We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Service”
Review of Mayfair Darjeeling

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mayfair Darjeeling
Ranked #2 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous Service”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The place is really cozy and nice. The rooms look like small firehouses and the place is really the opposite of what you could think about India. We stayed there in May 2013 and there were a lot of tourists who were checked in. But even if the people are quite packed, they still managed to provide a good amount of attention to everyone. The staff in the restaurants were really very accommodating as they take time to explain to you what the food is since most are written in Indian language. Also. they provide complimentary cookies and chips which make the stay much more enjoyable. However, I wouldn't say that the food was spectacular but it was above par compared to the other restaurants that we have eaten in during the trip.

Room Tip: If you want a clean and nice hotel, you should definitely get this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candiceee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Mgr_MAYFAIR, Front Office Manager at Mayfair Darjeeling, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from MAYFAIR Darjeeling!

At the onset, I thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your stay at MAYFAIR Darjeeling. Feedback from valued guests like you serves as an important tool to ensure deliverance of quality service and keeps us inspired and motivated to perform better every time.

We are encouraged by your positive feedback & hope that you would give us opportunity to be of service to you again & again.

We once again thank you for your kind patronage and assure you of our best service, attention & cooperation for all times to come.

With warm regards,

Sabyasachi Mohanty
Resort Manager
Mobile : +91 9233904001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    219
    41
    16
    16
See reviews for
276
202
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My brother and i reached the hotel after a tiring a day long journey from MUMBAI via DELHI BAGDOGRA and then by by road the reception at hotel was really hearty and warm enough to make us feel welcomed. we were welcomed in the traditional manner and and also with steaming legendary real Darjeeling cup of tea, then we were ushered into the room which was well appointed with amenities, the only thing i noticed was slippers kept in the room were mass procured and hence were of no use to both of us. Guest service was unable to provide any different size, so one had to walk on cold granite floor bare feet.
The room had internet service good television network and very prompt room service otherwise.
About FOOD I MUST SAY that though most of the guests at the time of our visit were vegetarians the spreads were lavish mix of both veg and non veg foods, it was the best attended part on the part of the establishment to see that no stone was left unturned in guest satisfaction. Special efforts were taken by Mr KUMAR & his team in this direction. IN SHORT they won the hearts of people and ensured repeat visitors for the hotel with their well mannerism.
i recommend the hotel for its upkeep, comfort and location. the hotel also has a legacy for those who seek it and want to dwell in it, which has not been compromised but upheld proudly.
i would walk back in the same hotel if i go back to DARJEELING.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santosh07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Mgr_MAYFAIR, Front Office Manager at Mayfair Darjeeling, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from MAYFAIR Darjeeling!


At the onset, I thank you for your kind patronage & the valuable time you took to provide us feedback with regards to your stay at our Resort. Feedback from valued guests like you serves as an important tool for deliverance of quality service and keeps us inspired & motivated to perform better every time.

From your positive feedback we feel encouraged. However, at the same time we have taken a note of your kind observation & suggestion regarding Sleepers. Based on your valued observation & suggestion, a corrective action has already been initiated.

I shall be honoured to receive you again at MAYFAIR Darjeeling & hope that you would give us opportunity to be at your service again & again.

We assure you of our best services, attention & cooperation for all times to come.

With kind regards,

Sabyasachi Mohanty
Resort Manager
Mobile : +91 9233904001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur, Maharashtra, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is by far one of the prettiest properties I have seen so far, well maintained and it feels so refreshing to be here. The rooms are of a good size and I love the effect of fireplace that they gave in our room. Beds were very comfortable. Ambiance is awesome and soothing. I found the staff to be very courteous though on one occasion during lunch one for their staff was very rude which did have an negative effect on our stay there. Food is very good and so is the variety for breakfast and dinner, for both veg and non veg. The kids and play rooms are too good kids do love and enjoy there. If l go darjeeling ever again I am staying here again and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yamini_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Mgr_MAYFAIR, Front Office Manager at Mayfair Darjeeling, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from MAYFAIR Darjeeling!

At the onset, I thank you for your kind patronage & the valuable time you took to provide the feedback with regards to your stay at our Resort. Feedback from valued guests like you serves as an important tool for deliverance of quality service and keeps us inspired & motivated to perform better every time.

From your observations, We note that your stay was not as comfortable as we wanted it to be because of staff at Lunch. In this regard, please accept our apologies. Let me assure you that upon your observations, a corrective action has already been initiated so as to avoid its reoccurrence. We hope that you would treat this as a “ One Off Case ” and give us an opportunity to be of service to you.

I shall be honoured to receive you again at MAYFAIR Darjeeling. I also request you to kindly ask your assistant to drop me a mail or SMS your next travel plan to Darjeeling.

Inconvenience caused to you is once again deeply regretted and we assure you of our best services, attention & cooperation for all times to come.

With warm regards,

Sabyasachi Mohanty
Resort Manager
Mobile : +91 9233904001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I went to Mayfair in Darjeeling in April 2012 and hated it. We asked for a Villa with the view of the gardens after reading several tips on this forum. But the hotel still gave us a room there. It was hell. We were overlooking a favela and they could look directly into our room so we couldn't leave the blinds open. There were flies every where in dinning room and the food made me sick.

If you have to go to Mayfair in Darjeeling, be adamant about getting a room on the higher levels of the hotel with garden view not shanty view.

Room Tip: Only get a room on the higher level with garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silverfuel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Mgr_MAYFAIR, Front Office Manager at Mayfair Darjeeling, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from MAYFAIR Darjeeling!

At the onset, I thank you for your kind patronage & the valuable time you took to provide the feedback with regards to your stay at our Resort. Feedback from valued guests like you serves as an important tool for deliverance of quality service and keeps us inspired & motivated to perform better every time.

From your observations, We note that your stay was not as comfortable as we wanted it to be because of room allocation. In this regard, please accept our apologies. Let me assure you that upon your observations, a corrective action has already been initiated so as to avoid its reoccurrence. We hope that you would treat this as a “ One Off Case ” and give us an opportunity to be of service to you.

I shall be honoured to receive you again at MAYFAIR Darjeeling. I also request you to kindly ask your assistant to drop me a mail or SMS your next travel plan to Darjeeling.

Inconvenience caused to you is once again deeply regretted and we assure you of our best services, attention & cooperation for all times to come.

With warm regards,

Sabyasachi Mohanty
Resort Manager
Mobile : +91 9233904001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

It was a wonderful stay. the booking manager Srijana was excellent in her behavior and very capable and reliable. the managers in the restaurant were very helpful .the spa was so comfortable - Sabita used to make my days very nice with her pleasant attitude in the spa - i visited the spa almost every day of my stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShereneMondol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

what was fantastic= every single staff member, the food, the location

you get what you pay for and more. id cant really say anything else because everything was top class! should be a five star just on principle

Room Tip: we stayed in in three different areas as we went as a family: the cottages- has a good view and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophia f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The resort truly lives up to the 'Mayfair' reputation and delivers in every aspect. However, there are a few flaws that I would like to point out to my fellow travellers. The food is decent enough for it's standards and so are the rooms. However, the room service is not upto the mark as most of the hospitality staff are neither fluent in English nor Hindi, so expect a tough time when you set instructions. Expect delay in your room service orders and in any help that you might require. The view of the Hills is fabulous and so is the ambience. There is Snooker and Table Tennis facility for recreation, but, who would have time to play Snooker or Table Tennis when you're in the Queen of Hills! Rooms are generally packed, so book in advance, and go for the independent villas, because they would provide you with the perfect Solitude in the Hills.

Room Tip: Go for the independent villas, or the rooms that are below the reception building for they are way m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CompulsionToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.2 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#4 of 98 in Darjeeling
543 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#1 of 98 in Darjeeling
466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#13 of 98 in Darjeeling
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
2.7 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#8 of 98 in Darjeeling
344 reviews
3.0 mi away
Darjeeling - Khush Alaya, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Darjeeling

Property: Mayfair Darjeeling
Address: | Opposite Governor House, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Darjeeling
#1 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
#1 Luxury Hotel in Darjeeling
#4 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfair Darjeeling 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MAYFAIR Darjeeling - located in the lap of Mother Nature, is a star category deluxe heritage hotel that was once the summerhouse of Maharaja of Nazargunj. Located at prime location (opposite Governor's House) in Darjeeling, MAYFAIR Darjeeling is known for world-class facilities, state-of-the-art services, superb amenities, and a home like surrounding that pleases ever tourist. With 43 well-decorated and fully furnished rooms,the leading luxury hotel in Darjeeling provide you accommodation with the motive of "Stay with Us, Stay with Nature". Being over a century old, it still maintains the charm of the old world while having modern amenities and a young and vibrant staff. Warm fires in each room, spectacular sunsets, the stellar Spa, an exclusive Tea boutique and extensive dining options are just some of the reasons guests come back here time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mayfair Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Darjeeling Hotel Darjeeling
Mayfair Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing