We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED our visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Elgin, Darjeeling
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Recently visited The Elgin for 3 nights as a family of 3 with a toddler. The place itself was beautiful! Like a large scale B&B set in the late 1800s. Awesome nostalgia and even better staff. They were very accommodating with all of our requests. The food prepared was diverse enough for our 3 dinners and breakfasts. Really no negatives.

*Be prepared if coming in from Bagdogra Airport as the ride is just around 3 hrs.*

Room Tip: Room 42 and 43 are off on their own but have skylights. So if sunlight in the morning bothers you, m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DubsyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Sir & Madame!

We thank you for choosing The Elgin Darjeeling as your preferred hotel of stay ! We look forward to serving you and the family once again in the near future, thank you once again for your appreciation of the hotel , services and ambiance .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 563 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2014

Stayed at the Elgin in the second half of December 2013.... its a dream....thought such places existed only in Enid Blyton Books.... My daughter had a great time running across the lawns, checking out the interiors of the Colonial Building and playing a piece on the Piano herself....Met Mr. Diamond Oberoi, the Owner of the Hotel.... made us feel very welcome..... An amazing experience for those who still love the European way of living life.

Room Tip: Ask for the Rooms overlooking the lawns and facing the Mountains.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Royboy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Sir!

We thank you for choosing The Elgin Darjeeling as your preferred hotel of stay ! We look forward to serving you and the family once again in the near future, thank you once again for your appreciation of the hotel , services and ambiance .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Stayed here for three nights in may 2014, the experience was overall satisfactory, the hotel has a colonial feel to it, especially the interiors, very original and warm. most rooms have fire places installed and looks nice. This is one of the oldest hotels in Darjeeling and lives to the standard. You will definitely be in all smiles once you you check in.

Room Tip: go for rooms on the higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanchitgarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Sir and Madame!

We thank you for choosing The Elgin Darjeeling as your preferred hotel of stay ! We look forward to serving you and the family once again in the near future, thank you once again for your appreciation of the hotel , services and ambiance .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Man on piano at dinner, drinks by the fire after dinner. English colonial Hotel in centre of Darjeeling with lots of old fashion charm. Wonderful old furniture and pictures. Dinner is buffet style with good variety and the waiters are very attentive. Unfortunately we were there during voting for the elections so the bar was dry for our entire visit but they make a great masala tea! Rooms are comfortable and in keeping with rest of hotel but I think they should invest in new windows as they let wind through. Had a wonderful massage and also loved meeting the hotels 3 dogs!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CassieL207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Guest!

We thank you for choosing The Elgin Darjeeling as your preferred hotel of stay ! We look forward to serving you and the family once again in the near future, thank you once again for your appreciation of the hotel , services and ambiance .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

A good looking hotel if I may say so.Great location with nice rooms with beautiful view.Very helpful staff and very courteous.The only sore point is the buffet.....limited cousins.....need to have more eating options for guests for sure.Beautifully done up property..

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Ateet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Sir!

We thank you for choosing The Elgin Darjeeling as your preferred hotel of stay ! We look forward to serving you and the family once again in the near future, thank you once again for your appreciation of the hotel , services and ambiance .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I find hotel good. Interior as well exterior are royal and rich. One get exclusive feel . Food is good but one should not expect five star like food quality. Room service is slightly sluggish. But overall its highly recommend. Chowrasta , which is a nice place to visit during night is very near.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dr shail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Sr !

We thank you for choosing The Elgin Darjeeling as your preferred hotel of stay ! We look forward to serving you and the family once again in the near future, thank you once again for your appreciation of the hotel , services and ambiance . We have made a note of your comment of the sluggish service and satisfactory quality of food . We will brief the service and kitchen staff likewise .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Outside of hotel was lovely with stunning views and the lounge/bar area with open fire very inviting. We were quite perplexed by checking in procedure, given seat in lounge and then told room was ready but no real welcome( saw other people arriving next day receiving drinks etc). Quite frankly the room needed cleanlng, I actually wrote the words "clean me" in the Dust on the TV stand. We were disappointed that the hotel advertised WI FI in all areas, it only worked in one small area near reception. On a similar note the menu for dinner was not as described on the website, no Chinese or continental choices available. However I had a poorly stomach and I was offered really good cheese omelettes. Bathrobes, towels and bedding were clean but grey and certainly need replacing. Best features of this hotel are the hardworking staff especially the hot water bottle man.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hilary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Madame !

We thank you for choosing The Elgin Darjeeling as your preferred hotel of stay ! We look forward to serving you and the family once again in the near future, thank you once again for your appreciation and constructive criticism of the hotel and services. We apologize for the non availability of the chinese and continental menus during your stay as our chefs were on their annual leave at the time . We will however have replacement chef now trained on both cuisines to make up for this in case our chefs are off work for some reason. We also apologize for the delay and shortfalls in your check in and have taken up the matter with our front desk staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 100 in Darjeeling
673 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#1 of 100 in Darjeeling
486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windamere Hotel
Windamere Hotel
#10 of 100 in Darjeeling
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ging Tea House
Ging Tea House
#6 of 100 in Darjeeling
90 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#11 of 100 in Darjeeling
331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elgin, Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elgin, Darjeeling

Address: 18 HD Lama Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Darjeeling
#2 Spa Hotel in Darjeeling
#3 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range: $174 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elgin, Darjeeling 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elgin is the oldest heritage hotel in Darjeeling , built in 1887 it was the summer residence of the Maharajah (King) of Cooch Behar. The property was then leased and run by succession of British families the last being Madame Nancy Oakley . It was then acquired by Mr K.C Oberoi of the Oberoi family of Hoteliers fame in 1969 and has been run and managed by the Elgin Hotels & Resorts Chain to this day . The Elgin brand which now owns and operates 4 Heritage Hotels & Resorts in the region of Darjeeling & Sikkim is headed by its Managing Director Mr B.R Oberoi fondly known as Diamond Oberoi . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Elgin, Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elgin Darjeeling Hotel Darjeeling
Elgin Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing