We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the road drive”

Darjeeling Himalayan Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
$1,378.75*
and up
6-Day Private Tour to Gangtok and Darjeeling from Kolkata Including Train Ride...
Ranked #12 of 99 things to do in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A spectacular narrow gauge steam railway is still operational.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
275 reviews
180 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Better than the road drive”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Originally the Himalayan railways was connecting the Newjalpaguri( from the plains) to the Darjeeling hill station Via Kurseong by a narrow gauge Toy train. Presently the service from New Jalpaguri to Kurseong has been stopped and the service is between Kurseong and Darjeeling only.( as on may 2013). Unlike the Nilagiri mountain railways in Ooty, Tamilnadu, which runs through difficult terrains and through the tunnels, this himalayan railways runs along the road to Darjeeling., But yet, i prefered htis train over the road drive for it was running very slowly and gave me ample time to enjoy the scenary and take photos and videos on the way. To do this, you have to select the left side seat from Kurseong to Darjeeling and right side seat from Darjeeling to Kurseong. I will recommend to travel by First class for the seating comfort and space. It stops at Batasia loop for sometime which has a beautiful garden to enjoy.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Gajarajan1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    199
    128
    36
    37
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Margao, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“railway in darjelling”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Its worth taking a short trip by the toy train which runs through the city roads and all the traffic make way for the same

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank darwin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“dont toy with this ride”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

the toy train is no big deal as it travels on the same road as your road transport and for this, all the hassel of getting ticket and seats.I would rather travel by the niligiri mountain rail (NMR)as it chugs through valleys,forests, tunnels, british bridges,streams and is close to my heart

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank gandheker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Ride!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I traveled to Darjeeling with my family and booked afternoon joy ride. DHR is UNESCO world heritge site. Joy ride starts from Darjeeling station and makes a round trip to Ghoom and back. On the way it halts at Batasia Loop. One can see the train museum at Ghoom for free during its 30 min halt at the station. This train now has Diesel engine. If they had retained steam engine for Joy ride, it would have added fun and nostalgia. Overall it is fun to ride this little toy train.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank iamthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhopal, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nothing but disgusting”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I must confess that I was disillusioned after a real experience on this "Heritage" train. I booked a ticket for four, well in advance, for a joy ride on 25.4.2013.Children were beaming with enthusiasm as they had images of a steam engine in mind, chugging through Darjeeling and its outskirts.Bookings were made well in advance,anticipating rush due to tourist season.

On arrival at the Darjeeling Station on 25.04.2013,I was disappointed to see a Diesel Engine attached to 2 coaches at 10:30 A.M. Totally baffled, I inquired about the situation from the Station manager. I was told that this is the train for the "joy ride" and due to some problems, instead of Steam Engine; a Diesel Engine will be used. It is worth noting that DHR is having sufficient Steam Engines to cater to the need of Joy Rides and Chartered Tours. It was highly disappointing and discouraging to note that the the flagship of DHR: graceful Steam Engines, remain out of order and not available for the trips which tourists crave for. Can any one imagine a joy ride on DHR without a Steam Engine? Normal joy rides are available every where,in every Zoo and amusement park.

Here someone comes with a different picture in mind endorsed by glorious past of DHR, beautiful scenes and surroundings and of course chugging steam engines. I must confess that every perception I had about this "heritage train" was falsified and all the nostalgia and charm had diminished. Keeping in view the experience I had, I am compelled to say that the "Joy ride" is just an overpriced, hyped and disappointing journey and I feel that it is nothing better than a normal "toy train" found everywhere.

I personally feel that it will be a better option to go to Tung or Kursiong on a normal daily Diesel Train and enjoy at least scenic beauty if not the train ride. It was even informed that certificates will be given to the persons who board this Joy ride(http://www.railtourismindia.com/cgi-bin/dev1.dll/irctc/booking/planner.do?trainType=DHR&trainCat=DHR&screen=FromTrainType&pressedGo=&submitClicks=0&offset=0).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank AshutoshMishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darjeeling Himalayan Railway also viewed

Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 

Been to Darjeeling Himalayan Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing