We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service, rude behavior, bad food quantity”
Review of shangri-la

shangri-la
Ranked #19 of 116 Restaurants in Darjeeling
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“Bad service, rude behavior, bad food quantity”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We were there on a short 2 days trip to darjeeling and had planned a dinner at Glenary's. unfortunately it was full, and we had to opt for nearby shangrila. Here are things which disappointed us:

1. waited one and a half hour to get the food served.
2. when it came the chicken pieces were so small we could not even found them.
3. when we complained to the manager, they got it replaced in the same condition... possibly in the same bowl.
4. the chicken pieces mainly consisted of cornflour stuffing
5. 1 bowl of chicken side dish was not enough for even 1 person.
6. They attract visitors by keeping a low price and they display it outside the entrance on a menu kept on podium.
7. The quantity and quality of food is not even worth a penny.
8. MOST IMPORTANTLY: The rice quality is worse than that sold in the cheapest shop in a filthy alley

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank subhranil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    67
    39
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Good chinese cuisine”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had very good chinese lunch in this restaurant. Good preparation and very tasty. This place is highly recommended for atleast one meal during trip to Darjeeling.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SPMukherjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shimla, India
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food, great location”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Located centrally on the Mall Rd (Nehru Rd). We had in-room dining (chicken curry, chicken masala and rotis) as in house guests at Shangri-la Regency (their associated hotel). The food was good quality. The portions were a bit small though. Liked the food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nikhiljaipurkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagler Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
913 reviews
302 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 530 helpful votes
“A good multi-cusine restaurant”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Shangri-la is a good multi-cuisine restaurant on the Mall road. A good place for lunch or dinner with family and friends or solo. We opted for a Chinese meal at lunch time and liked the food.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Traveler-O-World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Safe place to eat in Darjeeling”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We ate in this restaurant having spent two weeks volunteering in Kalimpong so it was nice to eat somewhere with a wide variety of choice. The restaurant had a good reputation amongst western travellers and was highly recommended by the lonely planet so we did not worry about the safety of the food. When it arrived we were treated to large portions of well cooked food. Service wasn't the best and it was s bit strange for a restaurant which puts itself forward as a fancy restaurant to be wheeling supplies and gas containers through the dining room while guests are there. I would also suggest the food is overpriced but they charge a premium as there are so few othe options.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed shangri-la also viewed

Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 

Been to shangri-la? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing