We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay in DJ”
Review of Dekeling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dekeling Hotel
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were put up in dekeling hotel through our tour company (so canny properly comment on value for money) but it has been the best place we stayed in so far. We had a room at the top with a view over the town (quite foggy at this time of year), and though the ceiling was slightly low, the room had beautiful wooden panels and comfortable beds. We had breakfast included and we were fed until full- omelettes, local cheese and marmalade (after weeks of mixed fruit 'jam' this was especially delicious). The staff were genuinely helpful and kind, and organised our trip to 'Tiger Hill' for us. There is a computer in a sofa space where you can relax and good wifi too. Also there's a delicious Tibetan restaurant below the hotel which is worth checking out.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hafutraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (663)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

349 - 355 of 663 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

Great hospitality! We had a standard room and it was only 1200 rs a night, it includes hot water and is a comfortable room. The location is great, you reach most things by foot and the view from the lounge over the mountains is beautiful. A very nice place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three days here and enjoyed it immensely. Well located and with some spectacular views from the upper levels. The hotel had a real alpine village feel to it with extensive wood panelling. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perth-to-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

It was memorable experience staying at Dekeling hotel from 15th June 2013 to 17th June 2013.
location of the Hotel is really good only 3 mins walking distance to mall area Taxi stand is just in front of the Hotel. as this hotel is in 3rd, 4th and 5th floor of the building you will get a marvelous view of Kanchenjunga range from this hotel room . rooms are well furnished and Clean .
Staffs are really humble and always ready to help. they always prioritize customer service and customer satisfaction .

there is no such room service available but they have a restaurant in Ground floor .. if you place order they send the food in room without extra payment.
Food is just lip smacking ... weather its simple momo or thupka or Chicken Fried rice .but only Chinese food ....

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arindamroy000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed at Dekeling Resort (Hawk's Nest) in June 2013 with my family and had one of the most memorable experiences of watching the snow clad Kanchenjonga in all its resplendent glory, reflecting the early morning sunlight. It is a villa with well-furnished comfortable suites (including working fireplaces). The service is excellent and the food delicious. Located at a scenic spot on A.J.C. Bose Road, with the Bose Institute and the Japanese Buddhist Pagoda within walking distance. Would strongly recommend the place to all.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sumitabasu192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norbu D, Manager at Dekeling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Sir and Madam,
Thank you for posting your kind review on the Trip Advisor.
It was indeed great pleasure to serve and host you and your family members . We would all like to" Thank you" for your kind appreciation of our hospitality during your stay with us . For us, guest satisfaction is our prime concern and we shall persevere to work towards it.
We hope we will have the pleasure to serve you again !.
Wishing you and your family many pleasant holidays!
Kind Regards Always,
Norbu Dekeva,all his team at Dekeling Resort .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I was in Dekeling hotel from 28th May to 31st May with family.I have selected this hotel based on Trip Advisor report ( 4.5 star rating) but unfortunately, it was bad & nobody should select hotel on those reports.Though staff was supportive, the top floor restaturant is just a shock,You only get bread,Omlettee ,fruit juice & tea/coffee which is expensive. There is no question of having vegeterian food in this restaurant.
The hotel is having 40-50 steps & we lifted our luggage with no support from hotel.
The super rooms are really very conjusted rooms.There was a heavy rainfall & the room was leaking throughout the night.Almost for the whole night, there was no light, generator was not working & no UPS back up.Landry service was also very poor.
Fortunately, there is a hotel Lunar which is at first floor where you get good vegeterain food but expensive.
Cabs were arranged by hotel for site seeing & but very expensive.
The advantage of this hotel - it is near to mall road where you can do some window shopping.
Hotel does not accept any credit card & you have to pay cash ( it is all over Darjeeling & Sikkim)
There were some 7-8 locations for site seeing but due to rain & fog, most of the time,it was not enjoyable at all. We went to see Tiger hill in heavy rain & nothing was visible & the trip was wasted.

No reception /24 hour staff is available & you do not get any response on phone till 9am in the morning.( In case of any emergency, it will be pathetic)
I suggest travellers to take a serious note of it & think of other options while you are in Darjeeling.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DEEPBaroda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norbu D, Owner at Dekeling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Sir
Thank you for taking your precious time to post your comments on the trip advisor. We would all like to express our” Big Thank you “ to you and your family members for your gracious visit to Darjeeling.
We are very sorry that our Hotel and staff did not meet your high expectation and also apologise sincerely for all the inconvenience you faced.
The two restaurants in our complex Dekevas and Lunar are very convenient and popular. Our guest can order food as per menu. On noticing that you preferred vegetarian food, my wife clearly mentioned to you that we could serve you food as per vegetarian menu from Lunar Restaurant and also offered to provide you plates and other services if food was brought packed from outside.
We are sorry with the inconvenience to face with your luggage. When guest inform us about their arrival, our staff are more than glad to assist you with bringing the luggage.
Our super deluxe rooms are decent sized rooms but we are sorry if you were uncomfortable of the size. We are very sorry that your holiday mood must have been very upsetting because during your visit Darjeeling weather was at its worst with continuous rain fall. Due to the heavy rain fall the whole of Darjeeling had to face massive power cuts , leading to our generator being over worked , further leading to generator break down and many subsequent problems.
We are very sorry that all this had to happen during your visit. The leakage was also probably due to heavy rain slashing towards the window. If you had informed us during your stay we would have definitely offered you a different room. We will seriously look into rectifying this problem
As regards to the cab fare, kindly do understand that considering it is peak season time drivers have to be paid as per the charges they demand.
Our guest satisfaction is our primary concern and our apologies that we felt short of fulfilling this commitment .We hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again next time and assure you that we will do our best to live up to your expectation.
Wishing you and your family members many pleasant holidays
Kind regards always,
Norbu Dekeva and all staff at Dekeling Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I abhishekh jaiswal stayed 29th june 13 n 30th june 13 stayed in the hotel dekelling 1 night n 1 night in the dekeling resort undoubtedly the dekeling hotel location is idle ...one doesn'nt have to walk but the hotel is on the 2nd & 3rd floor one travelling with small kids will face problems to climb upstairs the stairs are errect ...no dining fascility in the hotel no propper room service but the room which they provided was nice best part was that it had king size bed ee were 2 adults n 2 children accomodated easily but they charged RS 2600 per day another problem was that there were no exhaust fan in the bathroom that was the worst part but there was heater in the bathroom n watet was available....they only provided mineral water n tea only nothing more than that .....dont book any taxi from the hotel talk directly to the taxi drivers and bargain as muchc as u can . The worst part was that whdn they shifted us to their resort it was 2 km away from the hotel no taxi avlb charges were Rs 200- 300 one sidethat gets costlier ........no proper fooding available no restaurent only four suite rooms less staff but if u eat rice dal n tawa roti its worth u will get taste of home food ......the sight was awesome from the resort ........

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank abhishekhjaiswal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dekeling, Owner at Dekeling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for staying with us. You booked your stay with us through your individual will, through recommendation of your sister who had stayed at Dekeling Resort earlier, and hence you mentioned your preference to stay at Resort.Due to non- availability room at Resort you agreed to stay at Hotel at one night,and the second night you shifted to Resort, the rates(printed clearly on our website and tariff card ) were clearly mentioned to you and charged as applicable.I am extremely sorry that your visit co-coincided with the awful rainy weather which dampened your spirit hence the subsequent vent out, I guess! Due to the bad weather you shortened your stay against which, with due co-operation, we did not charge any cancellation charge applicable.The two Restaurant in our Hotel complex Dekevas and Lunar are very popular with all our guest and one can order food as per menu. I am sorry if you did not notice the inbuilt exhaust fan in the bath room. The Resort is situated on a ideal location with the real hill station feel about 20 minutes walk ( maximum 1KM ). The Resort menu is popular with all our guest with the feel of homely cooking but one does have to allow some time for the cooking to be served as every item is freshly cooked as per the guest order.We hope we get the opportunity to serve you again and enjoy our hospitality like our other innumerous guest who have appreciated our properties and accordingly posted their reviews on the TripAdvisor. Wishing you many pleasant sunny holidays.
Mr Norbu. & all the Dekeling Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.3 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
2.3 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#10 of 100 in Darjeeling
367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.5 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 100 in Darjeeling
665 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#11 of 100 in Darjeeling
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dekeling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dekeling Hotel

Address: 51 Gandhi Rd, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
#3 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range: $40 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dekeling Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dekeling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dekeling Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing