchor could notice all the beautiful ladies and gentlemen present there..whole night party was tiresome bt enjoyable also...also thnx 2 other two manager 4r being supportive and caring would like 2 follow u all on facebook ...prerna lama gurung

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank preru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We have booked this hotel in package including complimentary breakfast and dinner. Rooms are big and spa services are good.In breakfast and dinner buffet there are variety of dishes and all are mouth watering. ..

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deb20_2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Our room was clean, comfortable and the view was lovely. The food was delicious and some continental options. The surrounding gardens are beautiful and well cared for - I can't understand how there were so many flowers in the middle of winter ! The staff are helpful, and ready to assist at all times. I was very cold most of the time, but due to my not bringing appropriate clothing - the heaters in the room just took the chill off the air, the only warm place was in the exquisite library or in the restaurant. Hot water was not in abundance, but apparently there was a water shortage which is just the reality of the area. The bed was a warm toasty haven, complete with hot water bottle, which the staff place in the bed around 8pm. It was a very welcome find ! The Mayfair location is close to all the attractions and it is easy to walk to everything.

Room Tip: A room with a view is best, high up as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fromsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Nice and clean place for a comfortable stay. Location is good as it is walking distance from the mall. View of the mountain ranges is very nice and pleasing. Food spread was good and varied. Staff was courteous. There was cultural dance program one evening which was enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasuvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.2 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#4 of 97 in Darjeeling
540 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#1 of 97 in Darjeeling
462 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#10 of 97 in Darjeeling
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Darjeeling - Khush Alaya, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.5 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 97 in Darjeeling
649 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windamere Hotel
Windamere Hotel
#7 of 97 in Darjeeling
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Darjeeling

Property: Mayfair Darjeeling
Address: | Opposite Governor House, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Darjeeling
#1 Luxury Hotel in Darjeeling
#1 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
#4 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfair Darjeeling 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MAYFAIR Darjeeling - located in the lap of Mother Nature, is a star category deluxe heritage hotel that was once the summerhouse of Maharaja of Nazargunj. Located at prime location (opposite Governor's House) in Darjeeling, MAYFAIR Darjeeling is known for world-class facilities, state-of-the-art services, superb amenities, and a home like surrounding that pleases ever tourist. With 43 well-decorated and fully furnished rooms,the leading luxury hotel in Darjeeling provide you accommodation with the motive of "Stay with Us, Stay with Nature". Being over a century old, it still maintains the charm of the old world while having modern amenities and a young and vibrant staff. Warm fires in each room, spectacular sunsets, the stellar Spa, an exclusive Tea boutique and extensive dining options are just some of the reasons guests come back here time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mayfair Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Darjeeling Hotel Darjeeling
Mayfair Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing