We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shangri-la” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenburn Tea Estate

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenburn Tea Estate
Ranked #5 of 94 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Fources, France
2 reviews
“Shangri-la”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

The long and arduous drive from the airport at Bagdrogba is daunting, but at the halfway stage our Glenburn driver pulled over to a rest area with a stunning view over a deep gorge for a welcome picnic lunch. This moment is a foretaste of the extraordinary experience that is ahead. For the last few miles in the high foothills of the Himalayas the "road" becomes more nerve wracking, but the warmth of the welcome from the entire staff, the wonderful dinner that awaits you, the astonishing beauty of the morning, breakfast on the terrace under the pomelo trees, the sparkling air of the high country, and you know you have been transported to a very special place on the planet where your needs are met with heart-warming attention. A dream realised.

Room Tip: No tip necessary, all rooms have their own style, some may have more spectacular views, but all are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobind32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    31
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
50
121
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you are looking for paradise, please go to Glenburn...it has everything: stunning view, charming rooms, lovely food, delicious tea, great company... Glenburn has it all ! The level of service is unusual for India, and so is the concept of this boutique hotel. It is an all-included stay that reminds me of the best "chambres d'hôtes" I've been to in France. There are plenty of things to do on the domain or in the region, but if you prefer to rest and enjoy the montain view with a 1st flush Darjeeling tea cup, that's a great option too. The staff is very kind and discrete, they will make sure you feel like at home (or better !). Do note that the only - is the access to the property. The road is bad for the last 30 min, but that's maybe one of the reasons why Glenburn can keep remain a little piece of heaven...

Room Tip: For more privacy, ask for rooms in the annexes and not in the main cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LN2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is such a fantastic find. The road to the hotel is long,windy and dusty but when you step from your car you are greeted with a lovely cup of tea and a warm greeting. Stay several days and you can enjoy the many different days out they will arrange for you such as trips into Darjeeling or a picnic by the river. The tea processing factory and local school are fascinating.

Room Tip: Any...all beautifully appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
73 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed with a friend and their adult daughter 26-31 Jan - 5 nights.

The thing about GTE Is its enchanting ability to conjure up a "Do Nothing" holiday. There are, of course, many activities for the active types. - visits to Darjeeling & Kalimpong, trekking routes and even an overnight stay in a cabin next to a clean flowing river.

You have 4 meals under the shadow of the majestic Kanchenjunga - a truly exhilarating experience specially if you have a string chill in the air. Meanwhile, gallons of Darjeeling tea are on tap. Don't spoil it by adding milk and/or sugar!

The rooms are exquisite and you can see a lot of effort has gone into detail. We had the smaller room in the Burra Bungalow (refer to website) that was a bit claustrophobic. The crockery and cutlery were absolutely stunning if you have an eye for such things. The food is delicious but be ready for a steady stream of food through the day.

Staff are very very courteous and will attend to every need.

The journey from the foothills to GTE is not for the faint hearted but heaven awaits. Don't miss out on the views all around?

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abhibasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Glenburn is almost too good to be true. It offers a welcoming haven much closer to heaven than the rest of India. The arrival is dreamlike. A jeep takes you up into the foothills of the Himalayas, stopping for a tasty old fashioned picnic laid out on a tablecloth overlooking a stunning river vista. The tea estate itself sits in splendid isolation looking towards the outstanding Kanchenjunga. From the moment we arrived until the moment our driver took us reluctantly away, I was taken by how every tiny detail of our stay had been designed to please. Our airy bungalow room was just gorgeous with its eagle’s nest facing the mountains. Our guided walks through the estate down to the river camp and over to the Sikkim bridge were packed full of information about the wildlife and the history of the area. I was grateful for the exercise because the food - from the barbeques to brownies at tea time - was delicious and seemingly never-ending. This would normally be enough to please but at Glenburn the manager Sanjay and Jenni the hostess were an added bonus – extraordinarily professional and sophisticated. The evenings with them were really fun. I am reluctant to post this review because I want to return as soon as possible and I don’t want the rest of the world to join me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsBeckmans2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went to Glenburn over the Christmas break. It was simply wonderful !

The whole area around Darjeeling is spectacularly beautiful. Glenburn is at a slightly lower altitude with Darjeeling town above and to the left, the hills at a distance beyond the valley extending all around and the Kanchenjunga peak and range almost directly ahead. Quite simply spectacular.

The staff at Glenburn are excellent. Gentle, efficient and skilled. Our guides on the various walking tours were great, Prakash is amazingly well informed about the flora. The drivers are very skilled and we always felt safe. The chef is awesome! We loved every meal, and I really enjoyed their baked goodies. The garden is quite beautiful.

This is much more than a hotel. We did several hikes. Besides being very scenic, they were really enjoyable and hassle free because of the guides who came along with us. The tea-tour was very interesting. The hike down to the lodge by the river followed by a picnic was good fun. The day trip to Darjeeling town was very nice. All of these experiences were enhanced because we were well looked after at all times and did not have to worry about any details.
We enjoyed socializing with our fellow guests and with Jenny and Sanjay, who manage the team.

It was a lovely holiday. Expensive, but well worth it.

Room Tip: Our room had a bath tub but no shower. That is one thing we did not enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vacation-wallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We went to Glenburn end of September, which is the end of monsoon. We would have chosen another period, but we had a wedding in Udaipur, so we combined both trips. We flew from Delhi to Bagdogra and upon our arrival we learned it had been raining for three days and the roads were in a terrible state. The Glenburn driver could not make his way to the airport because of the road was blocked, but Glenburn organized a taxi for us from the airport. That was quite an adventure, for the drive did not speak English and it took us 5 hours to find the place he was supposed to drop us. Estate employees were waiting for us to carry our luggage and guide us for 45 minutes through the collapsed road until the place where the Glenburn car picked us up. I was quite stressed I must confess. Upon arriving we were welcomed by Neilu, cold tea and after that we had a wonderful dinner with Neilu and the other guests. It was almost like crossing a portal to another dimension.

Due to the rains the days before, we were unable to do all the activities we wanted to during our 5 night stay, but Neilu organized for us everything else that was possible. We visited the tea factory, went for two walks through the villages, a picnic and made a one day trip to Darjeeling.

The service was impeccable and the night chats with other guests and the estate manager Sanjay were very interesting. I got a sore throat upon arrival and they made me several wonderful anti-sore-throat-teas. Everytime we needed something they were there for us. Food was excellent and everyday we enjoyed our delicious breakfast, brunchs and dinner. On the second day the weather cleared and we were able to see Kanchenjunga as well as more of the astonishing views from the estate. The butterflies flying all around are also lovely.

One day we woke at 5 in the morning (jet lag) and saw the beautiful sunrise from the view point in front of the newer bungalows on the lower part of the property. The first sunrays touching the mountains and turning their snow caps into a salmon colour is a magnificent view.

The night before our departure we had a bad surprise. Neilu learned from a strike that although did not affect the airport, would lead to protesters making road blockades. Neilu contacted the airport to find out what we could do. It was already 9pm, but she managed to get more information for us. The solution would be to leave the Estate at 2:30 am in order to arrive at the airport before 6am when the strike would begin. Neilu immediately organised a driver for us and also some breakfast to take away and that’s what we did. We reached the aiport before 6am and managed to get our flight back to Delhi. Another stressful little adventure. All in all it showed us how supportive, flexible and willing to help Glenburn staff are.

We stayed at the Rangeet suite in the newer part of the Estate. There are long steps up to main house, so if you are not fit for stairs, you’d better stay at one of the rooms up in the main house.

I highly recommend Glenburn but I would avoid the monsoon time as the rains can be a big problem for the roads and spoil some of the activities.

I thank Glenburn staff for the amazing service while we were there. It was a great experience.

Room Tip: If you do not mind the stairs, the rooms in the newer part of the property are quiet and have a walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sleser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
4.6 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#3 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#1 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Windamere Hotel
Windamere Hotel
#7 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
5.5 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#4 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#11 of 94 in Darjeeling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenburn Tea Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenburn Tea Estate

Property: Glenburn Tea Estate
Address: Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
#3 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glenburn Tea Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Glenburn Tea Estate Hotel Darjeeling
Glenburn Tea Estate West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing