We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Darjeeling”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mayfair Darjeeling

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mayfair Darjeeling
Ranked #2 of 95 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Jurong, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best in Darjeeling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

To get up in the morning and see Kanchenjunga from your room window is serene in itself...coupled with the British style of architecture...fireplace..and it makes your stay an excellent one..
The library was good with a great collection of books and movies....one can spend hours just sitting in the library..
The resort is very spacious and the food is of top quality....

Room Tip: Try getting the rooms facing the mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaurishN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    212
    41
    16
    16
See reviews for
264
197
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

The room offered had all modern amenities, and great views too. The food served was not hot, so the staff gladly made the dish again(instead of just reheating it).
Another eminent thing was that this place was chock full of honeymooners, which is understandable, given its exotic location and well matched services.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soma_ds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

AWESOME is the only word that comes to my mind when I thought of Mayfair Darjeeling.
Excellent Location, Great Food, Great Rooms , Friendly Staff...
The food specially Naan is one of the best naan I had in my life...best place to stay for honeymooners.

I love this Hotel and would like to visit again...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rahulzz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

One of the best hotels in town. After cancelling my visit from Elgin gangtok further to Elgin Kalimpong, I returned to Mayfair Darjeeling. We booked 02 suites. Charged us very high, as we booked the same day. But we were happy with the rooms and services offered. Staff was polite and happy to serve.

Room Tip: Suites were good, always recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gajraj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilaspur, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

our stay in hotel was very comfortable, service and food quality was very good ,staff is very good they really serve with smile.,room we stayed was very gorgeous and luxurious and the view from room was very nice and we can see clouds and mist

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUDHIRBSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel is quaint and charming to say the least. But it is also very well equipped with all modern amenities you can think of. The room we stayed in was in the main building and it was gorgeous, comfortable and luxuriously appointed. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
The Bar is a great place to have a drink, and we ate most of our meals there too.
My only concern is the quality of food served at the buffet during dinner. I wasn't impressed at all. And in Darjeeling if you want to eat beyond 9pm, your hotel would be the only place to do so since the small town shuts really early. A la carte, the food isn't bad.

The hotel is at a wonderful location to explore darjeeling since a lot of attractions are a stroll away.

We had a lovely romantic weekend at this hotel and would definitely recommend it to people planning on visiting Darjeeling.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank binnstrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed in middle of the monsoon season and darjeeling was beautiful! The view from the room was all clouds and one could literally see the the clouds/mist float into the room late evening. The service at Mayfair was fantastic and the staff was always ready to help with a smile. My plan had breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was good. However, dinner left a lot to be desired. Repetitive menu, limited to indian and some basic chinese. We ordered ala carte 2 of the 3 nights. Also, stay away from the so-called spa. Cant believe Mayfair gangtok (fantastic spa!) and Mayfair darjeeling belong to the same management. Stay away from what they shamlessly call a spa at darjeeling.

Bitter taste at check out. I had booked a half day small cab but while checking out, i found out that i had been charged for a full day big cab. When i pointed this out to the receptionist, he 1st told me i had booked a big car but changed his mind when he checked the register, Then he said I had used it for the full day and when i informed him that i had used it for 3.5 hours, he called up the travel agent through which they had booked. I know im being unreasonable in this but him double checking what i said (difference was just Rs 700) was hurtful. The moment i realised he was double checking, I knew i will be paying the full amount. I didnt bother listening to what the travel agent told him and paid the full amount because i knew im not coming back to mayfair simply because of this one single reason.

But, good place with a great staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RohitSarawgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.2 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#4 of 95 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#1 of 95 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#11 of 95 in Darjeeling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 95 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.3 mi away
Windamere Hotel
Windamere Hotel
#6 of 95 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Darjeeling

Property: Mayfair Darjeeling
Address: | Opposite Governor House, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
#1 Spa Hotel in Darjeeling
#1 Luxury Hotel in Darjeeling
#4 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfair Darjeeling 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MAYFAIR Darjeeling - located in the lap of Mother Nature, is a star category deluxe heritage hotel that was once the summerhouse of Maharaja of Nazargunj. Located at prime location (opposite Governor's House) in Darjeeling, MAYFAIR Darjeeling is known for world-class facilities, state-of-the-art services, superb amenities, and a home like surrounding that pleases ever tourist. With 43 well-decorated and fully furnished rooms,the leading luxury hotel in Darjeeling provide you accommodation with the motive of "Stay with Us, Stay with Nature". Being over a century old, it still maintains the charm of the old world while having modern amenities and a young and vibrant staff. Warm fires in each room, spectacular sunsets, the stellar Spa, an exclusive Tea boutique and extensive dining options are just some of the reasons guests come back here time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mayfair Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Darjeeling Hotel Darjeeling
Mayfair Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing