We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average”

Kanika's for Veggie Lovers
Ranked #57 of 117 Restaurants in Darjeeling
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian, Tibetan, Fast Food
Good for: Large groups
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Read a good review of this place in lonely planet and since we are vegetarians decided to try it out. Food was just okay. We had eaten at lunar hotel the previous evening, and couldn't help comparing our bland jeera rice with memories of heaven

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank samwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanika_mhs, Owner at Kanika's for Veggie Lovers, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your jeera rice. We have taken it up very seriously with our kitchen staff and will make sure that it never happens again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 27 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

i happened to have veg biryani, i couldn't consume the full plate. the price, quantity was genuine/fair but the taste/preparation was not good and up to my expectation, so i did not take another chance and not visited during my five days tour in Darjeeling.

Thank Loveraj7257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanika_mhs, Owner at Kanika's for Veggie Lovers, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

We are sorry that you felt that the taste was not upto the mark. It would be easier for us to rectify if you could specify the problem. Do visit us again on your next trip, we will make sure that you are not disappointed this time. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

kanika's is a very excellent place if you are veggie lovers.Whenever I feel like having a bite I go down and order their Delicious Veg Sand witches,the chola baturas are amazing and also their veg momos.This is he best veg restaurant in Darjeeling guys and you should visit it.......Their paintings on the wall in support of Kripa Foundation is also worn a look..........Kanika supports the cause of KRIPA and Darjeeling a very good cause!!!Thanks Kanikas for opening such a wonderful place......

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DarjeelingChristabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanika_mhs, Owner at Kanika's for Veggie Lovers, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Thank you for writing in and for your kind words. It is our endeavor to serve delicious food and at affordable prices at Kanika's. We feel close to the cause of 'Kripa Foundation' and would like to support it as much as we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

i'm no veggie freak at all....i enjoy meat and eat meat in all three meals a day.but when i tried the veg food in kanika's due to some peer pressure....my mind was opened.i loved the chinese and the pakoras...there.amazing balance of taste.now ,i visit there occassionally when ever i'm in mood for veg.great ambiance....and a very good value for money......keep up the good work

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BobbyBlownWylde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanika_mhs, Owner at Kanika's for Veggie Lovers, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

We are happy to learn that you have started enjoying vegetarian food occasionally because of Kanika's. Do keep dropping by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

pure veg dimsums, little difficult to locate this place, it is behind summit yashree hotels,just ask around, reasonable price, only Rs. 30 for a plate of 6 veg momos plus clear soup of greens. simply great !!

Thank gandheker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanika_mhs, Owner at Kanika's for Veggie Lovers, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kanika's for Veggie Lovers also viewed

Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 

Been to Kanika's for Veggie Lovers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing