We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast of India”
Review of Sonam's Kitchen

Sonam's Kitchen
Ranked #3 of 116 Restaurants in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Best breakfast of India”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

I'm still dreaming about their hashbrowns and pancakes: the breakfast was truly delicious and their hot milk with honey is perfect to heat up in cold Darjeeling.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lauplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    80
    14
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nicest breakfasts IN INDIA!!!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Sonam s Kitchen is a super nice place to have very yummy and fresh breakfast with THE BEST CAFE and hashbrowns in Darjleeing!!!!!
Very near the square this little super cozy place we visited with my friend every morning during our stay in Darjleeing.
The owners are very nice, warm and cook the breakfast quickly and very yummy!! I love their tiny little cat Roxy!! Thank You Sonam's Kitchen for the bests mornings in Darhleeing. We will miss you!!
Fernanda & Eugenia from Argentina

Helpful?
1 Thank DimeloTu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect for Breakfast”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I stopped here for breakfast, having a cooked English style breakfast with the biggest wedges of brown toast ever washed down with a huge pot of tea.
After been torn between the cooked breakfast and French toast I returned the following day to sample the French toast.
This was equally as good with perfectly symmetrical banana, nuts, coconut and honey on top of it - a work of art!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nahnah20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to have good English Breakfast...”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I read reviews on TripAdvisor and thought to give it a try. It was a wonderful experience at the restaurant. Service was good and food was really worth every dime spent. One thing which I personally liked was it wasn't too much crowded. We've had the best moments having breakfast here with special acknowledgement to Sonam and Puran her husband who get it right each time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Salil9683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sonam's Pivot in Bengal Food, BuilDings and Connections”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Sonam' s Kitchen is kind of Pivot-place for Bengal & Sikkim HimalaYa travellers. Not only people from all over India but also aliens landing in Darjeeling sooner or later will come in the restaurant/meeting-spot. For me it took only ~12 hours in Upper DJ before I was a frequent habitue of this spot. Not only for meals but also to chat and negotate about treks, tours, guides and other connections. No need anymore to look for alternative places to eat&drink or socialize and make plans, Sonam Sherpa and her husband Puran take care of it all, haha:-o In september 2014 I will fly to Bagdogra-Bengal again and first place I will visit is Sonam's Kitchen for an excelent double espresso and some local Bengali or Nepali food, Looking forward;-).

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcdings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonam's Kitchen also viewed

Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 

Been to Sonam's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing