We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Steep yourself in Old World Colonial Charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Elgin, Darjeeling

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Elgin, Darjeeling
Ranked #3 of 94 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Steep yourself in Old World Colonial Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was one of the best places I have stayed. Right in the middle of Darjeeling, a mere 10 minutes walk to the Mall, it is a large Colonial bungalow with wooden floors and filled with Colonial artifacts. It perches on the slope of a hill-side so the gardens are sloping. I was impressed by their flowering plant collection, a photographers delight. The food was plentiful and delicious, a mix of Continental, Indian and Bengali. The staff were friendly and very helpful. They've employed older Gorkha women for housekeeping and I found their wrinkled, smiling faces etched with mountain life, immensely charming, inspiring me to capture their timeless beauty through my camera or a sketchpad. I was there with my two sons aged 9 & 7, and found it safe to leave my kids in the room, lobby or the grounds, while I visited Tiger Hill early in the morning or went for a walk with my camera later in the day.
On the flip-side, the lower rooms though beautifully furnished, don't have much of a view. And the toilets need a helping hand with flushing (need to pour in water with a bucket), but I've found this true with other charming old houses.
I would definitely visit again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The attic rooms though small (ideal for a couple), have interesting character with their sloping cei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LostInClouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    193
    48
    24
    21
See reviews for
194
190
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Elgin Hotel is a fabulous experience for anyone travelling to Darjeeling. It's in a great location close to the 'Mall' which is the main town square. The hotel provides a unique insight into days gone by of luxury and attentive service. The public rooms have original furniture that remind you of a stately home back in the UK! the bedrooms are beautiful, comfotable and make you feel very lucky considering the standard of other hotels in the area. There is a Hot Water Bottle service where they will pop them in your bed to warm it whilst you are having dinner. You can also ask for your fire to be light if you're really cold.
The reception staff greated us on arrival and made us feel very welcome.
The breakfast is lovely providing all that you could want. The dinner is a buffet which we found tasty and delicous. There isn't an abundant choice at dinner but I was part of a group and everyone found there something for them and plenty of it. The waiters were friendly and happy to help.

Room Tip: Room 58 was fabulous!! our friends were in 53-57 and they were all large and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlyAdsett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were a group of 9, stayed here for two nights in January. Really nice and quaint hotel. Well maintained, charming common area to relax in the evenings (indoor and outdoor). Big sized, comfortable rooms with fireplace and electric heater. The heater took a while to warm the room up but the staff were very courteous and obliging, changed the fire wood for us promptly when asked and also provided an extra heater. The only small negative we found was that we had to wait 20 min between each shower for hot water and also the towels can be changed (one time we got fresh clean ones, the other time they were smelling of massage oil and we had to ask for it to be changed.) The food was average, nothing to rave about. Great location, walking distance to main areas and restaurants. Very good service.
Overall, I recommend it. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mysterygirl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
194 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for One night on 02 Feb. Not Thoroughly impressed. Herez why.....

What I did not Like:

-Booked a Double room, but when I was given the room, it was a twin. They then had to join the beds.

- Room was small. With 2 large suitcases and 2 hand baggage ( we were doing a 12 day tour), the place was cramped. Please with children be careful, there is absolutely no place for extra bed.

-Bathroom was small, dim lighting, smelt funny.

-Geyser has enough water for one person. Being winter, after I showered, the wife had to wait for over an hour for the thing to heat up. This happens in all the elgin properties, so be warned.

-The 4 dogs are not a good sight when wandering by themselves. Not if your not a Dog lover. They also had a small moody one loitering around.

-Dinner and Breakfast was OK - nothing great. Simple continental for dinner.

- Except for the Orchids near the entrace, didnt find much of flowers and beauty in the property. It was on a kind of slope, very tiny lawn, about a 10 minute walk to the Mall. The road to the mall was pitch dark, no lights, and I was totally unimpressed with the Mall and the stuff they sold there.


What I did like:

-Fast checkin at the reception and the scarf and cherry brandy welcome

-The lobby area was nicely furnished in period furniture

-staff were polite.


Was happy to move out after a night to the more spacious, nicer, prettier hotel - The Mayfair and never regretted the move. Also, I must mention here, I found darjeeling to be very very disappointing. A shanty town on the hills, no greenery, no flowers anywhere, a dirty, dusty town, no proper lights, no beauty, diesel fumes and THE MOST HORRIBLE ROADS ANYWHERE IN DARJEELING - PELLING-GANGTOK- KALIMPONG-BAGDOGRA. Its such a disgrace. I would never ever visit Darjeeling again and its high time they change the name of this place from the Queen of Hill stations to The Dump of a Hill station.

We visited Tiger Hill early in the morning, and when you wake up at 4am to reach at 5pm, what you see there is chaos. The ghoom monastery was disappointing, the Toy Train gave you a headache with it horning non stop, the Tibetan refugee camp sold carpets at rip off prices. On the whole, avoid Darjeeling - Read my review on Pelling and Gangtok.....and also kalimpong.

Room Tip: All rooms are same size am told. Small, cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinn_2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Sir !

We are sorry tho hear that you were unhappy with your stay especially because of the condition of darjeeling town and the hotel pet Samoyed dogs . The Elgin Darjeeling is a listed historical heritage hotel and keeping with some of the old english traditions it is still a Pet friendly hotel for all animal and dog lovers . This is also clearly mentioned to all travel agents and tour operators. The hotel has 4 dogs a Lhasa Apso who is 13 years old , a Tibetan terrier and a pair of Russian Samoyeds . All 4 our very social , trained and completely vaccinated .

Secondly we are sorry to hear about the hot water running out in your room . The hotel hot water system comprises of two individual hot water heaters of 50 litres each or (Geysers ) as they are called in India .The hot water is more than adequate for 2 people to comforatbly shower at a time . This also helps in conserving water for the environment and the energy required to heat water . The hotel has a environmental placard in every bathroom clearly mentioing this. As far as the toiletries are concerned all Elgin hotesl uses Spa Oasis branded hotel toiletries which are of a very high international standard . We are sorry these did not meet your expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Vic
Level Contributor
97 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Charming hotel with lots of character and history. Well maintained public rooms (more so than rather shabby competitor up the hill). Very attractive gardens and terraces with great views. Service somewhat erratic but usually got there in the end. Food a bit average, and not much variety. Overall recommended.

Room Tip: Ground Floor most convenient as there is no lift, and lots of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SallyandHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Three very happy nights at the Elgin, and it's our pick already for a return trip.....

Beautiful property, extremely clean, amazing staff, fantastic on site lounge, restaurant & SPA. Located within 3 minutes of the famous Mall of Darjeeling, Walking distance to adequate restaurants and a nice little liquor store. The hotel seemed to think of everything and was extremely accommodating... our stay was totally smooth and delightful.... One thing you're never short of at Elgin :-) SMILE all around.....As we were traveling with kids an easy check in was vital....they were on hand to accomplish that with efficiency and grace.....furnishings, decor and ambiance were just PERFECT.....

I would live here if I could....that's saying a lot for me. I would like to thank all the staff and management team of Elgin for their superb hospitality and services during our stay last to last week.... A very special thanks goes to Srikant and vineeta for their awesomeness and to the lady who cleaned our room everyday.....

Thank you for being such an outstanding host................. :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arijit_guha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Very good service, we cold not have been better looked after by the Staff ( they deserve a pay rise!) at this hotel, the food was good and we enjoyed our stay. The Hotel and rooms are in a good location the Decor is very elaborate, the beds are comfortable, the bed sheets are even better and we very much enjoyed are stay. This hotel also has a nice garden and is rite in the center of Darjeeling

James and Alison Howard-Jones

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.9 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#1 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windamere Hotel
Windamere Hotel
#7 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.8 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#12 of 94 in Darjeeling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elgin, Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elgin, Darjeeling

Property: The Elgin, Darjeeling
Address: 18 HD Lama Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Darjeeling
#2 Spa Hotel in Darjeeling
#6 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elgin, Darjeeling 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elgin is the oldest heritage hotel in Darjeeling , built in 1887 it was the summer residence of the Maharajah (King) of Cooch Behar. The property was then leased and run by succession of British families the last being Madame Nancy Oakley . It was then acquired by Mr K.C Oberoi of the Oberoi family of Hoteliers fame in 1969 and has been run and managed by the Elgin Hotels & Resorts Chain to this day . The Elgin brand which now owns and operates 4 Heritage Hotels & Resorts in the region of Darjeeling & Sikkim is headed by its Managing Director Mr B.R Oberoi fondly known as Diamond Oberoi . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Elgin, Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elgin Darjeeling Hotel Darjeeling
Elgin Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing