We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Hotel”
Review of Pineridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pineridge Hotel
Ranked #79 of 126 Darjeeling B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised how convenient the location of the hotel was - it was a hop and a skip to the chowrasta, basically just outside the door. The hotel has seen better years, however it looks like there is some restoration going on??? The tidiness of the rooms could be better, a vacuum here and there, along with some new linen for the beds. Room service was efficient - it was a little slow to arrive, but the coal fire was grand and threw out some good heat. Considering this is a budget hotel, and at the price, this was a decent accomodation option for Darjeeling.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 86 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

The allocated room was filthy & immediately after check in, we had to seek change of room. over two days thereafter, we had to change rooms twice more, & the common theme remained same across all three rooms - dirty floors, torn carpets not cleaned for ages, torn bed sheets, mattresses which are both thorny & dirty, dirty & clumpy pillows, broken lamps & electrical switches, broken wash commode seats, dusty chair / table / furniture ........... The list seems to be endless ! The hotel have around 25 rooms operational out of total 70, & among these, only three rooms were of better quality (201,229,230). Rest all 22 are dirty ! The entire hotel is in a state of negligence & dis-repair, with heaps of garbage lying at every corner / end of stairwells.The owners of the hotel probably prefers to keep the hotel in same ugly state of dirt, & boast about it under 'heritage' tag built more than 100 years ago ! The hotel staff are non-cooperative, lazy & would pass the buck to the 'hotel owner' on every pretext ! The hotel manager, who is available there during the day hours, prefers to behave as 'deaf & dumb'; & therefore any complaints do not pierce his ears (or thick skin !) The three better rooms are always allocated to other customers who book them only after physical inspection, an opportunity not available to on-line booking customers !!

To make the matter worse, we couldn't change our hotel, as the total amount for the trip inclusive of taxes were charged to me during the booking process itself two months before the journey, on 'Make My Trip' travel web portal. We contacted MMT website but they had delayed any resolution just on some pretext or other. We were therefore forced to stay put for five nights at the same hotel, braving nuisance. Finally, to add insult to injury, the hotel manager offered 5% discount before our departure, which was no way a compensation for 6 days of suffering !

We urge all travelers planning to visit Darjeeling not to stay at this hotel & also be aware of dubious travel operators like Make My Trip.

Room Tip: Only three rooms were of better quality (201,229,230). However, you will get these only if you book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Apurba_Musib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

we were given a very bad,wet and rejected room. when we asked for the qwality of the room,the hotel claimed extra cost. they also told us that cleartrip had taken less charge than actual,so they are unable to give a good qwality room. no room service,drinking water were available in the hotel. we had to bring drinking water from outside.

Room Tip: do not book hotel pineredge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank TAUSIF-ALAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The location was great but the place begs for an overhaul: it could be so awesome but it is definitely not. The rooms reek of mold, and you certainly wouldn't want to take your shoes off. We booked 2 nights but after waking up with nasty bites and seeing bugs running across the table, we bolted. Beware. Also, the hotel (booked online) was much more expensive than nicer properties in the same neighborhood.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toftegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I was in Darjeeling recently and booked two rooms in the hotel for 5 nights. We reached Darjeeling at around 3 pm in the afternoon after a long journey and we were allocated rooms 129&130. I feel even the simplest of guesthouses would have better and cleaner rooms. The carpets were torn and dirty and the sheets were full of stains. After complaining and several requests our rooms were changed to the "Recently Renovated Rooms". I guess what they meant by renovation was recently painted room. The room nos were 229 and 230. The carpets again were dirty and the toilets (though large) were no better. The lampshades were dusty and literally black. During the next 4 nights we were there - they changed out sheets regularly (thank god) but the rooms always had a musty smell and the "housekeeping" did not include vacuuming or even less, brooming the carpets. Bottomline - please do not get taken up with the promises. The room prices sounds very reasonable till you check in and suddenly you realize that you are ripped off. P

Room Tip: Please stay away from this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raju S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I recetly went to darjeelingw ith m y family and stayed at pineridge for 3 nights . we had taken 3 rooms in total. the first impression of the hotel was good as the exterior of the building is like a british building .. reception area is also clean. the rooms were very spacious with hot running water all through the day . there is fireplace in every rooms.
i personally liked our stay there as its huge . we had a kid along with us . he got ample space to run around and play. there is a small well maintained garden where kids can play cricket . teh terrace of teh hotel is huge and from there one can get good overview of teh darjeeling town.

the hotel staffs were polite and well behaved too . the most important thing is teh location of teh hotel . its bang on the mall road. restaurents are available at doorstep .

a few disadvantages of teh hotel were its not well maintained . but i do not have complains as we had a good time staying there . its an old british building . although the hotel is part by part getting renovated , it will take time to completely refurbish the hotel. the hotel has all the things in it to turn into a resort . in some of teh reviews i read the building has spooky feeling but i did not get that . lights were on all through out the night . the corridor of the hotel is a great place to walk around. yes one thing some rooms were in dilapidated state and they can be disturbing to some tourists who are particular about neat and clean hotels. overall i loved the stay there .

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tuhinaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

They were snoopy coming to my room for no reason, they wouldn't make a fire for me although there is a sign on the front desk saying it was always available for 300rupees. They kept asking me when I was leaving because my friend who was a man spent time in my room. They were rude, creepy and unhelpful. The room was not cleaned properly when I arrived and the plugs didn't work. Avoid at all costs. This was a cheap hotel at not cheap prices.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenafable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.1 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 100 in Darjeeling
663 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
#26 of 100 in Darjeeling
202 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#73 of 100 in Darjeeling
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#10 of 100 in Darjeeling
367 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 100 in Darjeeling
666 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pineridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pineridge Hotel

Address: 19 Nehru Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Darjeeling
Price Range: $16 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pineridge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Pineridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing