We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Darjeeling toy Train”

Darjeeling Himalayan Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
$1,378.75*
and up
6-Day Private Tour to Gangtok and Darjeeling from Kolkata Including Train Ride...
Ranked #12 of 99 things to do in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A spectacular narrow gauge steam railway is still operational.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Darjeeling toy Train”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

It is simply a joy ride....one can simply get off and get on the train as per wish.........batasia loop is an engineering feet altogether and the train ride provides ample opportunity to enjoy the view.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ashishkumar78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    199
    128
    36
    37
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
135 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very Poorly Maintained”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

People who want to see everything on a trip and do not want to miss anything during a holiday would also be disappointed by this terribly maintained Toy Train which takes you for a so called joy ride which is absolutely disappointing.
Should be avoided

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GoogleGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Darjeeling Railway”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Hi ! recently I was in Darjeeling with my family. Seeing the worst situation of the Heritage Darjeeling Railways disturbed me. The coaches seems to be like tin boxes. Seats are not maintained. There was a landslide two years back which was not maintained till my visit in Sep. 13. Actually West Bengal Govt. is not looking towards Darjeeling which is a worst situation. Previously I was very excited to see and visit the Railway but after seeing the condition I feel pity for it........ :(

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ash_main
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I went on a Joy Ride. It was a marvellous ride. The views are specatular. It oozes with old world charm!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anklesh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3,408 reviews
1,916 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,549 helpful votes
“A must-visit attraction in Darjeeling”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Due to limited time it wasn't possible to take the full trip on the Darjeeling Himalayan Railway all the way to Kurseong, but still managed a short trip from Darjeeling to Ghum and back. This was well worth the effort and still allowed the experience on being on the railway. Recommended

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KGB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darjeeling Himalayan Railway also viewed

Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 

Been to Darjeeling Himalayan Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing