We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“romantic heritage hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Elgin, Darjeeling
Ranked #4 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Me and my husband have chosen this hotel to end our honeymoon in India. The hotel is very nicely decorated in a British style. the atmosphere is very nice. the rooms are large and spacious. Only negative side, bed sheets and towels are too old...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mandrenacci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (543)
There are newer reviews for The Elgin, Darjeeling
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 543 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

Nice hotel, a short walk away from the market. Rooms/bathrooms need attention and beginning to look a tad old. For the price the room was not up to the mark. Meals at the hotel were good.
Quite a charming hotel with a sitting lounge area and a bar. Very British in style. Took a Walk upwards on the road from the hotel exit early in morning for a refreshing cool clean crisp experience with nice views. In case you cannot go to Tiger hill due to lack of time/flights etc this is probably the best way to spend an hour early in the morning.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank komofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Sir !

We thank you so much for both appreciating the good things and pointing out the things that need our attention. We have noted your point to renovate the old wing rooms. We are presently constructing a brand new wing of 15 deluxe rooms with mountain views. The new wing will be operational soon. We will then renovate the balance rooms in the old wing also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The good:
Charming heritage hotel with character-filled sitting rooms. Excellent food to which we looked forward each day. Walking distance to town center.
The bad:
Strong musty smell in room. Many items dusty or apparently not washed frequently - comforter on bed, lampshades, bathroom floor and wall. An exception to this problem is that towels provided were clean and the laundry service for personal items was good and prompt.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkofBurbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear Sir !
We thank you so much for your response ! Our investigation has revealed that your room was recently painted . It was the smell of the new paint. We are sorry that the housekeeping of the hotel failed to dust and clean the room properly before you were checked in. We have taken the required action with the Executive housekeeper for this lapse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is a charming hotel, in a very british style, very close to the mystic hymalaias. When travellling in India it is good to find a clean place to stay, at least every once in a while. Elgin Darjeeling gives you the opportunity both to rest or to travel around and see the magnificent sites of the hymalaias. Besides, Darjeeling is the tea town, where you can learn and try everything about tea.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank filgud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Elgin is and excellent hotel and the staff is very friendly and warming. The cleanliness and quality of the hotel was fantastic and we really enjoyed our stay. After a long three hour drive it is very nice and welcoming. The location of the hotel is also close to the mall.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paro_muk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Hotel had a very musty smell. Mattresses were not covered and by morning we are lying on the mattress directly, not the bedsheet. Food was excellent and so was the staff. Not at par with international standards. Lower floor rooms have no outside views!

Room Tip: There are no elevators so choose a room at the lower floor but then you are looking out at dirty enc...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelers3Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Dear Sir !

We thank you for your review! We regularly ventilate the bedrooms & corridors and shampoo all carpets . You were staying with us during the Rainy monsoon season(mid July to mid September). Heavy daily rain during this wet season causes a build up of moss and lychen in the hills and humidity is very high too. This normally causes a smell in the air which is very close to a musty smell. Thus pardon me Sir ! but i would like to clarify your confusion here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed in 3 Elgin hotels in our recent trip to India and this is the worst among them. Actually, the other 2 were excellent which made this one looked grim. I hope the staff do not feel bad with my comments; you were very helpful and accommodating and you had to do with what you have to work with. I would blame the management for under investing on maintenance. Carpet was dirty and smelling, even in bedrooms. Some of the facilities were not in working condition (telephone in the room and exhaust fan in the toilet). Our experience in Darjeeling was also probably made worse by the overall state of the town. Disappointing.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Susheel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Dear Guest!

Thank you so much for your review both positive and negative for The Elgin Darjeeling . We have corrected the electrical fault in the room you were staying in. The bedroom telephone and bathroom exhaust are now working . We have also asked the hotel electrician to check all hotel bedrooms . We have sent in a carpet shampooing team to shampoo all carpets and uphostry in the hotel. The team is at work in the hotel presently. We once again apologise for the inconvenience caused to you .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 98 in Darjeeling
646 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#13 of 98 in Darjeeling
313 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#1 of 98 in Darjeeling
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Windamere Hotel
Windamere Hotel
#6 of 98 in Darjeeling
324 reviews
2.6 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#8 of 98 in Darjeeling
346 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ging Tea House
Ging Tea House
#7 of 98 in Darjeeling
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elgin, Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elgin, Darjeeling

Address: 18 HD Lama Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Darjeeling
#2 Spa Hotel in Darjeeling
#6 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range: $174 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elgin, Darjeeling 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elgin is the oldest heritage hotel in Darjeeling , built in 1887 it was the summer residence of the Maharajah (King) of Cooch Behar. The property was then leased and run by succession of British families the last being Madame Nancy Oakley . It was then acquired by Mr K.C Oberoi of the Oberoi family of Hoteliers fame in 1969 and has been run and managed by the Elgin Hotels & Resorts Chain to this day . The Elgin brand which now owns and operates 4 Heritage Hotels & Resorts in the region of Darjeeling & Sikkim is headed by its Managing Director Mr B.R Oberoi fondly known as Diamond Oberoi . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Elgin, Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elgin Darjeeling Hotel Darjeeling
Elgin Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing