We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Pathetic experience till date”
Review of Pineridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pineridge Hotel
Ranked #78 of 125 Darjeeling B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Attractive pictures on Net led me to the hotel. Though the location of the hotel is nice but it has too many flaws to waste your time and money on it. A big no no for families with kids.
1. It has no restaurant
2. Rooms are moist
3. Bedding is historical and dirty
4. Corridors and rest of the hotel too is very badly managed.
I could not stay beyond a day had to bear loss of booking amount too.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank DelhiWanderer_delhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Pineridge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 86 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2010

Hotel Pineridge is just 1km from railway station,situated at The Mall.All rooms are spacious ,with all facility except food.You can walk 2 minutes to get restaurants for food,breakfast and shopping.Staff and local people are very simple and friendly.Hotel will provide car for sight seeing.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
10  Thank iswar61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

i booked this hotel online looking at the rosy picture that was provided to me over the internet. but all my notions/expectations were blown up in thin air once i entered the hotel. the hotel was in darkness when i entered it around 4.00 pm. they say that they only switch on the back-up when night begins to set in and that too no back up after 11PM. we were provided candles to have some light in the night and i had a 18 months old kid accompanying me, so it was terrible. the rooms were dirty, all the property including the bed, lights, mattress, bathroom tap were broken, the staff was non-coperative. we needed to get the milk warmed at regular intervals for our kid, but they say that they don't provide this service. we had nice sight-seeing trips during the day and the thought of even returning to this pathetic hotel haunted me. this hotel is a blot on the entire hotel industry in India, should we renamed as lodge and only for below poverty-line families.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happy085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2009

We(myself & my wife) visited Darjeeling on the occasion of our 5th wedding anniversary. I consider Darjeeling to be my second home as I frequently visit this hill station. I directly moved into this hotel and found that a decent room was available. We got mesmerized after seeing this 19th century property. The century old fire place, the bath tub, teak wood furnnitures, huge glass windows, long and lonely corridors eventually took us back to the british era. The room service is a bit sloppy, the room a little unclean. The excellent gardenn space between the two wings of the hotel can be decorated in a much better manner. We did take all our meals at the Glenary's(we generally do at all times) and thus unable to comment on food. This hotel is having it's own restaurant (Fiesta) and a travel agency, just few steps away from the hotel. The Mall is just 10 steps. Altogether, our experience was quite wonderful and we would love to go back to this property a few more times, for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chandanmukherjee08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2009

Just a few yards away from the mall on the mall road, this hotel is reasonably priced and quite cozy. All good restaurants are walking distance from this hotel and you can enjoy a hot cup of tea on the mall early in the morning due to its proximity.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atulsiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2006

Positionally the Hotel is excellant. But, the quality of bedding can not be appreciated. There is no restaurant in this hotel. Thus, one has to go out for taking his breakfast or dinner etc. Rooms are dampy too.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank therajban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2006

I turned up at the Pineridge on spec, and got a large, comfortable room for IRS 300/- (approx. £4), half what had been suggested in the Lonely Planet guidebook. Although a little down at heel, the rooms are very atmospheric and quiet and at that price have got to be a bargain. Also, situated just below the Chaurasta it is an ideal site to explore the town.
On the downside it proved a little difficult to find staff when I had a problem with the shower, but this was early April, still early in the season, and they may not have been fully geared up yet!

  • Stayed: April 2004, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MickJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.5 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
0.1 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 98 in Darjeeling
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.0 mi away
Magnolia Residency
Magnolia Residency
#6 of 125 in Darjeeling
142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Classic Guest house
Classic Guest house
#3 of 125 in Darjeeling
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pineridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pineridge Hotel

Address: 19 Nehru Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Darjeeling
Price Range: $11 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pineridge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Pineridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing