We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beatiful Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Passenger Ropeway

Passenger Ropeway
Book In Advance
More Info
$83.00*
and up
Darjeeling Half-Day Private Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #9 of 98 things to do in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beatiful Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

A look at the infrastructure and you wonder if you would survive it. However it seems safe as no accidents have been reported.

A return ticket costs 300 and you can return anytime till 4. There is generally a queue to go down but the return trip usually has a much smaller line.

We did explore but there was nothing much to see and hence returned in the next available trolley.

The views are beautiful but the return journey gets a bit monotonous.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank AAK83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    188
    70
    15
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Great views of the tea estates”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

We paid Rs 150 per head for the return trip, which takes approx. 20 minutes each way. There was a queue to go from the starting point opposite St. Joseph's school, so we decided to take the same coach back without getting down at the first and only stop.

It looked like most of the tea estates did not have their plucking season when we visited.

Great experience, though.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sirish V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very good but very long way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We booked both ways ropeway. It was very long 40 minutes and 5 kms incl both sides.

It goes from 1 valley to another.
40 mins in a ropeway is too long but you can enjoy the scenic view of darjeeling.
expensive too around 150 per person

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank skybvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
371 reviews
310 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“A beautiful view of the Tea-Estates.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

The Darjeeling rope-way is located at Singamari, 3 Kms away from the Chowk.Did get a shared taxi from Chowk and it was a short drive to North Point on Lebong road next to the famous "St Josephs School"..From Northpoint road opposite St Joseph's school it was a walk up a flight of stairs to the "Ropeway station".There was a long queue of tourists for the "Cable Car" ride, the charges being Rs 150/person.Finally at approx 1445hrs i did get my turn to enter the cable car and enjoy and view the ride.The view of the sloping tea-estates was beautiful from the cable-car as also the surrounding city.The cable-car takes you to the extreme end of the valley and back to the starting point..Finished the cable car ride at approx 1515 hrs and walked down to North point. Boarded a shared taxi back to the Chowk.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MumbaiRiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
124 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“All it takes is plenty of time.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Good we didn't get on it! We were supposed to start in half an hour, then in an hour...it didn't get done by then. There were men tangling along the metal mast repairing a roll on which the rope is guided. People were stuck in those passenger gondolas for more than an hour. We sat at the little food stall outside somebody's home next to the rope way munching the best ever momos to really aromatic lemon ginger tea, watching the "circus" going on in front of us with the men performing stunts with no safety measures other than a pretty lousy net underneath them, no helmets, no gloves, no harness. We found out the normal trip would take roughly an hour down, but there you'll have to wait you turn yet again to come up or take a taxi. It would have been dark night by then, so we walked all the back, happy we had those momos and the tea. So all it takes is time, bring plenty.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank rakarash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Passenger Ropeway also viewed

Darjeeling, West Bengal
Darjeeling, West Bengal
 

Been to Passenger Ropeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing