We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a personal touch”
Review of Magnolia Residency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Magnolia Residency
Ranked #6 of 125 Darjeeling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012

After staying in quite a few places in Darjeeling we found this lovely hotel. The rooms are immaculately clean but the best part is the service. The owner of the hotel Mrs. Sonia is an outstanding woman who treats the people staying in her hotel as if they were her own personal guests. Her exceptional attitude reflects upon all of her staff and on her manager Naveen. If you are looking for a peaceful most pleasant stay, this is definitely the place for you.

Room Tip: if the weather is cold stay in the rooms nestled between the corridor and with the bathroom being fa...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chilik58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chewangsherpa, Owner at Magnolia Residency, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank You Chillik for your precious and valued review, we felt privileged to have had you as our guest. We look forward to seeing you again. Wishing you a safe journey back home.
Sonia and the entire Magnolia Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Magnolia Residency
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 142 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

I absolutely recommend this place! it's ideal for a couple or family. The place its brand new, so everything it's so clean and tidy.
The owners are excellent pleople! very kind and friendly. Unfortunately I get sick in Darjeeling and they helped me so much. I was so lucky too find a place with excellent people!
The room service it's of course, amazing!
The location is just perfect and the views one of the best of darjeeling.
If this is not enough for you, let me tel you that THE best restaurant is right here in the 1st floor!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agustina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chewangsherpa, Owner at Magnolia Residency, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thanks a lot for your review. Hope you are enjoying tour in Sikkim.
Take care

Kind Regards
Chewang
Magnolia Residency

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

It was the impeccable service my family got that still lingers in my mind even about one month post our stay in Darjeeling. Visited many cities and stayed in "n" number of hotels/motels/inns both in India and abroad, and people (ah, lovely) and the way they serve their customers at Magnolia Residency, Darjeeling, surely put themselves at among the top levels that one can only hope for. They do what they do with great care and dedication, hats off to the fellows there. The rooms were clean and serviced in a timely manner and the entire property was well maintained. The staff was very friendly and it seemed like someone was always available to help. Thanks for giving us a nice stay there. It was felt as if we were at our own home, away from home.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomcha_Delhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chewangsherpa, Owner at Magnolia Residency, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Thanks a lot for your valued review. We look forward to serving you again when you visit Darjeeling. Thanks a lot again.

Kind Regards

Chewang Sherpa
Magnolia residency
Darjeeling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Ittipol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer 305 ist das größte und beste, das Zimmer im Erdgeschoß am Ende des Ganges ist auch sehr groß...
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: meglio le camere al piano superiore,hanno l'acqua calda e sono più arieggiate
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank liciabianchessi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Najlepiej wybierać pokoje jak najwyżej, ostatnie piętro z uwagi na hałas uliczny, pod oknami.
  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank irmaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.5 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
2.4 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#8 of 98 in Darjeeling
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.4 mi away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#78 of 98 in Darjeeling
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 98 in Darjeeling
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Residency

Address: Dr Zakir Hussain Road | Below S.P Bunglow, Chowrasta, Mall, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Darjeeling
Price Range: $22 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Residency is a beautiful little property located at the Mall, Chowrasta. The wall of the rooms are covered in traditional Tibetan Murals reflecting the cultural heritage of the region. The rooms are warm and inviting, with wall to wall carpeting, Wi-Fi Internet Access, LCD TVs, Doctor On Call, Anytime Cab, Laundry Service, uninterrupted power supply, travel desk services {e-air tickets | train tickets |airport transfers} daily English newspaper, beauty saloon (nearby) and international courier through DHL / FEDEX / BLUEDART & others. Multi cuisine restaurant serving Indian, Chinese, Nepali, Tibetan and continental cuisine open for Lunch and Dinner. Our team: the dynamic young duo of Mr. Chewang Sherpa and Mrs. Sonia Devi own and run the property, both being ardent travellers. They overlook the day to day running of the hotel. "We don't promise u much...but a Solacing stay in the Queen of hills" - Mrs. Sonia Devi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Magnolia Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing