We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“British to a "tea"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Windamere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Windamere Hotel
Ranked #6 of 95 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“British to a "tea"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the top hotels in the world. A throwback to the days of the "Raj." The service, the rooms, the food and the staff were simply outstanding. Highly recommend this jewel of Darjeeling. It is worth the trip. Might even catch a glimpse of the Himalayas!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    96
    20
    10
    9
See reviews for
89
115
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lechlade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

A friend of our suggested we should take tea at the Windamere when visiting this old tea planting area. We went a couple better than this! We decided to stop for lunch at the Windamere, which was absolutely lovely. Before I had finished lunch, I left the table and went to reception. A few minutes later I returned and asked my wife's opinion of the Windamere - It was exactly the same as mine - FIRST CLASS. Good, I said, because I have booked our next three nights here! She was thrilled. Our stay was just what we needed. All of the staff were so attentive, the food was superb and the open fire in our bedroom - well it's just what you see on the movies. We enjoyed our afternoon teas (see our photo), we stayed in the Princess of Siam room, my wife enjoyed a head and shoulder massage and we both recommend their Gin and Tonic.
Sadly, our three days cam to an end too quickly. Should we ever return to Darjeeling, we know where we will stay - So we suggest you also stay at the WINDAMERE

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford,uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed many times here and it just gets better and better. The staff could not be more lovely, gracious and attentive. Entering Windamere is like being enveloped in a great big hug. Toasty coal fires in your room, delicious food, hot water bottles, afternoon tea, many comfortable seating areas and warm hospitality. I LOVE this place. Please don't ever change.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bessieoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

this is the second time i visited windamere hotel darjeeling, i noticed a lot of difference.Firstly, on our second day at the hotel,the geyser stopped working we had to make do with buckets of hot water,this is simply not done considering the amount they charge.secondly, there is no health shower,which is highly unhygienic.not only in India,I think in Europe,the places I have been to or the hotels not only did it have a health shower also had a bidet.the food is good, but they seem to romanticize food, hash browns according to windamere standards,would mean,tiny cubes of fried potato.As far as laundry goes,they do not know how to iron gentleman's trouser,yet charge a bomb.




But,all is not bad,wonderful service staff,tea is very good,food is good,linen is very clean so is the toilet.

Room Tip: rooms in the old wing are heritage rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brindasirkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I visited the place with family a few years ago in March. The place is absolutely fantastic. Cottages hold a true old world charm. Food has classical recipes especially continental Afternoon tea is divine. Hospitality is awesome and location is fantastic.

A place worth a visit moreson in winters when you can use the fireplace in the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janix500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Windamere is not a hotel it is an experience in its own right. If Darjeeling is worth visiting for its colonial foundations then the Windamere is the cornerstone of the modern colonial experience. My wife and I visited for four days and cherished the time. Every meal is served in the dining room. There are both British and Indian courses and one can (and should) eat both. Afternoon tea is served in the bar and music room. The hotel sits atop Observatory Hill, the highest point in Darjeeling, and offers a spectacular panorama. As for rooms, I would opt to pay the extra to stay in one of the four suites in the main building but there are reasons for being more remote as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JChaseJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here -should have stayed a extra night so we could have just sat around Windamere for one day just soaking up the atmosphere and enjoying the place.

We had booked a suite and were allocated one in the original part of the building the room was large and comfortable and clean however in keeping with the period of the 1930s had no TV now I hear you say 3 nights without TV what is wrong with them however it was our choice and asked if another room was available, which it was, so we soon was entrenched in our new room.

We loved the room, large, comfortable and clean we had great outlook from our windows it suited us just fine.

I read a report (Tripadvisor) saying the food was terrible, the person who wrote that must have stayed at a different Windamere it certainly was not the hotel we stayed in, if one did have a complaint it would be that too much good food, while they have English and Indian on the set dinner menu we were served both, that coupled with afternoon tea and big lunches (2 mains both served) had one staggering to bed each night overloaded in the stomach region.

The monkeys scrambling over the roof in the morning added a different touch to being awaken by a alarm clock then there is looking over the mist in the valleys below and the sturing of the whole town.

If you have the opportunity go to the 1 hour talk given on the Darjeeling of yesteryear we were lucky to have Ms Clarke give the talk it fills in history points that could easily be missed.

Well run by Ms Clarke a Canadian (ex UK) who spend 6 months a year at the hotel.

A charming comfortable hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.1 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#4 of 95 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 95 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#1 of 95 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#11 of 95 in Darjeeling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 95 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windamere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windamere Hotel

Property: Windamere Hotel
Address: Observatory Hill, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
#3 Luxury Hotel in Darjeeling
#5 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Windamere Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are one of the oldest (and prize winning) Colonial Hotels in India - with reviews from the Asia Pacific National Geographic Magazine and The Sunday Times of London. We offer truly authentic and original suites from the colonial tea planter days, with absolutely FULL BOARD (4 MEALS PER DAY). Our hotel is world renowned, with many famous film stars and other celebrities finding a path to our door. Truly a "destination and not just another hotel". It is like being invited as a private guest and asked to stay and relax for a few days. We are aptly described as "one of the last Colonial Homes in the World". We have both Colonial Suites & Cottages, as well as standard and superior accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Windamere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windamere Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing