We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Dekeling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dekeling Hotel
Ranked #5 of 99 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Great place, very comfortable, staff were very accommodating about looking after our belongings whilst we went on a trek for a few days. Great central Darjeeling location. Good breakfast, free wifi, and a comfy, homely lounge area.

Room Tip: Good views, but more road noise at the front, quieter but less views at the back. Rooms in the attic...
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ged R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 278 of 657 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

This place is fantastic. The owner is the most lovely person, and they knew we'd been struggling to find somewhere affordable, so they brought the price down for us. It's clean, warm, and has two beautiful common rooms (with books, lounges, coffee tables, dining tables, and a warm fire) with seriously amazing views from both.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheGlobalShuffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We booked a deluxe and a super deluxe room at Dekeling Hotel for 3 nights after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. Our visit was in April 2014. Full marks to the owner Mr Norbu Dekeva and his friendly staff. They were very helpful and polite and always ready to help. You need to note that this hotel is very close to the shops and mall road. The reception can be reached by climbing several steps (good idea to plan out when you are leaving the hotel / coming in - so as to minimize climbing the stairs). The rooms were clean and tidy. The hotel interiors (lounge/reception/hall ways) are very well decorated and has a wooden feeling. Super-Deluxe rooms are bigger than Deluxe rooms, however, they do not have mountain views. Deluxe rooms do have mountain views. Hence, if you do want a room with good views it is advisable speaking to the hotel when booking rather than getting disappointed later. The hotel has wooden interiors - there is a lovely lounge and internet connection (free wifi). Unfortunately, I did not end up staying in this hotel as I wanted good mountain views - which was not present in our super deluxe room. The owner Mr Norbu kindly offered to move us to Dekeling resort which is 5 minutes away by car. Dekeling resort has lovely views and you will find my review on Dekeling resort page. But overall I am very satisfied with the very friendly staff and would definitely recommend to anybody looking for a good budget hotel in middle of Darjeeling. As this hotel is in the middle of everything - all kind of shops and restaurants can be reached very easily (short walk). There are ATMs nearby to take out cash. If you need help with transport you can email the hotel manager and they can take care of your airport transfers and local sight seeing. Enjoy your trip!

Room Tip: * Check with hotel for rooms with views. * Hotel can arrange for airport transfer and local sightse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinaki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The location of the hotel is probably the most convenient for any traveller from mobility, view, shopping, outside restaurants and of course the Mall. I have travelled with my spouse and an infant for whom I had placed series of demands to the authorities right from speed of the pick up and drop car to warm water, special food (for the infant), room heater, etc. which were all provided with a smile and on time everytime. Morover the behaviour of the hotel staff would never make you feel away from home. They have always kept my preferences first and during my 5 day's stay they have never given me a scope to complain.

Room Tip: Room with a mountain view on the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sumone25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my family on a trip to Darjeeling. The hotel location is pretty good and it is near some really good restaurants. The rooms themselves are a bit tacky by western standards and the bathrooms could use some improvement. Staff is very pleasant but as to be expected in this part there is some lacking English which can lead to some lost in translation moments. Overall a good experience.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank nkaynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Visited Darjeeling with my family ( of 3) in Mar 2014 and I had picked Dekeling cos of the great reviews and to sum it up quickly, its just as good as I read it would be!
The location is kind of perfect as its smack in the middle of the main road overlooking Keventers.

The hotel is actually on the upper floors of the building and requires some climbing to reach. Our room wasnt ready when we reached but the ever so hospitable Mrs. Sangy ( the hostess) showed us around the hotel, introduced us to the staff & Dolma ( her lovely pet dog) made us very comfortable in the brilliant lounge that they have and served us fresh darjeeling tea which rejuvenated us after the long drive from Pelling.

Our room was ready very soon -it was a bit small but was clean & a nice view of the street as well as the valley outside. Heaters are charged extra ( i think it was Rs.400 /night ). The wifi signal wasnt very good in my room ( just next to the reception) but the lounge area has good connectivity. The highlight of this hotel is the great staff & the fantastic lounge area which is well equipped with wifi , tons of books and a fireplace which is really great on cold nights. Dont bother going to Tiger hill - The view of Kanchenjunga from here is just amazing!! Its a great place to hangout - you can expect to meet a lot of foreign tourists and its great to exchange notes with them. I had a fantastic experience talking to a people from UK,US, Germany & France!

The staff here is very friendly and Bikram at the reception helped us chart out all the sightseeing trips in great detail and arranged a great driver for us (Ashish). Service otherwise was very prompt & all our needs were attended to. There are great eateries closeby and Bikram /Mrs Sangy can direct you to all the right places - the Park ,Lunar, Glenary's (Dekeling too has a small restaurant at the ground floor which serves nice chinese & tibetan fare).

We truly had a fantastic time here Dekeling team ! Keep up the great work . Thanks for all your help & hospitality and we hope to revisit you soon :)

Room Tip: There is a newer block which has bigger and more modern rooms - but they lack a view. I stayed on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kunalaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The hotel had a good location and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I really liked the "lounge" where we had breakfast and that they kept warm in the evenings which can get a bit chilly in the mountains.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eedwinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
2.3 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#6 of 99 in Darjeeling
355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.5 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.3 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#4 of 99 in Darjeeling
552 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 99 in Darjeeling
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dekeling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dekeling Hotel

Address: 51 Gandhi Rd, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
#3 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
#8 Best Value Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range: $25 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dekeling Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with getaroom.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dekeling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dekeling Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing