We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and Courteous Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Darjeeling - Khush Alaya, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #14 of 95 Hotels in Darjeeling
Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Warm and Courteous Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

i stayed here for 3 days with my extended family of 4 children under 12 and two elders over 70 and except for the approach road to the resort, i had nothing else to complain for, we had taken the food package and so every meal was covered and the stay was enthralling, we could not see the Kanchenjunga mountain due to clouds, we will definitely come back

Room Tip: choose the independent villas, they have a terrific view and you can avoid the kitchen banter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steeltube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    108
    40
    25
    36
See reviews for
160
69
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

If you are looking to stay in Darjeeling and want to walk around the Mall road till late in the evening, then the Sterling Resorts property of Silver Oaks would not be apt for you.

But, if you want to be away from the now crowded and pretty commercialised Darjeeling - but still don't want to feel too away from it - then this hotel is a great option!

Stayed here for 3 nights in late December. Was a charming stay. If you are a member of Sterling (like I happened to be) then this excellent Value for Money! Stayed in one of the Studio rooms. Was comfortable and cozy. The cold does get to you, as central heating / AC is missing. We were glued to the little heater provided in the room. The food was nice. Especially the Chicken Thukpa.

The hotel had organised a party for New Year's Eve, but it seemed a tad too expensive and hence we avoided it. The travel desk rates are slightly more expensive than what we managed to arrange outside. A good advantage is that it is pretty close to Tiger Hill, so you can afford to wake up at 4:30 am instead of 4 (i.e. if you want to get a good spot to view the Sunrise).

The hotel has a brilliant viewing spot. Amazing view of the Kanchanjunga. Attaching a photograph below. Other things which were good were: Hot water wasn't a problem, TV had multiple channels.

What could have been better? A cleaner loo. More rooms with views.

Room Tip: I've heard the cottages are great. They also have 1BHK and Studio apartment options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EkalavyaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUMBAI
Level Contributor
99 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

The hotel is outside darjeeling, away from the hustle bustle. Very quite and peaceful. There are villlas, cottages and rooms in the main building. You can take a train from the railway station called Ghoom to Darjeeling. the ride would last about half an hour. The hotel has a view point for kanchenjunga offering fabulous view of the golden mountains.

Room Tip: villas provide the best veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJSMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

It is a very nice place to stay. Food is good. Lot of activities in the campus and variety of accommodation options available.
The only negative about the place is that it is situated at one end of the city and takes a lot of time to travel to the heart of the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Some distance away from the main Darjeeling town, this resort is located at Ghoom next to the Ghoom Monastry. After poor reviews of recent past this place seems have been done up. We were with a large group of 50 and we had a wonderful time. The best view is from the dining hall which has a large glass wall facing the peaks. The rooms were clean and well done up. The view from our room , however, showed some dilapeted and unfinished buildings. The food was good. The hospitlity was very nice. Travelling to Darjeeling town by road is easy because there are many shared vehicles available. Ghoom has the world's highest railway station. Here is a travelling tip : take a Darjeeling Hill railway trip from Ghoom to Kurseong and you will love it. There are also tourist trains availble to Darjeeling but they have to be booked from Darjeeling town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supratik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
130 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

We were put up in regular apartments (three families in three rooms). Accommodation wise, it was simply excellent. Very spacious at the same time neat and clean. This place is remotely located so you will have to visit it with your friends. Only problem is very high costs of food. cooking arrangement is there so you can prepare your own food.

Room Tip: Regular rooms are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SPMukherjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konigs Wusterhausen, Germany
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is in Ghum and 9 km away from Darjeeling. The hotel is run down with old, dirty rooms, dirty bed sheets, mice in the rooms, no water in the bathrooms, slow service in the restaurant, very cold in all rooms, so there is no single reason to book this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Armor-Reisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Darjeeling hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
3.0 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 95 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#11 of 95 in Darjeeling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#1 of 95 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
2.9 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#4 of 95 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
2.9 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darjeeling - Khush Alaya, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darjeeling - Khush Alaya, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Darjeeling - Khush Alaya, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: Ghoom Monastery Road | Ghoom, Darjeeling 734102, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 95 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Darjeeling - Khush Alaya, A Sterling Holidays Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turn left on the Old Monastery road from Ghoom station, and you come upon sloping roofs and curving stairways that define the mystique of Darjeeling-Khush Alaya. Modern comfort at the resort is steeped in the tranquility of the surrounding mountains enhancing the charm of this lovely town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Darjeeling - Khush Alaya, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing