We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked the property which is very strategically located with a nice view, good food, courteous staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
Ranked #9 of 99 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Only thing which we thought to get a view of Kanchanjunga from the hotel rooms were not available. However we would like to comeback to the hotel and also would request hotel to rework on their tariff to make it more affordable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Titli2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanika_mhs, Owner at Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank you for your suggestion.We will try and look into it. Also, the view is sometimes obstructed because of bad weather. We are sorry that you missed the majestic view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 302 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

I was at this property in the month of Oct 2013 with my family. We had opted for two rooms which were interconnected. I interacted with Mr. Suman all the time durin finalization of the rooms and the price. Mr. Suman was extremely helpful and answered all my queries to the last T.

The rooms that we stayed in was awesome. They were huge and since they were interconnected the area seemed to be all the more bigger. We were given room heaters which made the room even more cozy to stay.

The hotel is located at a convenient distance from Chowrasta. However, one needs to know that the walk from the place were the can drops you to this hotel can be a tiring one. Especially getting from the hotel to the drop / pick up point is a tiring one as it is an uphill road from the hotel to Chowrasta. From Chowrasta to the drop/pick up point the walk is on a leveled terrain. So in case senior citizens are travelling one needs to be cognizant about this.

The place has a nice lawn to relax in. The food served is average. Service is good.

Please ensure that you clear all the price points with the management beforehand and there should be no ambiguity. While my interaction with Mr. Suman was nice all the time, I had a rude shock during checkout. However, I believe that this was due to an oversight on part of Mr. Suman and there was no foul play intended.

I definitely would recommend this property.

Room Tip: Please ensure that price points are finalized with clarity well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LordAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanika_mhs, Owner at Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time out to write in such detail. We are glad that you were happy with the rooms and the hotel . I am looking into the confusion that happened on your check out around pricing.I assure you that it will not be repeated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Hotel located in narrow lane on mall road have to walk with luggage for .5 km. we reached late in the evening and found that there is no hot water despite individual rooms fitted with geysers. The room was completely drenched in water due to leakage in the roof we shifted to another room in the morning to realize the toilet seat was missing frustrated we decided to change the hotel when the staff were kind enough to fix these problems quickly. We continued our stay for one day with no hot water frequent power cuts and worst food. Would never recommend this sick place to anyone.

The only good thing about this place is the responsiveness of staff despite these problems they were available at all times but looks like the owner is least bothered to maintain the hotel

Stayed: October 2013
9  Thank kalpskris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanika_mhs, Owner at Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

We are really sorry about the inconvenience faced by you. We have rectified the mentioned issues. The rainfall in the hills are often unmanageable and the only solution sometimes is good /responsive staff. I would like to however correct one detail. The hotel is only at a 3-5 min walk from Chowrasta ( Mall Road) and has the best location in town.Thank you for your feedback. It helps us know the issues first-hand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel was excellently located, a mere 2 minute downhill walk from The Mall. The view from the rooms is unobstructed and lovely.
The staff were polite and helpful. Ours was MAP plan and we were offered a variety of options in buffet and room service.
We had a wonderful stay and free WiFi was the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WorldTraveller1502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanika_mhs, Owner at Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Wow..Thank you so much for such wonderful comments. We are overjoyed with your feedback and hope to keep up our efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in great surroundings. We stayed in a ground floor room which had doors onto our own little garden area. Im sure the views would have been great but there was too much mist the whole time we were there to see anything of the mighty Kanchenjunga.
The walk anywhere can be tiring if you are unfit, but it is a nice walk and I thought of it as good excercise while on holiday. It is near the Chowastra square which is the main tourist area and the nicest part of Darjeeling.
We stayed for bed and breakfast. the rooms were comfortable and a nice size. We had twin bedded rooms which seem to be a bit difficult to find in India.
the food was good but a bit disorganised. The first morning they just turned up with various dishes of food, including a strange pasta dish! If we asked for something specific there was a 50/50 chance that it would turn up as expected! The second morning we decided to try room service for breakfast. That way they can have the order in one go and bring down what we actually asked for at their convienience. This seemed to work and we got what we ordered. the third morning was a buffet breakfast and we got a call asking us to come to the restaurant because it is ready. It was a resonable selection, however you had the choice to order eggs as required and wait for them to be made. when we ordered scrambled eggs we got omlette!
I think the kitchen staff, although good mannered and polite were basically not trained properly, and disorganised.
There was also no Wifi at the hotel although it was advertised as such.

However overall it was a pleasant stay in nice surroundings. We were given a big discount when booking so we could overlook the inefficiecies as " only in India"

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trinity101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanika_mhs, Owner at Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for writing out in detail for us, it helps us to understand things well and hence rectification is easier. We will definitely look into training of our kitchen staff soon. Internet is slightly unpredictable in the hills and we are trying our best to resolve the issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Very good Hotel. Well maintained, good hospitality. Rooms are large and neat & clean. all staffs are very much cooperative. They have a good restaurant & Bar. excellent valley & mountain view from the room. location is good just adjacent to Mall. Nice garden to relax in the nature.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAJNBOSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanika_mhs, Owner at Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

We are pleased to learn that you are very happy with your stay. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed on 13th and 14th april 2013 at central nirvana.The overall experince at the hotel was very good except the fact it is locted at a 10 min walking distance from L S villa,no vehical is allowed beyond that point.the excellent valley view from the room is main plus point of the hotel.Hotel staff was very good,good room service,Cleanliness,rooms are nice,the food was average.Definatly a very good place to stay in Darjeeling.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biswa229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanika_mhs, Owner at Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for the review. The fact that vehicles are not allowed there adds to the calm and serenity of the place. We are happy that you enjoyed the greenery and the scenic view from the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
2.6 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#6 of 99 in Darjeeling
361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.8 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Gleneagles Heritage Resort
0.3 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 99 in Darjeeling
659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 99 in Darjeeling
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling

Address: C.R. Das Road, Below Chowrasta | (The Mall), Darjeeling, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 99 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range: $34 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Nirvana is a deluxe hotel and heritage house located just below the famous landmarks of Darjeeling - Chowrasta & The Mall. Surrounded by beautiful hills and majestic mountains, this more than a hundred years old building has been a witness to the rich history of Darjeeling. From the patronages of various governors during the British era to the recent department of Tibetan Government in Exile, the stay at one of the best hotels in Darjeeling, the Central Nirvana, is an experience that pleasantly lingers. Stay at our Central Club Rooms and Central Deluxe Rooms to be part of the Himalayan splendour! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing