We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveler rating
272
35
8
3
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
272
35
8
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests tea estate main bungalow water lily suspension bridge rose suite communal table butterfly room bagdogra airport private dining rough road boutique hotel nearest airport drawing room highest peak toy train colonial style
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 324 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2016

Stayed 2 nights in the old plantation house which features 4 very old quaint rooms - we asked for a quite room but the room we finally got was both old and in a noisy location next to the dining room and the kitchen area with dicey electric wiring issues which gave me a pretty scary electric shock while plugging in a portable fan
The young allegedly inexperienced guest house managers while paying generous lip service to our stated concerns re possible room noise problems were members of a group of boisterous guests partying on loudly 30 or so meters from our room in the late evening and displaying little if any concern for any other guests comfort.
As a nice classy touch on our departure we received a take away bagged lunch of 4 soggy tomato and cucumber and maybe cheese ( i think ) sandwiches plus 2 rotten apples, perhaps a charming get square for our complaints re the noise issues - not to mention of course the 0.75 hrs drive over a dreadful potholed ridiculously rough allegedly dangerous and ill maintained cliff side access track to the property (a engineers opinion) - plus it appears to us there is perhaps not all that much to do there except other than to attend the tea talk and maybe walk up and down a steep mountain track more suited to goats than people.
Would we stay there again - no chance - but hey if you choose to stay there a tip would be to try for a room in the separate and better quality adjacent 4 Room Lodge Building

Date of stay: October 2016
7  Thank greg m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faye F, Manager at Glenburn Tea Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016

Dear Greg,

We are so sorry you felt your stay at Glenburn was so disappointing and that you were particularly dissatisfied with your room and our management skills.

Our Burra Bungalow originates from 1859 and so the four rooms here are much older than the other rooms in the Waterlily Bungalow which was built in 2007. The rooms in the original bungalow are indeed closer to the communal action and this can of course cause for more noise disturbance. Some guests however, feel being located in the original building adds to the charm of their stay and enhances the feeling of ‘reliving’ the olden days of living on a working Tea Estate.

We are not responsible for room allocations but we did our best to accommodate your request for a quieter room and we were pleased to be able to offer you a quieter room for one of your two nights with us. We are however very sorry for the noise disturbance you suffered on your second and last night. We had offered you the option of a room downstairs in the Waterlilly Bungalow for that second night but you had told us that you would be happy to return to the Rose Suite room originally allocated to you for 'ease'.

As you requested we did ask the guests to vacate the dining room once you had gone to bed and as we agreed we asked them to move to the other end of the veranda to continue talking. I am sorry you were still disturbed by us all, but at 11pm once you had informed us we were disturbing you we did relocate away from the veranda.

Will and I may be young but we have had plenty of experience in hospitality and we spend our days at Glenburn trying to please all our guests and work to ensure they have everything they need and are enjoying themselves. I am sorry you feel we let you down on this front.

In regards to your picnic lunch, I am sorry the sandwiches were soggy by the time you ate them and we will look into improving this. We are surprised to hear you were given rotten apples as all our fruit is freshly delivered on regular occasions; but again, we will look in to this. We were very understanding of your complaints made to us in person and we felt we parted in a friendly and mature manner, so we are rather offended to hear you would consider the dissatisfactory packed lunch to be a ‘get square’.

Yes the road to and from the hotel is very bumpy. It is also at its worst at the moment post monsoon, and as you know we had terrible weather over the two days you were with us, and this heavy rain will have contributed to the bad condition of the road.

We always encourage guests to stay at least 3 or 4 nights at Glenburn to be able to enjoy what we have to offer here. It was a shame you only had two nights with us, and it was unfortunate you had such bad rain whilst you were here. Perhaps if you had had more time and better weather you could have enjoyed a trip to our river camp where we provide a lovely barbecue lunch, or some other lovely local walks/drives to beautiful picnic spots. Glenburn is a place where guests like to come and relax, hike, meet like-minded travellers and enjoy the stunning views and peaceful surrounding of nature.

Once again we are sorry you felt so dissatisfied with your stay at Glenburn, but we enjoyed meeting you both and we hope you have at least a few fond memories of your stay here and of the other lovely guests you met whilst you were here.

Kind Regards,
Faye and Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2016

Glenburn is blessed with a unparalleled views that would be hard to tire of and can only invoke a feeling of peace and calm...
Once you have tackled the very bumpy road to reach there!

It is about a four hour journey from the Airport with stunning scenery along the way, but it is fair to say that the last part of the road is extremely bumpy and this obviously has to be taken each time you leave the property for day trips.

We found the current Managers Will & Faye to be gracious hosts. Many people might view their role as idyllic but I can certainly appreciate its challenges, and the often delicate task of managing people,s expectations, different ages, nationalities and dealing with local employees.

Meals were communal which was fine with us as meeting people and sharing experiences is often what makes traveling so special.
There is an option to eat separately if required. Dietary requirements were accommodated and the food was fine for us, much of it grown on the premises.

Morning tea was served in your room and available throughout the day as were juices and snacks if needed.

Alcohol was additional and billed on check out.

There was a small spa offering massages and I believe manicure, pedicure and other beauty services.

We were accommodated in the Water Lily Bungalow in both the Rangeet Suite and the Rung Dung Suite as we switched mid way through our stay.
Both were unique and special in their own way.

Wi fi was available but very sporadically.

Day trips to Darjeeling, Kalimpong and their tea factory are available plus to the river camp where it is also possible to stay overnight, and there are many beautiful hikes in the surrounding area.
The staff fulfill many roles and will happily accompany you on a walk.
It is possible to walk to the river camp and then take the car back or vice versa. This is a beautiful way to spend a day with a lovely lunch prepared for your arrival.

We have previously stayed at Tea Trails in Sri Lanka which for us was an unquestionably excellent experience and what we frequently base other similar places around hence a very good rating for Glenburn.
Glenburn is without doubt a wonderful experience and has the feeling of very relaxed guest house.
They also support several community programmes which you are welcome to learn about and a morning visit to the small primary school was a delight.

There are however one or two things that we feel would improve the product and these are merely our opinion and not a criticism in any way:

-It would be nice to have some sort of refreshment facilities in your room or available close by instead of having to look for somebody especially later at night or even when staff are busy with other things.
It did not always seem appropriate to go searching for somebody. This I think is especially relevant if you are staying in the Water Lily Bungalow since the bells in the rooms apparently do not work.
There is a mobile phone plugged in in the communal area where you can reach the Manager, but again this also did not really seem appropriate.
-It also seemed to be the case that once dinner was finished and staff retired for the night that it was not easily possible to get further drinks should you have wished to sit for longer outside and talk with other guests.
I can appreciate that staff fulfill multiple roles and need to sleep, however I do believe that a staff member (other than a night watchman) should be on duty until the last guest has gone to bed.
-In terms of food, and I am really referring to lunch in this comment which were all excellent, I think that it may be a better use of resources if perhaps the staff explained what was being offered and whether you would like everything or a selection.
In my case this mainly applied to the soup whereby it was served but I often did not need it which left both myself and the staff member slightly uncomfortable.
I would have far rather have been asked and declined and this would also have prevented them preparing something unnecessarily.
-An all inclusive package including alcohol options. There were premium alcohol options available on request.

My comments are purely meant to be constructive. The Managers and staff do a fantastic job often under challenging circumstances.

Glenburn is the perfect place to relax and we thank Will, Faye and all the staff for making our stay very special.
It would be our pleasure to return!

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faye F, Manager at Glenburn Tea Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2016

Dear Anna,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough and constructive review. We really appreciate your understanding of the hotel and the running of it and we thank you for your sensitivity and honesty.

We feel your comments are extremely useful and we will definitely be taking them on board as we enter our busy season.

It was a pleasure to meet you both and we do hope you find another time to come and visit us at Glenburn.

Best wishes to you both and thank you again.

Faye and Will.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2016

The magical location of this resort poised on a hill with direct views of Darjeeling town and Kachenjunga from my bedroom window is quite unforgettable. Lush gardens communal dinners and a sense of a bygone time reminiscent of the british rag. Day trips to Darjeeling and Kalipong and the river camp. Husna and Alex went out of their way to make me feel at home.

Room tip: Room facing Kachenjunga
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lucinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2016

After a bad experience in one of the "top" hotels in Darjeeling itself, we came to the Glenburn a night earlier than we had planned. As soon as we arrived and got a very warm welcome from Alex we knew we would like it here. Our room was spotless and beautifully decorated in a colonial style. After settling into our room tea and cake was brought down to us (another major plus as far as we are concerned).
The staff were fantastic. Dinner was very civilised and the food was great.
A 2.5hr trek down to the river was another highlight...it's quite a trek but we had a great guide and upon arrival one of the team was waiting with cool towels and a drink. We then had G&Ts and a delicious lunch served by the river bank. Magical.
Highly recommended and we will definitely come back.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2016

I visited the Estate in May 2015 for a week with my family.
The welcome drink at the airport and Break at a scenic location overlooking the confluence of 2 rivers with tea, muffins, sandwichs served in typical English style were a delight and set tone for a very different vacation.
The Estate (1600 Acres, i was told) is nestled on a hill top and the view is just incredible. We managed to see the Kanchanjunga for 15 minutes on the day we came and thereafter, it remained cloudy during our stay
The Food is very good, the tea is on demand (u can order any type u want.. n number of times) and the dinner is a formal sit down affair in the dining hall.
They have a log house at the riverside .. the drive, fishing and food again is worth the time.
For the excursions to city etc, u get a Scorpio with a driver, attendant in proper uniform who takes care of the food, water, logistics, toy train tickets, etc... u dont need to move a finger. Everything taken care of .. professionally.
Visit their tea factory .. nice place to see how tea is made.
All in all ... a great place to sit back, get pampered, enjoy the view, have tea and realise that you have been drinking apology of a tea all this time.
Fantastic place ... great staff.
Oh .. yes .. they still use cutlery from England.

Room tip: Book the Kanchanjunga Suit
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gagan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews