We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dekeling Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Mohit(Darjeeling)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Seven Seventeen(Darjeeling)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
North Star Hotel(Darjeeling)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Jai Hotel(Darjeeling)
View Hotel
Hill Crown Retreat(Darjeeling)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (676)
Filter reviews
676 results
Traveler rating
335
224
81
24
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
224
81
24
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot watercommon roomtibetan restaurantlounge arearestaurant downstairsmountain facing roomflights of stairstop floortaxi standdarjeeling teano liftcentral locationtiger hillsuper deluxe roomsviews of the mountainshome away from homeevery evening
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
353 - 358 of 676 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed four nights here and on the first morning, looked out the window to a clear and spectacular view of the Himalayas. The proprieters are very friendly and helpful and there are meals served in one of the very relaxed loungrooms.
The location is convenient to the walk around to the town square where locals gather for a chat and chai. Also close is a Buddhist temple on the hill and further round, the Windamere Hotel where you can have tea and scones overlooking the valley.
The steps up to reception give your legs a workout and by the end, you'll be fitter.
Bags are carried up by porters if you want.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountains.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

recently i stayed at dekeling hotel in darjeeling after a good many yrs. a no nonsense place. warm. friendly - like it was the last time. mr and mrs dekeva were just as gracious. was immensely glad to see their pet apso, doma, was still alive, kicking and wagging! but recently i sent a mail to the mr dekeva via ur site asking him if a certain room was available during the new year. he did not reply. that was strange and disappointing... perhaps now he is eager to communicate to only those who have already booked a room in his hotel and thus becomes worth his while... o tempora o mores!

Room Tip: dont believe the pictures you see. if possible ask somebody who has had a previous experience of staying at the concerned hotel. but dekeling offers a wonderful view. and else, bathroom are squeaky clean - very very essential for me!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KolkataBobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed in hotel Dekeling in first week of June and it was a very pleasant stay. Very warm and caring owner and staff. Good vegetarian restaurant is attached. Location is good and if you are lucky, you can see Mount Kacheenchunga from your room itself. We were very pleased when the owner met us during our check-out time and talked to us very warmly.
Negatives - Rooms are small. Rooms are located in 4th floor and you have to take stairs everytime.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chirdeep_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I was in Darjeeling from 28th July 2013 to 31st July.....During these time there was a three day strike...everything was closed....but Dekeling Hotel took care of us very cordially ....they provide decent food....the view from the hotel is excellent...From our window we saw the mighty Kanchenjunga....chowrasta is just a stone's throw away.....we had a splendid time there....thanks Dekeling staffs...

Room Tip: we were in 101 ...which had a great view....
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zannatkibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I was in Darjeeling from 23 to 27/7/2013 with my wife. On 23rd I reached late in the afternoon and I had settled down for a hotel shown by a tout. The next day morning I located Dekeling Hotel just by chance. My happy, comfortable stay started from that moment. The room had a wide window and with full view of the mountains. The cleanliness was extra-ordinary. I am still not able to forget the smiling faces of the courteous staff of the hotel. The owner of the hotel also stays in the same hotel. She was extremely polite, pleasant and was a good host. The hospitality extended by the owner was so good, I feel like travelling to D'jeeling to stay in this hotel. I found that the hotel tariff was also reasonable. There is a small restaurant down below, but the staff there were helpful and I got the food from outside through the staff. In a nut shell, excellent hotel to stay because it is closest to the Mall, taxi service and market. and beautiful view of the mountains from your bed.

Room Tip: Ask for deluxe room with "mountain view"
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nkbadri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews