We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A So So Hotel - not too impressed !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Elgin, Darjeeling
Ranked #4 of 97 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
196 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
“A So So Hotel - not too impressed !”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for One night on 02 Feb. Not Thoroughly impressed. Herez why.....

What I did not Like:

-Booked a Double room, but when I was given the room, it was a twin. They then had to join the beds.

- Room was small. With 2 large suitcases and 2 hand baggage ( we were doing a 12 day tour), the place was cramped. Please with children be careful, there is absolutely no place for extra bed.

-Bathroom was small, dim lighting, smelt funny.

-Geyser has enough water for one person. Being winter, after I showered, the wife had to wait for over an hour for the thing to heat up. This happens in all the elgin properties, so be warned.

-The 4 dogs are not a good sight when wandering by themselves. Not if your not a Dog lover. They also had a small moody one loitering around.

-Dinner and Breakfast was OK - nothing great. Simple continental for dinner.

- Except for the Orchids near the entrace, didnt find much of flowers and beauty in the property. It was on a kind of slope, very tiny lawn, about a 10 minute walk to the Mall. The road to the mall was pitch dark, no lights, and I was totally unimpressed with the Mall and the stuff they sold there.


What I did like:

-Fast checkin at the reception and the scarf and cherry brandy welcome

-The lobby area was nicely furnished in period furniture

-staff were polite.


Was happy to move out after a night to the more spacious, nicer, prettier hotel - The Mayfair and never regretted the move. Also, I must mention here, I found darjeeling to be very very disappointing. A shanty town on the hills, no greenery, no flowers anywhere, a dirty, dusty town, no proper lights, no beauty, diesel fumes and THE MOST HORRIBLE ROADS ANYWHERE IN DARJEELING - PELLING-GANGTOK- KALIMPONG-BAGDOGRA. Its such a disgrace. I would never ever visit Darjeeling again and its high time they change the name of this place from the Queen of Hill stations to The Dump of a Hill station.

We visited Tiger Hill early in the morning, and when you wake up at 4am to reach at 5pm, what you see there is chaos. The ghoom monastery was disappointing, the Toy Train gave you a headache with it horning non stop, the Tibetan refugee camp sold carpets at rip off prices. On the whole, avoid Darjeeling - Read my review on Pelling and Gangtok.....and also kalimpong.

Room Tip: All rooms are same size am told. Small, cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinn_2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Sir !

We are sorry tho hear that you were unhappy with your stay especially because of the condition of darjeeling town and the hotel pet Samoyed dogs . The Elgin Darjeeling is a listed historical heritage hotel and keeping with some of the old english traditions it is still a Pet friendly hotel for all animal and dog lovers . This is also clearly mentioned to all travel agents and tour operators. The hotel has 4 dogs a Lhasa Apso who is 13 years old , a Tibetan terrier and a pair of Russian Samoyeds . All 4 our very social , trained and completely vaccinated .

Secondly we are sorry to hear about the hot water running out in your room . The hotel hot water system comprises of two individual hot water heaters of 50 litres each or (Geysers ) as they are called in India .The hot water is more than adequate for 2 people to comforatbly shower at a time . This also helps in conserving water for the environment and the energy required to heat water . The hotel has a environmental placard in every bathroom clearly mentioing this. As far as the toiletries are concerned all Elgin hotesl uses Spa Oasis branded hotel toiletries which are of a very high international standard . We are sorry these did not meet your expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    200
    49
    27
    21
See reviews for
208
195
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Vic
Level Contributor
97 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Charming hotel with lots of character and history. Well maintained public rooms (more so than rather shabby competitor up the hill). Very attractive gardens and terraces with great views. Service somewhat erratic but usually got there in the end. Food a bit average, and not much variety. Overall recommended.

Room Tip: Ground Floor most convenient as there is no lift, and lots of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SallyandHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Three very happy nights at the Elgin, and it's our pick already for a return trip.....

Beautiful property, extremely clean, amazing staff, fantastic on site lounge, restaurant & SPA. Located within 3 minutes of the famous Mall of Darjeeling, Walking distance to adequate restaurants and a nice little liquor store. The hotel seemed to think of everything and was extremely accommodating... our stay was totally smooth and delightful.... One thing you're never short of at Elgin :-) SMILE all around.....As we were traveling with kids an easy check in was vital....they were on hand to accomplish that with efficiency and grace.....furnishings, decor and ambiance were just PERFECT.....

I would live here if I could....that's saying a lot for me. I would like to thank all the staff and management team of Elgin for their superb hospitality and services during our stay last to last week.... A very special thanks goes to Srikant and vineeta for their awesomeness and to the lady who cleaned our room everyday.....

Thank you for being such an outstanding host................. :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arijit_guha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Very good service, we cold not have been better looked after by the Staff ( they deserve a pay rise!) at this hotel, the food was good and we enjoyed our stay. The Hotel and rooms are in a good location the Decor is very elaborate, the beds are comfortable, the bed sheets are even better and we very much enjoyed are stay. This hotel also has a nice garden and is rite in the center of Darjeeling

James and Alison Howard-Jones

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Clean hotel picturistic hotel, its quaint with fireplaces and all. Service was average...there could be a larger focus on tourism - packaged tours/ information on activities and local eats etc. staff could explain all the facilities offered by the hotel like the spa etc.

The restaurant in the hotel offered a very limited menu that doesn't rate well. Both food and music made me feel as though I was in the 80's.

I don't feel this place delivers value for money. Quite expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharol-Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Madame!

We thank you for appreciating the Elgin Darjeeling and at the same time pointing out what u felt was lacking :
1) On your view on a greatre focus on toursm , general information and packages- We have tailor made Elgin hliday packages which can also be customised as per your special needs . These holiday packages are regularly posted and updated on the Elgin Hotels Website , packages section. The Elgin website also has a completely dedicated section on general information and sightseeing and things to do under the Experiences section in the Elgin website . In addtition each Elgin Hotel reception has dedicated local guide books which we give free of cost to our hotel guests .
2) Secondly on the menu limitations - Darjeeling and Sikkim being small towns and with the limitations of a small market and logistics it is not possible to run a regular a la carte restaurant . We thus do Set Menus for Breakfast , Lunch and Dinner . The menu is changed every day and the hotels serve a variety of Continental , Chinese , Indian and Local Sikkimese and Nepalese cuisines . Your entite food cost is included in your Full Board or Half Board rate . This is also popularly called the American Meal Plan (Full board ) , or Modified American Plan (Half Board). We are sorry to note that you find the prices expesive .You can visit our website or any travel website , and you will see that the rates of Elgin Hotels are competitive and still lower than that of its competition or similar to other hotels in the region .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The elgin hotel is undoubtedly one of the best hotel in Darjeeling. The location is excellent just 5 minutes walk from the Mall. The building is beautiful with beautifully menicured landscapes. The manager Mr. Bdal ws very helpful and courteous. The food and the servce in the restaurant was perfect. Lot of pictures , statues, articrafts of the by gone era. Bar is great and so is the tea lounge. Totally loved the stay.
Sp Thanks for organising a tour of the city.

Room Tip: Choose a room that overlooks the lawn with a swing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meenakshi2459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This was the first time I booked a hotel judging by traveler ratings and paid the entire amount in advance. And it was worth it. The reservation staff in Kolkata are helpful but it took time to warm upto them to get a good discount. And they also offered complimentary services that are provided to honeymooning couples. The property itself is very well maintained and has a classy colonial feel. The sitting rooms, dining rooms transport you back in time and have a cosy air about them. We were booked into a deluxe room but since the suite was available (non booked) we were upgraded to it for the price difference. The suites are well worth every penny. The food is very good if you factor in the number of guests staying. The problem we faced was with hot water. It seemed to follow us around when we moved from the suite to another room but it seems to be a common problem in the hills. The hotel staff were always present though to provide you with buckets of hot water. The hotel staff are always ready to help you and serve you with a smile. Worth it is my verdict if you are looking for a classy, elegant, nostalgic place to stay and relax.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper floors which face the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bonii_vivek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 97 in Darjeeling
643 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#1 of 97 in Darjeeling
462 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#10 of 97 in Darjeeling
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Windamere Hotel
Windamere Hotel
#7 of 97 in Darjeeling
322 reviews
2.9 mi away
Darjeeling - Khush Alaya, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.2 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elgin, Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elgin, Darjeeling

Property: The Elgin, Darjeeling
Address: 18 HD Lama Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Darjeeling
#2 Luxury Hotel in Darjeeling
#6 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elgin, Darjeeling 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elgin is the oldest heritage hotel in Darjeeling , built in 1887 it was the summer residence of the Maharajah (King) of Cooch Behar. The property was then leased and run by succession of British families the last being Madame Nancy Oakley . It was then acquired by Mr K.C Oberoi of the Oberoi family of Hoteliers fame in 1969 and has been run and managed by the Elgin Hotels & Resorts Chain to this day . The Elgin brand which now owns and operates 4 Heritage Hotels & Resorts in the region of Darjeeling & Sikkim is headed by its Managing Director Mr B.R Oberoi fondly known as Diamond Oberoi . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Elgin, Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elgin Darjeeling Hotel Darjeeling
Elgin Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing