We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Heights Enclave
Ranked #15 of 124 Darjeeling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Place”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The location is at gandhi road, which is pretty close to Mall road & Laden La Road. 2 Major streets . Inox, Big Bazaar, ICICI bank, SBI, Darjeeling railway station - everything is hardly 5 -10 Mins walk.
At First Look it may look like not so great looking building cause its part of a residential complex... but once u enter the hotel (TOP 3 floors - 5th, 6th & 7th) its feels totally different. It does have a lift, so going up n down is not a problem. It has security guard & Basement parking- only few hotels can boast of that.

The Attic Luxury room may appear small.. but are well done. Though it does have a minor problem. Being done fully of PINE wood... the wall is not enough for stopping sound from next room. It should not be an issue, unless u have a really noisy neighbor .
The ROOMs have LCD TV. NO intercom, but Bell system to get help.
Bathrooms are neat , nothing fancy but quality products uses.. jaguar fittings, crabtree switches etc.
ROOM service available.

Mr Chogyal (owner) is really nice & co-operative person. The Staff is good n attentive.
You get good advise free of cost.

The cars arranged from hotel are good n at reasonable rate. Its not compulsory to get it thru them, but they are more reliable then touts on streets.

The restaurant has nice views & have full length glass windows. It also has a real FIREPLACE , where the burn WOOD to keep fire every evening in chilly winters. Its feels nice n Comfy having dinner at that time.

One thing is assured that You won't be disappointed at your choice.

Room Tip: Attic Luxury Room is Good. 503/502.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRIPSTER212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    52
    7
    3
    11
See reviews for
59
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Siliguri, India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Located appx 0.5 km away from mall road in a quiet area.
Mr Chogel(owner) and his manager is one of the reasons i would go back here. He is extremely helpful for any query you have or if you want to plan your trips in darj. Quaint place, no frills yet neat. Rooms are good and new. fully wooden finish. Food is decent. Gr8 view from the rooms.
If you are looking for hospitality come to this place. This is a b/b kind of place with excellent hospitality. I would definitely stay here again on my next visit,because they have managed 22 people with such ease that they have became my fav.food was awesome and thanks to mr jay,cars provided by chogel was good and drivers were very supportive.all and all it was a brilliant tour with the help of chogel sir and golden heights

Room Tip: higher floor rooms were quite brillient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jay764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I have never had a more wonderful experience with a hotel than with the staff, owner and accommodations of Golden Heights Enclave. My wife and I arrived in Darjeeling in early August and were merely dropped off at a gas station by the jeep who brought us up from Siliguri. Since my wife and seriously sprained her ankle not be able to explore the city much less hike in the mountains I wanted to find a hotel high up the mountain in Darjeeling with an excelling view, clean, with in-house local cooking, reasonably priced and with a restful and relaxing atmosphere. A local brought me to Golden Heights Enclave after a series of less-than-ideal hotels. Golden Heights was perfect. We were given discounts since we staying multiple days and were visiting in August which is the low-tourist season. The staff and owner were incredibly accommodating especially to my wife because of her ankle. They brought to our room fresh chai every morning. They arranged a vehicle to tour us around the city, to the zoo and onward to the cable car to gently slide down above the tea-clothed hillside. During the several days there, the owner and the car-driver would wake up well before daylight and check the weather and presence of clouds to check if it would be a good morning for us to view the Himalayas. On the final morning, the clouds finally cleared and the driver took us up to Tiger Hill to view the spectacular view of the Himalayas. Of the 4 days we stayed at GHE, a majority of the time we were their only guests due to the low-tourist season. However, we were treated with the utmost hospitality, care and interest. The atmosphere is very very pleasant and relaxing. The staff are low-key and very polite. The rooms are very cozy and clean. Be sure to select a room with a view. If not, there is always the lounge/dining room to relax in with a wall of windows facing the mountains. We recommend all to spend your time at Darjeeling in the accommodations of Golden Heights Enclave.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view!!! It is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micahjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka, null, Bangladesh
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I was studied a lot over internet specially through tripadvisor to find out a suitable hotel within our budget when we three friends decided to go Darjeeling. Previous reviews on this hotel impressed me to make a booking in this hotel which was completely free. what we got there those were more than our expectation. Mr. Chogyal (the owner) and his team made our stay joyful and comfortable. Hotel starts from 5th floor and finished in 7th (there are elevator, nothing to worry). Rooms has all modern amenities. Toilet is in good quality with hot water service. every places of this hotel are very very neat in clean. living is so comfortable. Food menu doesn't offer a lot...but whatever you order...they will cook very passionately....and foods are so tasty also. Most important point is the owner, Mr. Chogyal. He is very polite, gentle and very friendly. during our stay we found him as our elder brother. He helped us in all the possible way. Yeah, he is a businessman but very honest as it is not common in Darjeeling. He never charge much but there were a lot of scope where he can demand more money from us. The car he provided us for pick up and sightseeing was in very well conditioned. Dining of this hotel is an amazing place. This offers greater view of mountain. Here are some scope of passing time(Card, Carom, Monopoly, Books, Magazines, TV, DVD player). So, you can enjoy your waiting time for food. We feel love when Mr. Chogyal gave us white scurf to wish our safe journey.....We are still missing Darjeeling and this hotel. Even next time, if our budget looks bigger though we will not miss to stay in this hotel. We really love this.

Room Tip: Attic room is bigger and offers better mountain view then deluxe room but for two people deluxe room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shuvo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Golden Heights Enclave was an excellent find. Initially locating the address on Gandhi Road took a bit of time as the road is narrow, crowded and is a one-way street. However, we did eventually find it opposite to Hotel Sambhu. Golden Heights is an apartment building. The top floors have been converted to this quaint little hotel. Even when you step into the small reception area you feel uneasy about the choice. However, once you enter the dining area and see the view from there you feel really happy. Being at the edge of a hill, there is no chance of a building springing up to spoil the views ever. The attic room is marvelous, especially with the skylight on top of bed! The reading/ dining area has been wonderfully done and painted with miniature figurines too. The books, board games, play table, music system, TV and the view from there all add up to a wonderful atmosphere. The sleepy resident dog, the cheerful cook and his able staff all add to the experience.

Room Tip: Choose the attic room but make booking early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bratin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed in Golden Heights enclave for three nights. This hotel is new and has only been open for the last year and a half. The first thing I was struck by was the homely atmosphere and gorgeous Tibetan influenced interior. We stayed in room 204 which is just next to the balcony with amazing views. On clear days (unfortunately for us not all the time because it was monsoon season), you have the same view of the Himalayas and Darjeeling as you would from Tiger Hill.

The rooms themselves were very clean and very homely, exactly what was needed after making the journey to Darjeeling. Hot water is available all day. The staff were always extremely welcoming and very helpful. The owner helped us pick what to do in Darjeeling, recommended where to eat and provided us with whatever items we needed (maps, umbrellas).

The restaurant upstairs is lovely and again has spectacular views of Darjeeling. The kitchen is immaculate and the food was very good although the service was slow. The only thing I would say was that it could be noisy in the mornings but that shouldn't put you off staying there.

Great hotel which I would definitely stay in again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aisling O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

It was a real memorable experience during my stay at this hotel. The hotel is very neat and tidy. The interiors are well kept. The staff was very polite. You get a magnificient view of Darjeeling town from the hotel. Food quality is very good. The interiors are made of wood. I travelled with my 6 month old kid. The staff was very polite and friendly. They allowed us to prepare food for the baby. The top floor has sun-roof. So you do not require to use lights/bulbs during the daytime. Service is excellent.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the top floor. You get a magnificient view of the hills from the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shompa_guha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.4 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
2.0 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#8 of 98 in Darjeeling
344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seven Seventeen
Seven Seventeen
#17 of 98 in Darjeeling
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
0.2 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Heights Enclave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Heights Enclave

Property: Golden Heights Enclave
Address: 1/2/3 Gandhi Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Golden Heights Enclave 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Heights Enclave is a family run boutique hotel with tastefully done 10 guest rooms. We strive to provide comfortable & peaceful stay to our guests. Our inhouse restaurant serves Indian, continental, Chinese & local cuisine. View of kanchenjunga & surroundings tea gardens is one the major highlights of our hotel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing