We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveler rating
246
35
8
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
35
8
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother gueststea estatemain bungalowsuspension bridgerose suitewater lilybutterfly roombagdogra airportcommunal tablehomemade lemonademoment you arrivecommunal dininginteresting tournightly rateprimary schoolrough roaddelicious lunch
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 297 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2015

We had been travelling for days,across bumpy dusty almost non existent Indian roads. We had stayed in some interesting hotels but nothing quite prepared us for The Glenburn.
To call it an hotel doesn't seem right,it's Colonial charm and quiet demeanour makes it feel as though Brigadier Brown and his lady wife may stroll along at any moment! Instead we were greeted by the lovely,calm still Victoria.
The Glenburn sits high on the hillside surrounded by its own tea plantations and beautiful well cared for gardens,the scent of sweet peas fills the air,herbs grow alongside flowers and trees.
Our room was truly lovely with especially hand blocked curtains,big bathroom and glorious views.
Lunch was served in the shade of the Pomelo tree....perfect.
Drinks and supper are a communal affair so it's bit pot luck who you get to chat to but the food here is really excellent .......would we return? We are planning a return trip right now!,,

Room Tip: All rooms have something special to offer
  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank stephanie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenburnLuxuryHotel, Manager at Glenburn Tea Estate, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2015

Dear stephanie b,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a positive review on TripAdvisor. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found Glenburn and its surroundings so tranquil and relaxing after your days of travelling. Our talented team of chefs and gardeners were particularly pleased to hear your positive comments on the gardens and the food.

We hope that 2015 has got off to a happy and healthy start for you and very much look forward to welcoming you back to Glenburn in the future. In the meantime, do keep in touch via our social media pages on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube and Instagram for all our latest news.

With our very best wishes,

The Glenburn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2015

We stayed for three nights over the xmas period and enjoyed every moment of our stay.
The hotel is situated right in the middle of a large tea plantation and has wonderful views wherever you look.
We were a party of two couples and stayed in a separate house just below the main house.
The rooms were huge and beauifully appointed. The views from both rooms can only described as magnificent. The majestic Himalayas appear to be painted behind and above the surrounding tea plantations.
Breakfast ( a huge selection of freshly prepared western and/ or indian dishes ) was served on the lawn just outside our house and with the sun shining and the wonderful views it is difficult to think of anywhere more perfect to enjoy the first meal of the day.
Pre-dinner drinks are served in the main house in a lovely lounge with large fire place.
Dinner is served in the adjoining room and the food was exceptionally good. One piece shares one large table. If you would prefer to sit next to your partner / one of your party you can request this before dinner.

On the first full day of our stay we hiked down ( approx. 2 hrs ) to the river where the hotel has a lodge. We were provided with a guide for the hike down who explained to us all about the birds and flowers which were everywhere. The hike down was fairly easy and very beautiful.
Once down at the river a wonderful BBQ lunch was served on the lawn outside the lodge and right near the river. After lunch we fished and generally chilled before taking the jeep back up. (You can hike back up if you wish )
The next day we were provided once again with a guide for a day trip to Darjeeling. We drove to a town called Ghoom where we took an ancient steam train into Darjeeling . We spent a very enjoyable few hours there.

To sum up : the hotels' situation ranks situation ranks as one of the finest we have been in. The hotel itself is also truly beautiful....one feels as though one has been transported back to the Days of the Raj.
Stay here if you wish to visit Darjeeling....I cannot imagine a more beautiful place to stay !

A couple of small gripes :
There is only Wi-Fi in the main house and even there it was pretty hopeless.
The bathrooms which are huge and beautiful get cold in the evenings ....an electric wall heater would solve this problem.

  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank radral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenburnLuxuryHotel, Manager at Glenburn Tea Estate, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2015

Dear radral,

How fantastic to hear that you had such a great time during your stay with us at Glenburn, particularly on the hikes and the day trip to Darjeeling. We are so grateful that you have taken the time to write such a complimentary review. It was particularly nice to hear that you enjoyed the food so much - we will pass on your generous comments to our kitchen team.

We are very sorry that you found the wifi unsatisfactory - it is a constant issue for us being in such a remote location and relying on unreliable signal towers! However, we are looking into adjusting our monthly wifi plan and hopefully this will improve the situation for our guests in the future.

We have also noted your suggestion regarding the electric heaters in the bathrooms and are working with housekeeping to ensure that they are available in each room.

We hope that 2015 has got off to a happy and healthy start for you and very much look forward to welcoming you back to Glenburn in the future. In the meantime, do keep in touch via our social media pages on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for all our latest news.

With our very best wishes,

The Glenburn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2014

this is a old world british style guest home /country estate in th himalayas in india --you are treated like persoanl guest of the family -- you wake up to bird calls from the mist announcing dawn ==tea and cookies arrive as bed tea --such a treat --we all eat together at dinner to share thr events of our day --fishing hiking shopping or loafing --a place right out of the the past do not miss the experience

Room Tip: ask to lok over the himalayas
  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlamoGram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenburnLuxuryHotel, Manager at Glenburn Tea Estate, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2014

Dear AlamoGram,

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Glenburn and thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor - we really appreciate it!

We hope to welcome you back to Glenburn in the future. In the meantime, have a wonderful Christmas and a happy and healthy 2015.

With our very best wishes,

The Glenburn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2014

An exceptional place draws exceptional guests. Glenburn draws such an array of guests that the resident English managers, Victoria and Auriole, do not lack for social interaction despite managing a remote tasteful boutique hotel set on a ridge 3000 ft above the plains of West Bengal. Tasteful restraint in a country overrun with a riot of colour and excess is a tranquil rare experience to be savored. This hotel reflects both the 150 year old traditions and quality found in Glenburn's first flush tea in the world of tea cognoscenti. It is like looking onto the image of quality in a reflective pool. You can approach the experience from an afternoon cup of tea or sitting on the gorgeous verandah in the morning waiting for high Himalayas to appear. You alo get to experience one of the world's most treasured customs in your spacious and well appointed room either still in bed or the alcove with cane chairs and upholstered cushions, morning "bed tea" at a time of your choosing. The views are exceptional whether Kanchenjunga is out or not. Sounds of Darjeeling area tea estate villagers float across the valley and the open smiling Nepali faces of children, tea workers and hospitality staff convey order and service detail. The Prakash family has created a gem. Do not miss it and please do not overwhelm it before I can get back with family and friends in 2017.

Room Tip: Each room has unique qualities, a boutique of choices with each room showing different furniture and views. Some face Kachenjunga, one faces Westerly and gets more sun in the Winter months and some face East towards the plains of Inida. This is what you get when the bungalows sit astride a ridge at 3,000 ft above the plains of West Bengal and 3,000 ft below Darjeeling and Ghum. Even the new building shows organic style and differences.
  • Stayed: November 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Picturepalace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenburnLuxuryHotel, Manager at Glenburn Tea Estate, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2014

Dear Picturepalace,

How wonderful to receive such positive feedback from you!

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay, in particular the company of your fellow guests. Our communal dinners are one of Glenburn's distinguishing features which we hope give guests the opportunity not just to take away great memories but also lasting friendships.

We very much look forward to welcoming you, together with your family and friends, back to Glenburn in 2017.

With our very best wishes,

The Glenburn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2014

Stayed here two nights and not long enough. Most unique place I stayed and the best food in a recent three-week trip to Bhutan and India. Quite a few activities including hiking, fishing, exploring, tour of the tea factory and just relaxing. A working tea plantation with a fantastic history and extremely well maintained. Mangers Victoria and Auriole kept things running very efficiently and always available to help and answer questions. Tremendous views of the montains and Darjeeling, which is built on a steep hill side. Great place for families; the guests are diverse, many different countries and interesting. There is tea time in the afternoon and drinks prior to dinner.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the complimentary laundry service. Also if you are leaving early to continue your trip they will serve breafast for you earlier than the schedule. For a single guest or a couple that can use a double bed, the Butterfly room is very convenient. There are larger rooms that can accommodate families.
  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dionges1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenburnLuxuryHotel, Manager at Glenburn Tea Estate, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2014

Dear Diogenese1,

We were thrilled to read your wonderful review of your time at Glenburn, especially your comment about the food which has been passed on to our talented team of chefs. It's great to know that you found the staff so helpful and efficient and we're very glad that you enjoyed such wonderful views during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Glenburn in the future. In the meantime, do keep in touch via our social media pages on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for all our latest news.

With our very best wishes,

The Glenburn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews