We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home in a budget hotel”
Review of Dekeling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dekeling Hotel
Ranked #5 of 99 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Dekeling many times over the years, during annual visits to Darjeeling from the USA. We love the congenial atmosphere, the care of the owners and staff and the simple, clean quality of the accommodation. There are many steps up to this hotel, but once you are in the reception area, and then up another flight to the lounge and breakfast area you cannot help but feel the warm atmosphere. Several rooms have great views of the mountain, and every year it seems there has been some new building going on, adding rooms and recently adding a brilliant extension to the lounge. The high point of the hotel is the owners, Norbu and Sangay Dekeva and their helpful staff. It is Norbu and Sangay in particular who make this hotel like home away from home for so many visitors.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (658)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

400 - 406 of 658 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank aroy77in
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We really enjoyed our time here, the family who run it are very helpful and friendly, the breakfast was lovely and the communal area with free wifi was really nice to sit in of an evening. The give you plenty of blankets to keep warm however if I returned I would ask for a room on the sunny side of the hotel as our room became very damp after the few days. They do a fantastic dinner at the restaurant downstairs from this hotel too.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

A very good place to stay in Darjeeling. Its centrally located with value for money. The rooms are clean and the staff is also very nice. One may not get great views from the rooms but the rooms are cozy and comfortable and good for relaxing after a busy day. The best part is that the owners make sure you have a comfortable stay at their hotel. The only drawback is that you have to climb a lot of stairs to reach the hotel. But then you are in a hill station and its no fun if you don't have some exercise. You should surely stay here if you are not looking at something very fancy.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SudarshanK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

A fantastic place to stay full of honest and genuine staff who wish you to have an enjoyable stay. They will go above and beyond to make sure you have a pleasant time, and in my experience at the best prices you will find anywhere. The rooms themselves are very cosy and full of character.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kasper E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

The Dekeling Hotel, Darjeeling, India

The Lonely Planet description is right on target. The Dekeling is a well-managed guest house/hotel, with clean, comfortable rooms, and a nice common area (with a great view) for eating, relaxing, and meeting other travelers. The Tibetan owners do everything they can to make guests welcome and enjoy their stay. We had high praise for the guy who is usually at the desk who was always extremely helpful, pleasant, and efficient, patiently answering the questions of many guests, and seeing that their needs were met. The food was good as well (a nice buffet breakfast). It's in a good location. The only downside for some might be the number of steps one must climb to enter the place, followed by more steps to higher floors and rooms. We put a positive spin on that, just considered it good exercise, and a small price to pay for such a nice place to stay. One other small negative: because it is so popular and fairly priced, tour groups book it and can take it over in ways that can sometimes lessen the quality of the experience for other guests (e.g., the independent travelers).

Room Tip: Rooms on several levels, the highest require many steps to get to, which gets old after a few days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Ajay A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.3 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
2.3 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#6 of 99 in Darjeeling
361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.3 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#4 of 99 in Darjeeling
553 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 99 in Darjeeling
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dekeling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dekeling Hotel

Address: 51 Gandhi Rd, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
#3 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
#9 Best Value Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range: $32 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dekeling Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dekeling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dekeling Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing