We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A time warp”
Review of Windamere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Windamere Hotel
Ranked #9 of 99 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2007

On Observatory Hill the views of the Himalayas are stunning. As for the hotel, it is like a time warp as everything from the light switches to the fireplaces/ hot water bottles in the beds is as it obviously was in the 1930s. The food is either very English and also Raj curries or both if you can eat it all. Tea at 4pm consists of cucumber sandwiches with crusts off, cake and Darjeeling tea (No milk or sugar please!) The staff very keen to please and the waiters wear white gloves to serve the food. If you want to go back and see hoe the Raj lived including the tea planters then this is the place to go. Take a trip on the "Toy Train"!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Niblick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 333 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2006

The Windamere was a beautiful experience. We visited the not so little town of Darjeeling during Christmas last year and were surprised to find not a hotel, but a home.
1. The food, prepared under the guidance of the Chief Chef Beem Prasad, is outstanding. Each setting provides both Indian and Western dishes. And the menus are typed! The teas are wonderful - good quality tea and goodies around a cosy fire. 2. The service is excellent, professional and warm. 3. It was the most Christmassy Christmas I had experienced in a long time - all the good things - warmth, joy and peace were spread around the Windamere. Gershwin songs flowed as we and other guests met around the fire in the drawing room in the early evenings. The warm fire in the bedroom and hot water bottles in bed that greeted one at night was a wonderful treat. And the lovely smiles of the Windamere's people early in the morning as one made one's way to the breakfast room kept one warm high up in the Himalayas on a winter's day.

  • Stayed: December 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Bizet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2006

Decided to stay at The Windermere, but having read some negative reviews on trip advisor, was a little hesistant. However what a delightful place to stay. The hote has an excellent position overlooking the Valleys. It serves afternoon tea, surrounded by books, photos of expedition and previous guests photographs and letters.
The room was large, well appointed with a shared veranda. The staff even came to check whether we needed the open fire lit for the slightly chilly evening
The staff are very courteous and friendly-always smiling. The meals are excellent. The hand typed daily meal meus are very quaint. There is always a choice of western or local food-however just when you have finished your main meal choice-you are offered the other main course!
The restaurant has a magnificent panoramic vista, and at night for dinner it is lit by candles only, creating an atmospheric, cozy romantic ambience.
The town of Darjeeling is VERY busy and the roads are very good, but I would go again for the charm an elegance of a beautiful hotel.

13  Thank sueb03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Yorkshire
440
Reviewed May 26, 2006

If you expected a modern hotel you would be very disapointed, but that is what gives the Windamere it's charm. It is clean and comfortable, the fire in the bedroom was a nice touch and needed on an evening as it does get quite chilly. The food was good and plenty of it, when the menu says 'or' it really means 'and' you would not go away hungry. The views were spectacular when the mist cleared. The walk at dawn around Observatory Hill to view the Hymalaya's is worth it. We are not ones for shopping but enjoyed walking round the market stalls and shops in the Chowrasta, good bargins to be had. The Tibetian Self Help Centre is worth a visit and a must is a visit to a tea garden. If you get chance go to the zoo to see the snow leopards, they are fantastic. Take a jumper or jacket, as it can get cool.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2006

Imagine the days of the Raj and this is their hotel. Great location in Darjeeling with an atmosphere to die for.
Rooms are reasonable facilities wise, although not modern by any means. Still, very functional. Staying the cold autumn I got a hot water bottle and a coal fire in my bedroom - very victorian feel to it all.
Food was very good. Buffet for all meals and very attentive staff.
The bar was a dream of old colonial India. The Tibetan barman is light on conversation (as one would expect for a colonial hotel - heaven forbid the staff speak when not spoken to!) but serves a mean Gin and tonic.
There is very little to do into the late evening. Most visitors these days appear to be trekkers passing through to the Himalayas (as I was) so early to bed is the norm.
But, just for fun, try exploring all the quaint sitting rooms. Some of them date back decades and the pictures and the stories they tell are priceless. It is just like an Agatha Christie set.
If you get as far as Darjeeling (and getting there is an experience either by 4 wheel drive, or minature train or helicopter from Bagdogra) then this is the place to stay.
Oh, and by the way. If the clouds lift (or drop into valley below) the views are quite simply, stunning.
Darjeeling is a brilliant place to shop for bargains - don't forget to buy the tea!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Ashley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2005

The Windamere enjoys an absolutely unbeatable location on Observatory Hill with incredible views of the surrounding countryside (fickle Darjeeling weather allowing of course). The rooms are well-appointed and comfortable with the in-room water heaters allowing guests to bathe at their leisure. (Many hotels in Darjeeling with central water heaters limit the time that hot water is available.) Before one balks at the price, it is important to note that the rate includes three delicious meals each day as well as afternoon tea, served by pleasant and competent staff. This friendliness and competence extends to the rest of the staff including even the security guards. One possible drawback for some people, might be the absence of TVs.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank Magicbinthai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank solelevante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.3 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 99 in Darjeeling
672 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#4 of 99 in Darjeeling
563 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ging Tea House
Ging Tea House
#6 of 99 in Darjeeling
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#1 of 99 in Darjeeling
486 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#11 of 99 in Darjeeling
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windamere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windamere Hotel

Address: Observatory Hill, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
#4 Luxury Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range: $228 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Windamere Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are one of the oldest (and prize winning) Colonial Hotels in India - with reviews from the Asia Pacific National Geographic Magazine and The Sunday Times of London. We offer truly authentic and original suites from the colonial tea planter days, with absolutely FULL BOARD (4 MEALS PER DAY). Our hotel is world renowned, with many famous film stars and other celebrities finding a path to our door. Truly a "destination and not just another hotel". It is like being invited as a private guest and asked to stay and relax for a few days. We are aptly described as "one of the last Colonial Homes in the World". We have both Colonial Suites & Cottages, as well as standard and superior accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Windamere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windamere Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing