We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marmite Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Elgin, Darjeeling
Ranked #4 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Pulborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Marmite Hotel”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This hotel depends if you like older hotels with character even though the facilities are not quite up to scratch. The hotel does a very good job given its age and you can stay here in comfort but 5 star it is not. Yes it is old with personality and you get a hot water bottle to go to bed with but the heating in the winter is poor and it is difficult to keep warm with a small electric heater. Most of the rooms do not have outside windows but the staff are good and helpful and it is probably as good as anything in the area.

Room Tip: Try and find one with a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terenceandwendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    200
    49
    27
    21
See reviews for
208
196
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel has a real old world feel which is just what we were looking for. Lovely rooms and very friendly staff. The drawing room and the open fires were particularly special during our stay at the start of December.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dehlitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel with excellent service staff. The hotel decor is full of character, the rooms are very comfy, the hotel staff is at your disposal, but not overbearing. The food was included in our rate, so we ended up eating all of our meals here, and it was very good, they kept a nice variety of dinner buffet day after day. If you are looking to relax and get pampered in lovely but very busy Darjeeling, this is the place to be. Our rooms overlooked the patio with a view of the city, it was very quiet, and very pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MC009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel is cozy and is furnished beautifully, staff are attentive, service is great, food was very good. But the hotel looks tired. We had 2 rooms - 34 and 31. Most of the rooms do not have 'outside' windows. The suite #34 is the only suite in the hotel, and has no windows - or rather has a window opening to what looks like a trash dump. Room 31 is one of the few rooms that has a 'view' - see my photos. The standard rooms had a sitting area and are fairly spacious, had I known this I would have booked 2 regular rooms.

We had laundry done - charges were reasonable, and it was done efficiently and well. They even ironed my kids' socks. I used their spa services, which were conducted in Room 36. It is a regular room with 1 massage table - no shower, or jacuzzi. The services were of an acceptable quality, but I had to adjust my expectations.

Darjeeling is a mess - it is polluted, dirty, and run down. This definitely affected my impression of the hotel. I asked the front desk for a map of the area, and they were not able to provide me with one. Apparently they relied on the tourism department for maps, and since the tourism office building burnt down last year and they did not reopen the front desk did not have any maps.

The 30-day cancellation policy of the hotel is stiff. My in-laws were initially going to join us. We had booked 2 rooms and all meals, and extra rollaways for the kids assuming they would be with us in our suite. We were not refunded any money because my in-laws had to cancel a week before our stay due to unforseen medical reasons. Even though I knew about the policy, I can't help feeling miffed that they would not adjust the meal and extra bed charges against other services even. We got laundry done, we ordered room-service, several bottles of spring water, we booked cars and got charged for everything in addition to what we had paid already. I felt nickel and dimed.

Room Tip: Take a room near Room 31 - along that row. Ask to see the rooms. Better, stay at a different hotel i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sb1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darjeeling, India
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at the Elgin recently in November 2012. We booked 20 rooms as we were having a St Paul's School batch of '95 reunion. The rooms as it were expected, were very classy and it felt at home than hotel, the cosy ambiance is something worth experiencing. Since the Paulite's from '95 batch were visiting home after almost 17 yrs, nothing could have been better than staying at this wonderful place. The staff of the hotel are very well groomed, friendly, flexible and even served us food till late while we gossiped about old times! There was no complaint or sign of hesitance for whatever we requested. Who ever is responsible for grooming these wonderful people, hats of to you! The Hotel sure is crown, the staff are the true jewels to this place. I would recommend anyone to stay at the Elgin. If we are to have another reunion,it wouldn't be any other place in Darjeeling. We had a wonderful reunion with Elgin as the perfect setting. Thank you again for the wonderful stay. We'll cherish them...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Navraj P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Elgin Darjeeling is a beautiful property, near the Mall, but still off the busy section and offers some respite from the crowded mess that is Darjeeling today.
The room we got on the first floor overlooking the garden was large, comfortable and had all the usual modern amenities. The only complaint we had with the room was that they again had all twin beds and no double-bed linen.
The food was by default Indian, though on request they offered Chinese and Continental options too. Their Continental was exceptionally good.
The service was all round excellent, except at breakfast time. There were either too few people or some really dumb people serving at breakfast time, with the result that we either got our eggs served and no toast or waited for a long time for things even when the dining room was almost empty.
The grounds and sitting areas were very well done. There are many sitting rooms with comfortable sofas and chairs. There's even a nice bar. The terrace garden with its swing, sofas and arm chairs were a pretty sight. The hotel even has its own post box!
I would recommend the Elgin for anyone looking to stay in a heritage property (it was the former residence of the Maharaja of Cooch Behar) and would advise the management to try and maintain some consistency in their overall decent service standards.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShareKhan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benalla
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our group found the Elgin hotel to be a great place to relax. It was close to the main shopping area and view of the beautiful mountains. We were lucky enough to be entertained by a very professional dance group whilst relaxing in one of the many rooms available for guests. In addition the garden was designed for relaxation, and was much appreciated to those of us who just wanted some time out.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. Our rooms were well appointed and very clean. The additional services such as massages were also much appreciated.
Our stay was truly a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matisse08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 98 in Darjeeling
645 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#1 of 98 in Darjeeling
466 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#13 of 98 in Darjeeling
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Windamere Hotel
Windamere Hotel
#7 of 98 in Darjeeling
324 reviews
2.9 mi away
Darjeeling - Khush Alaya, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.2 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elgin, Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elgin, Darjeeling

Property: The Elgin, Darjeeling
Address: 18 HD Lama Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Darjeeling
#2 Luxury Hotel in Darjeeling
#6 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elgin, Darjeeling 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elgin is the oldest heritage hotel in Darjeeling , built in 1887 it was the summer residence of the Maharajah (King) of Cooch Behar. The property was then leased and run by succession of British families the last being Madame Nancy Oakley . It was then acquired by Mr K.C Oberoi of the Oberoi family of Hoteliers fame in 1969 and has been run and managed by the Elgin Hotels & Resorts Chain to this day . The Elgin brand which now owns and operates 4 Heritage Hotels & Resorts in the region of Darjeeling & Sikkim is headed by its Managing Director Mr B.R Oberoi fondly known as Diamond Oberoi . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Elgin, Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elgin Darjeeling Hotel Darjeeling
Elgin Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing