We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer First Excellence”
Review of Dekeling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dekeling Hotel
Ranked #5 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Customer First Excellence”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

High Quality Budget Hotel in an excellent location. Friendly, helpful, informative, owner and staff all pushing to extra mile toaccommodate guest needs. Excellent food and stunning views from front facing rooms and gallery restaurant lounge with wood burning stove to toast the cold away..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKsatisfied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    218
    79
    24
    12
See reviews for
146
237
95
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stayed at the Dekeling Hotel for 5 nights in November and I would honestly say that this was one of the best places I stayed during my six week tour of Northern India.

In particular, Mrs Norbu is a most warm, charming and helpful host. She personally welcomes and takes a keen interest in all her guests and their particular needs will go out of her way to give honest help where required. She does this in a most charming and extremely friendly and polite manner.

I found the Dekeling a most pleasant place to stay. It is well located right in the centre of Darjeeling. The heated and very comfortable communal lounge is most welcome in the evenings when it gets quite cold up here.

The rooms are most comfortable with cable TV and hot water, although one does tend to get quite out of breath after climbing the many stairs to reach your room (NOTE : No lift / elevator here !!).

The breakfast buffet offers a good selection (at an additional cost of about 220 rupees) and internet access is available at 60 rupees per hour (although Wi-Fi is free !).

I would definitely stay at the Dekeling Hotel again when next in Darjeeling.

Keith

Room Tip: The A rooms on the floor above the lounge are very good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEITH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Sangay and Norbu are excellent hosts! They are so friendly, warm and helpful! Rooms vary in size and views. The new wing with Superior deluxe rooms are wonderful!! They are large and have a private bath. If you are there during the cold season, make sure you get a heater! They also provide hot water bottles if you are cold. Views are spectacular from the sitting room. Location is excellent!! You can walk everywhere and also the taxis can get right to the hotel entrance. They have wireless internet and breakfast is good. They will arrange transportation for you to other towns or the airport. Staff very friendly and helpful!! A must stay if you are going to Darjeeling!! Thank you Sangay and Norbu for many, many wonderful stays at your hotel.
Harry and Laura
Vancouver, Canada

Room Tip: During the cold season, get a smaller room with a heater. It may not have the views but you'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Except for the rooms--cold, damp, grimy--this is a great place to stay. Because our room was so unpleasant, we spent evenings in the common area warmed by a coal-burning stove and met some really fun fellow-travelers with good dinner recommendations. Heat and breakfast not included. Breakfast buffet is ho-hum and cost more than a really superb breakfast at Sonam's Kitchen nearby. We paid 400 rupees per night extra for an electric radiator that didn't always have electricity to work it. The bathroom, smelling of sewage when we checked in and of disinfectant on subsequent days, was freezing cold despite our radiator, and always had water on the floor, leaking from an unknown source. The staff was helpful in arranging transportation.

Room Tip: Inside rooms noisy (barking dogs) with grim view of alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregg40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelson new zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had such a lovely time we stayed 8days.nothing was to much trouble. The couple who own this hotel are some ofthe kindest people we have meet. Comf rooms,warm common room with a fire. Great views right in the centre of Darjeeling. We would stay again.
Hey made our trip.Go experience it you will love the warm, kind place.
We thank them SO much Katherine &Ray new zealand

Room Tip: Room A1 very sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathNelsonNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

A friend and I stayed here in September 2012 for about a week and a half near the end of our trip and i can only speak for myself but i loved it. We stayed in what i would call the more expensive rooms but i wanted comfort and space and got it. Mrs Norbu and her staff were wonderful, friendly and always helpful and service was quick. I was trying to find my mothers birth extract and Mrs Norbu was extremely helpful in pointing me in the right direction. The views from the rooms and especially the common room in the middle were awesome. Thanks for a great stay and i hope to be back in a year or so :o)

Room Tip: If you want the best view go to the top, if you want space and comfort choose first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pickled2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayd at this Hotel for 4 nights and my experience was really nice. The morning view to kanchenjunga from the rooms is incredible. The owners of the hotel are really nice and they make sure everybody feels like at home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicoeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
2.3 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#9 of 98 in Darjeeling
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.3 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
0.2 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#12 of 98 in Darjeeling
311 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#1 of 98 in Darjeeling
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dekeling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dekeling Hotel

Property: Dekeling Hotel
Address: 51 Gandhi Rd, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
#3 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
#4 Best Value Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dekeling Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Dekeling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dekeling Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing