We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Elgin, Darjeeling
Ranked #4 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

i dont know why people have written the food is bad, i would say that the food is just lovely. the view from our room was v the staff was nice. but they did not wake us up at 300 as we wereery lovely scheduled to see tiger hill :( + they dint gave us the wifi password while other hotels of elgin did. one more thing i dint like is when some one moved on floor the whole floor shaked :(

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Piyushgoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Sir ! We would like to thank you for staying with us and taking time out to review the Elgin Darjeeling l. We thank you for appreciating the food quality . We had taken up the matter with the hotel chef and kitchen staff after we received a few negative feedbacks on the food quality . After careful seletion and tasting we are now happy to note that you liked our newly introduced and carefully selected set menus for Lunch and Dinner in the hotel dining room . Secondly we are sorry to note that the front desk missed your wake upa call . We have investigated and aletred the front desk staff about the matter . We hope to see u and serve u again . Thank you .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 544 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

It was a great disappointment. The rooms were dingy and had a typical smell. Asked for room freshener but not provided. The service was extremely slow. Chapaties came about 20-25 minutes after the vegetables had been served therby making the entire food unworthy of eating. The vegetable dishes of the ala carte menu of lunch became the fixed menu of the dinner buffet. When my wife wanted the dinner in her room on 7th evening she was flatly refuses by the staff over the phone and asked her to come down to the dining room for the dinner. When I came down and spoke to the staff at the reception, who was also handling the room service, flatly refused having received such a request. Later he did not even have the courtesy to apologise. The staff did not care to follow the instructions. At the time of checking I had asked for 2 INNOVAS on 8th morning at 8.30 am for taking us to Bagdogra Airport. I confirmed the same again on 7th evening but on 8th morning I get 2 XYLOS. The staff also came late on 8th morning thereby delaying our departure schedule. If this is the state of affairs at the Hotel then I am sorry to say that it is not worth the price which we paid. In fact, the stay at the Hotel washed off our sweet memories of our Holidays at Sikkim which preceded the stay at this Hotel. -Dhruv Agrawal

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dhruvagrawal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Sir !
Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing The Elgin Darjeeling as your preferred hotel to stay. We are sorry that we have been unable to meet your expectations especially with regards to the room service . Sir ! As Darjeeling is a small town with a very limited food supplier for hotels we only do set menus for Breakfast , Lunch and Dinner . This ensures the quality of food is fresh and we are able to maintaind a particuar food quality standard . We however do change our menus every day to ensure u get a good balanced variety of Chinese , Indian , Western and Local cuisines. We however are unable to do a la carte due to limitations as i mentioned above . Also it is not possible to do room service for food that is not a la carte . We are sorry for this misunderstanding. Also with regards to the quality of rooms , we have checked your room Sir ! Our investigation reveals that reception was unable to give u a room with a good view as the hotel was running on a high occupance and your travel agent had not mentioned any preferences for a room with a view when the reservation was made .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Good part - really nice location. antique hotel which is maintained. Dogs were real cute and one can spend hours with them.
Average part - Service quality was just ok, the hotel does not have room service as they claim the customisation on food is not possible. We asked for a room with a view, and was surprised to be given a basement ( room 25 ) with no sunlight. Although they did change the room and gave us their attic room -60, which was again average.but nevertheless tried their luck on us.
Bad Part - Food choice is horrible. the hotel has set menu and the breakfast just below par, especially if you are in a city which boasts of Keventor/glenarys/fiesta etc.
overall the hotel gave you a feeling of being not welcomed. They boasted that they are booked till 2015, so there must be people who love this place. may be the workload has made the staff arrogant, or my expectation of the place was much higher, whatever be the issue, its not worth what it charges.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KrishCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Sir ! Our Chef has now made necessary changes to our set menus for Breakfast , Lunch and Dinner . We are sorry that as u were a vegetarian we failed to meet your expectations. However we have made necessary additions to our set menus so that we have a good variety for vegetarians and vegans also. Secondly due to the high occupancy levels at the hotel we are sorry that the reception staff were unable to give you a regular room with the best views in the hotel . However your room was changed and upgraded to an attic room No 60 which was a good room with good views . We are sorry to note that even this did not meet your expectations .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just back from a 2 night stay at Elgin, Darjeeling (20th-21st June) after a 4 night stay at Elgin, Gangtok. This is a comparatively smaller property on a hillside. Previously owned by the Raja of Cooch Behar, this hotel has again maintained the history associated with the place. The furniture and decor is period with plenty of framed photographs which takes you on a journey through its history. Superb location, just below Mall road, walk able distance. Beautiful building and landscaping. Lovely to just sit in its lawns and enjoy Darjeeling with its quaint houses and valley. The lobby is breathtakingly beautiful with plush sofas and period carpets. The bar is ok. The dining room is ample sized with a piano where a pianist plays in the evenings. Now the rooms ! Small but adequate. Only 9 rooms are valley facing so one has to insist and book in advance. Rooms I felt need better care. The bed sheets were smelly, the odor of sheets not properly dried, Bathrooms need a revamp and housekeeping needs a rap on the knuckles. One does need a spoon to stir if one makes coffee or tea in the room. Blank paper stationary sheets just cannot be kept rolled up. A minibar fridge is also a necessity. With global warming, Darjeeling temperature is not cool round the year, so fans are also needed, just as it was needed at this time of the year. Overall staff is courteous and helpful. Reception desk is also very nice. Hospitality is great.

Here too, just like Elgin Gangtok are a pair of Russian dogs, cuddly and friendly along with a lonely Lhasa Apso. They are the parents of the pair in Elgin, Gangtok. They are let off to play around the garden most of the time and they love to be petted.

Overall a nice place to stay in Darjeeling and we would come again.

Room Tip: Book in advance and ask for a valley facing room, maybe in the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drddas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed at the Elgin Darjeeling for 2 nights. Rooms r nicely done up, bathrooms need some renovation. Hotel lobby and garden are excellent. We had taken the breakfast and dinner meal plan. Both breakfast and dinner are buffets with no ala carte option. Food is really bad, desserts are worse. On the first day we were served orange soufflé, I have never tasted anything worse in my life. Pls hire a better chef and increase options. For c. 8,000 per night we expect better food and choice. I was happy with the room and overall ambience but food is a big downer.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaurav N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Sir ! We thank you for appreciating the quality of service and heritage charm of the Elgin Darjeeling . The Elgin was built in 1887 and was the Summer residence of the royal family of the Kingdom of Cooch Behar (Now a district in Modern Day India ) . We are very sorry to note that u were unhappy with the Breakfast and Dinner during your stay . I have taken the matter up with our Hotel Manager and our Chef . We thank you once again and hopefully we will get an oppurtunity to serve you again next time .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

we initially opted for a mid-range bnb close to the mall but decided to leave after one sleepless night. the elgin was in comparison a true sanctuary, helpful staff, lovely colonial decor, good location (a set of several steep stairs leads directly to the mall). the only letdown was the breakfast - hands down the worst continental breakfast in a 3 week trip across india, especially at that price level in high season. apart from that a great heritage hotel with lots of charm.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snooksnmamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We chose the hotel based on the reviews on web portals and was got surprise. with full payment made with confirmation of room with good view and double bed., we checked in at 1300 hrs (I repeat 100 pm); we were offered room no. 59 or so. which was having no view. except the big and tall compound wall on the backside of the hotel. After lot of arguments and phone calls to their reservation office they agreed to shift us next day. To our surprise, they informed us that most of the rooms are with twin beds and not with double-king or queen bed. I believe, at places like darjeeling people travel on family/couple and not on business tours.... so for a person like me who is travelling on family vacation with 4 year old child... is it not obvious to expect double bed. so finally after settling on the room offered with assurance to shift next day; we checked in to hear that food may not be available at 130-200 pm .... after showing lot of discomfort we could get soup only........ order for pasta was accepted initially and later regretted/denied.. ... so finally, we had some stuff which we were having and went to take a afternoon nap. indeed the room was big and pretty with lot of antiques. but, absolute no view. The entire hotel has colonial charm garden area is full with colourful flowerbeds. We had a dinner, which was a part of package, at their restaurant. The food was good and with good veg-non veg spread. Breakfast also was full with wonderful varieties. Next day we shifted to room with good view. The room was small as compare to earlier room but with modern look and with good view of town, garden. Wooden and colonial charm, huge collection of antiques, piano, library, tea tasting are some of the aspects which will make stay memorable. yes not to forget walk in the garden with two-three doggies around,lovely flowers hot chai in garden swing etc.etc. ZIGZAG walkway to reach main road - good for walk but not for quick access... the shopping area/mall road is very close. A narrow climb with shops on both sides will take you to charuha/mall..

Indeed a good property only requires better coordination and system.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chai15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Sir !

Firstly we would like to thank you for appreciating the colonial ambience and decor of the hotel . As u must be awarae the Elgin Darjeeling is the oldest hertiage grand hotel of Darjeeling . It was the former residence of the King of the kingdom of Cooch Behar in India . Secondly we are sorry that we were unable to give you a room with a view due to the high occupancy of the hotel at the time . However reception changed your room to a room with a good view the next day . Sir ! we once again thank you and hopefully we will get and oppurtunity to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 98 in Darjeeling
647 reviews
2.6 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#8 of 98 in Darjeeling
347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#13 of 98 in Darjeeling
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#1 of 98 in Darjeeling
470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 98 in Darjeeling
654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elgin, Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elgin, Darjeeling

Address: 18 HD Lama Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Darjeeling
#2 Spa Hotel in Darjeeling
#6 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range: $171 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elgin, Darjeeling 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elgin is the oldest heritage hotel in Darjeeling , built in 1887 it was the summer residence of the Maharajah (King) of Cooch Behar. The property was then leased and run by succession of British families the last being Madame Nancy Oakley . It was then acquired by Mr K.C Oberoi of the Oberoi family of Hoteliers fame in 1969 and has been run and managed by the Elgin Hotels & Resorts Chain to this day . The Elgin brand which now owns and operates 4 Heritage Hotels & Resorts in the region of Darjeeling & Sikkim is headed by its Managing Director Mr B.R Oberoi fondly known as Diamond Oberoi . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Elgin, Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elgin Darjeeling Hotel Darjeeling
Elgin Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing