We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly family run place, feels like a cozy cabin inside”
Review of Dekeling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dekeling Hotel
Ranked #5 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Stowe, Vermont, USA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very friendly family run place, feels like a cozy cabin inside”
Reviewed November 5, 2010

The Tibetan family that runs this place is so friendly and helpful. The hotel has great views and is very cozy inside. ("Cozy" is not a word I would use to describe hotels in India, but this one is!) Great value and a great place to stay in Darjeeling. Very central location. The library is better than an American library -SO many good books you want to read. (Except they won't let you do a book exchange -the ONE frustrating thing about this place!). The in house meals are very good and inexpensive and you eat at a big table with other families/travelers. GREAT place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    218
    79
    24
    12
See reviews for
146
237
95
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2010

Warm welcome, helpfull staff, almost clean big rooms, wonderfull view, best located in heart of Darjeeling.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank ThomasundNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
2 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Very friendly place, clean rooms, nice service and a wonderful view! One of the best places to stay for a moderate price in Darjeeling. Best place to meet interesting people, and to stay longer than you have planned. You have to try the MOMOs - Restaurant is small, but very good tibetan food. Next year again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystalake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel and found it to be in the perfect location for exploring. The family that owns and runs the hotel is very helpful and hospitable. Our first night was spent in their basic room which is a small carpeted room near reception. My allergies were killing me from the mildew after the first night so we changed rooms to the deluxe room. The deluxe rooms were only a little more per night but were ten times nicer with hard flooring and wood walls and ceiling. The hotel was very clean and breakfast was basic but great. On my next visit I would without a doubt stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thattravelgirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

This hotel was fantastic. The staff were friendly and helpful, the location is great and the view is amazing.
The owner/manager (not sure which) is a very kind and gentle lady who really cares about her guests. She goes out of her way for you and always looks after you. The rooms are clean and the hotel itself is just a great place. I would stay again.
The only thing that took a while to get used to was the 64 steps up to the reception area, but the view you get from up there is worth it.
i was in two different rooms due to extending my stay and the better rooms are quiet and at the back of the hotel, while the cheaper rooms were at the front and did get more noise. They also were around a common lounge area, which if people were up chatting late into the night, could be an irritation.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apj101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

I have looked around Darjeeling enough, and still felt that this hotel is a very good choice in a clean location. (Darjeeling is getting dirtier and run down then I last visited few years back.) This is not my first stay with Dekeling Hotel.

I booked over the Internet and Mr Dekeva gave me a good discount, promised me the particular room I requested. When I checked in, I was disappointed that the room I asked for, which has prob. the best view, was already taken. The receptionist and Mrs Dekeva were very apologetic. The reason - I have changed my dates a few days back, and they didn't receive my email until the day before, whence the room has already been occupied. They said they did keep the room for me for those dates I previously booked, which I missed. And they don't charge me for that - really appreciate that. It seems the mail servers are very frequently down in Darjeeling?

The welcoming tea is very refreshing and tastes great! The room is a bit cramped, even more so for the bathroom. The carpet is very worn out; wardrobe cannot be used to hang clothes, The bed mattress is really solid and comfortable, though the comforter is to the heavy side -- I found it suffocating. Of course it still has a good view over Darjeeling and the mountains, if the clouds were lifted, which never did during my stay there.

The bathroom, while very cramped, has been upgraded. Everything from showers, to toilet to wash basin and tower rack were new. It is very clean. TV works well. They even provide adapter plugs in the room for modern day travellers who come around with lots of electronic gadgets.

They didn't make up the room, but did clear out waste baskets, and re-supply soap. No shampoo is supplied.

The lounges and dining rooms are still quaint, cozy, and a good place to unwind. It can get a bit crowded though, when they are many guests. I am surpised at this low season, they are still many tourists staying with Dekeling. It is still a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anpijola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Srinagar, India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stayed for 4 nights at Dekeling Hotel.The rooms were clean and comfortable...The staff is friendly and decent...The location of Hotel is great...the food was awesome.... true value for money...we enjoyed lot.......

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank manzoor5437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
2.3 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#8 of 98 in Darjeeling
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.3 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
0.2 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#13 of 98 in Darjeeling
311 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#1 of 98 in Darjeeling
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dekeling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dekeling Hotel

Property: Dekeling Hotel
Address: 51 Gandhi Rd, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
#3 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
#4 Best Value Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dekeling Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Dekeling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dekeling Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing