We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dilip kumar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dekeling Resort at Hawk's Nest
Ranked #11 of 97 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Gr8 people. Luxurious. Money worth. Very helpful people. Homely feel. Always book taxi through the hotel to complete your programs at right time. No activity there. Right place for cam stay with hole city look from the top.


Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank G Dilip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 164 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in April 2014 with family (travelling with a 7 year old kid!). Thanks to Mr Norbu the owner of Dekeling hotel for kindly re-arranging our booking from Dekeling hotel to Dekeling resort. The resort is approximately 5 minutes drive from the mall road. One can also reach the railway station/mall road walking - which takes about 15 minutes via short cuts. Walking back is uphill and might take a bit longer. The suites (main room+lounge) are very spacious and have lovely views of the mountains. Our room had a flat screen TV and a modern decor. The rooms and toilets were clean. There was a free wi-fi service. The resort balcony also has lovely views of the Darjeeling town and the mountains. Note while we were there the hotel was undergoing renovation and hence it was a bit of a walk/climb from the hotel gates to the reception. Usually the car/taxi would come right up to the hotel reception. We did not mind the walk. Special thanks to Prema (one of the owners) and Tashi for making this trip memorable. They cooked us lovely hot food - which is served in the resort dining hall. We just told the multi-skilled Tashi of what we would like to eat and he would prepare the same and serve us hot food. If you do have meals outside the hotel - have it before returning back to the hotel in the evenings - as it might be quiet a walk to go to mall road just for dinner. The resort also arranged all our sight seeing / travel arrangements. I would highly recommend this resort to travellers who prefer serenity over the hustle bustle of the busy mall road. The Japanese temple, Bose Institute, St Paul's school are easy walking distance from the hotel. Cash machines are near the mall road. No good restaurants nearby. The best place to buy/taste 'authentic' Darjeeling tea would be 'Nathmulls' or 'Goodrick'. I would not hesitate booking at Dekeling resort when I visit Darjeeling next time. Thanks to Mr Norbu, Tashi and Prema for making this trip so wonderful and memorable.

Room Tip: * New suites were being constructed when we visited - so if you are after mountain views ask the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pinaki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Nice big property, lavish stay, food quality was average. rooms were dusty. loads of mosquitoes. nice view of darjeeling. not easy to reach. not favorable for the people who has some breath related problem. you need climb stairs or steep ramp. which makes you feel uneasy.

Room Tip: All rooms are big and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hikapoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Very nice property ,misused,not maintained,dirty rooms,do not even clean rooms,dust everywhere,no services,staff is not cooperative,not listening,doing gossips if asked something to do,if you have to reqch hotel,have to climb very high,no street lights in hotel path,dark everywhere,taps not working properly,poor drainage in bathroom,geysers not working properly.after taking room in this hotel,they pressurise on early payment,only concerned about money,no one is bothered for providing services,hell like place.

Room Tip: Horrible place,avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank staffykapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located a km or 2 outside the buzzing areas, along a steep road. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable. Wifi worked. Although there is no reception area, the caretaker is friendly and helpfull.
Unfortunately there is a lot of construction going on, with building material everywhere, and some areas not in use. Doesn't feel like a "resort". Hotel also battles with its elecrical supply to all areas (incl some geysers).
As with most other hotels in Darjeeling, the views are good.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank JKrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed in this resort for about a week, and had a very good time there. The resort's people are extremely hospitable and even though the resort itself is not exactly in the city center it certainly offers some breathtaking views and a very calm environment, sparing you from the noise and car-polluted air which is quite persistent around Chowrastra. Home made food was also good!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Balazs G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

The people who run the resort are fantastic. They are friendly, talkative, and most helpful. The rooms are large and comfortable. We had a sitting room as well as a bedroom and both had fireplaces. We could see Kanchenjunga from our bedroom window on a clear day. The breakfasts were plentiful and delicious. However, the staff did not clean the room each day, nor did we get fresh towels. The towels were important because used ones did not dry in the humidity. I suspect that we would have had a very positive response if we had asked, but unfortunately we did not. The resort is just about a kilometer out of town, an easy walk down and an inexpensive cab ride up the steep hillside. The location is great, because it is quiet there. You have easy access to everything and none of the downside. If I were to go again--and I just might--I would definitely would ask to have the rooms cleaned each day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.6 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 97 in Darjeeling
657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#6 of 97 in Darjeeling
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#12 of 97 in Darjeeling
313 reviews
0.9 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
1.0 mi away
Central Gleneagles Heritage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dekeling Resort at Hawk's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dekeling Resort at Hawk's Nest

Address: 2 A J C Bose Road | Hawk's Nest, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 97 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range: $63 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dekeling Resort at Hawk's Nest 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dekeling Resort at Hawk's Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dekeling Resort At Hawk`s Nest Hotel Darjeeling
Dekeling Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing