We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“small market place”
Review of Chowrasta

Chowrasta
Book In Advance
More Info
$196.00*
and up
Explore Queen Of Hills Day Tour in Darjeeling
Ranked #7 of 99 things to do in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“small market place”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The best of the place is the view, especially on a sunny day. There are some small souvenir shops with interesting things to buy and a very good restaurant you find there is the Shangri-la, good service and good food. For a coffee, I would recommend the Glennary´s which also has free wi-fi access.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank asneberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    269
    95
    18
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
576 reviews
381 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 736 helpful votes
“Honest money changer in Chowrasta”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We aren't shoppers, but we did spend time photographing people in Chowrasta. We browsed in the Oxford Bookstore and did make a purchase or two at the English Wine Shop.

We used the money changer off Chowrasta. Multi Money had been recommended to us by our driver who cautioned us against the money changers near Clubside. Multi Money was tucked back in a little alleyway off the far end of the square. They gave good rates, charged no commission and seemed to be honest, decent people.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank hfot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“just relaxe”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

It is indeed a very nice place just to sit and look at the people before you make the walk to one of the "nearby" Monastarys. And if you like books visit the bookstore there ;-)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank uishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“"BEWARE OF THE TRAVEL AGENT IN NEW JALPAIGURI"”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

always try to avoid the travel agent of njp. i had visited gantok and darjeeling in the month of feb 2013.i booked a car from an agent Bubai dutta of the Sai baba travels at njp for the darjeeling sight seeing and drop to njp from darjeeling via mirik. They charged around 4500 for that tour but they have not provided me full services.Their service provider kedar vai also behaved badly and collected his money like basuli of due by stoping the car on the way.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
25 Thank Vijay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Darjeeling Means Chowrasta”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is like the open stadium. Shops, Horse riding and many scenic place is around this. Try to find hotel near this as this is the place which you enjoy walking. Horse riding is cheap and childrens must try.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank AzeemPatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chowrasta also viewed

Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 

Been to Chowrasta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing