We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An insightful glimpse into Darjeeling life! A must do for travellers of India!!!”
Review of Tathagata Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tathagata Farm
Ranked #2 of 124 Darjeeling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An insightful glimpse into Darjeeling life! A must do for travellers of India!!!”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We came to Tathagata farmstay straight from Varanasi and 3 months travelling India. It was exactly what we needed before heading on to Delhi. We were lucky enough to be sharing the farm with two families from Darjeeling who we later met in the town and shared some fond memories. Navin is fantastic. His knowledge of organic farming and the mineral springs tea co-operative he helped to set up around his farm is so interesting. He is a great host. He tunes into your needs. If you want to relax and explore alone, he somehow knows. If you feel like something more organised he'll arrange a guide to take you on a tour of the local area and after a swim in the river, you'll end up at a neighbour's house sipping the local brew. He'll keep you on your toes. One lazy afternoon we were collected by his farmers to help them milk the cows. It really is a must do. Our four days at the farm were worth EVERY rupee. Thanks Navin!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PravinDarjeeling, Owner at Tathagata Farm, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear Amanda & Thomas, Thank you for your kind words for Tathagata Farm.
We are delighted that You had a memorable stay at Tathagata Farm, this indeed makes us feel proud and content that the vision behind creating the place is being realised.
It was indeed a pleasure to meet you and most importantly to host you at the farm. I am sure everyone from the farm to your swimming buddies from the nearby tea garden enjoyed your wonderful company.
Thank you again for the great feedback, and we hope to see you someday again.
Navin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
51
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We traveled to Tathagata Farm in April 2012 as a group of four. It was the most enjoyable portion of our week in India. Navin and Pravin were the most hospitable hosts and were willing to tailor or stay to exactly what we were looking for. They even helped up secure accommodation on our return to Darjeeling. Navin is very knowledgeable about organic farming and permaculture. It was enjoyable listening to him describe the organization of the local farmers into a co-op and helping them to transition to creating organic produce. He is very passionate about what he is doing within the community and it was a treat to see his work in action. Our favorite part of our time on the farm was the hike to visit the local farmers and to watch the tea being weighed and sent off for production. The farm is set in a remote and beautiful location that made us feel instantly at peace. We highly recommend a visit to Tathagata Farm if you are traveling to Darjeeling and are looking for a memorable experience off the grid and away from the typical tourist scene.

Room Tip: We stayed in the independent huts on the farm, but would have been just as happy to experience the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaimelthornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PravinDarjeeling, Owner at Tathagata Farm, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear Jaime,

Thank you for the great review for our simple farmstay. We are happy to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay at the farm and the simple yet fulfilling experience you had during your visit.

We are fortunate to have travellers like you who share our passion for performance and delivery. Our Farmer's Co-op is doing great this year in Tea Production and we hope to do well in other crops as well.

Thank you again for the great feedback, we will look forward to host you again in near furture.

Kind regards
Navin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2012

The fine folks at Tathagata Farm provide a serene setting and comfortable accommodations for the adventurous set deep in a sleepy valley near Darjeeling.

I suppose every traveler's experience will be different depending on what you want to see and do. For our little group of four it went as follows:

We arrived via jeep from Darjeeling. It was a bumpy ride, but each increment we progressed took us further and further from the world at large. Personally, I felt as though we were leaving the grid far behind, and it felt wonderful.

Navin and Pravin greeted us, and we immediately gathered around tea (best I've ever had, of course) to get to know each other and suss out what we were looking to do during our short stay of two days. These gentlemen are consummate hosts, and they set us all at ease from the get go. Navin spoke eloquently and at length about what the farm does, how he works with the community, and what their connections are for distribution. He has a wealth of knowledge, ties to folks abroad, and is simultaneously rooted in the community.

We toured the grounds, all the while taking in the tranquil surroundings and observing the picking process. After that, we were left to our cabins to relax before dinner.

The cabins provide all the comfort one may need: shower, "western" toilet, comfy beds, a porch that was made for reading, ruminating and staring blissfully off into the distance.

We were well fed at all times with fresh local fare. And after dinner we gathered around a fire to chat the night away. These were probably my favorite moments of the trip. As this was my first trip to India, I found these conversations to be enlightening. We swapped stories, got serious, got whimsical, and generally soaked up the experience while the outside world fell away.

The next day Navin took us on a hike around the village. We saw the tea weighing process and had lunch at a nearby home. A bridge had also been washed out and we saw the rebuild in progress. All these little experiences combined to give us a beautiful snapshot of lives that we had never known.

This was one of the most unique travel experiences I've had. The best part about it was simply being disconnected from gadgetry and people noise (we live in Bangkok). Everyone in our group has an interest in responsible tourism and organic farming, so this was destined to be informative and fun.

As other people have written, there are other options for activities. We just didn't have much time. Navin is keen to make your visit tailor made, though. So just be clear about what you do or don't want to do, and you will surely leave Tathagata Farm with a clear head and a calm heart.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirkasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PravinDarjeeling, Owner at Tathagata Farm, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear Kirk,

Thank you for your kind words, we are delighted that you and your friends had so much fun at Tathagata Farm, this indeed makes us feel proud and content that the vision behind creating the place is being realised.
The review does feel like going back in times when we had long chats about the world and everything under the sun. It was indeed a pleasure you meet you and your friends and most importantly to host you at the farm. I am sure everyone from the neighbours to the cows enjoyed the wonderful company that you are.
Thank you again for the great feedback, and we hope to see you someday again. The handmade tea will be freshly brewed for the occasion and the bonfire will be lit again.

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We cant actually count the number of times we have visited Tathagata Farms,but we know for sure that we will go back many more times. One can't help falling in love with the beautiful farm, amazing little swimming pool, green nature, peace and serenity and a wonderful and perfect host in Navin Tamang. Each time we visit Navin takes such good care of us we almost never ever feel like leaving Tathagata Farms. Five star treatment....Love it really:-). To wake up in the morning with the calls of different birds nesting on the trees everywhere is wonderful, followed by hot tea or coffee and breakfast. We spent the days visiting the village nearby and walked down to the river and really i could not ask for a better, more perfect holiday. The ride to Tathagata is adventurous and fun. It's a bumpy ride down but we loved it and you're gonna love it:-) Plan your travel well because you are NOT gonna want to leave TATHAGATA FARMS. Thank You Navin for the wonderful stay. "Great Job"!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SupriyaLeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PravinDarjeeling, Owner at Tathagata Farm, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear Leon and Supriya,

It was indeed great to host you at teh farm. We are happy to hear that you had such great fun while on the several trips you;ve made to the farm. You guys are indeed our very loyal customers and we are lucky to have hosted you during all of your stays.

Thank you so much for your visit and we hope to have a good dinner sometime soon and when you're back again at the farm.

Till then, have a great day, everyday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We started off our honeymoon at Tathagata farm with an adventurous journey from Darjeeling in the 4 x 4 down a very bumpy road! All part of the fun to reach this lovely valley and farm. It is a fantastic place to stay for a few nights and enjoy the beautiful natural surroundings. Navin and his team are excellent hosts and very much promote responsible tourism. We enjoyed very much meeting his family and the food was fantastic! We highly recommend this place to anyone. We just relaxed and enjoyed the peace and quiet in our lovely log cabin. Starting off your day with some Mineral Springs tea on your balcony watching the sunrise was magical. There are also many activities you can enjoy if you're a little more energetic than us and Navin will organise for you. (fishing, walking, mountain biking etc)

Thank you very much Navin for looking after us so well and for organising the rest of our trip to Darjeeling. We loved every minute.

Sunil & Angela Agarwal

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunilAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PravinDarjeeling, Manager at Tathagata Farm, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Sunil and Angela,

We are delighted to know that you had such a wonderful time at our farm. It was a pleasure hosting you. It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed our tea and liked our simple atmosphere. We are indeed grateful for your patience and for being such a wonderful couple.

Look forward to having you back again someday!

Navin for Tathagata Farm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

A more perfect honeymoon could not be desired by us. My wife and I are both nature lovers and we wanted a honeymoon in a quiet, green place. We found the perfect place in Mineral Spring Village, and a perfect host in Navin Tamang.
Let us first be clear - this is about an hour away from the city, and needs to be accessed via some very bad roads. However, the drive is an experience in itself ! You see some excellent views and vistas along the road down to the farm, and you wonder how much more wonderful it could be if a better road was there.
The local people are extremely good natured and welcome you with smiling faces. The food is excellent. Both of us are vegetarians, and we got the very best of farm fare - the local IshKush, potatoes of every variety, sarson plant, dal, the local cabbage soup, milk from the farm cow. We even tasted the local brew - very strong but good nevertheless.
The host is extremely caring of our every need and the farm workers are always ready to help with a big smile on their face. Money is not a big driver in this part of the world, and it shows in the way the farm functions.
Special mention to the farm walk with the excellent guide Duraj - the farm cordinator for the area. We walked a leisurely five kilometers, most of the time Duraj was talking to us regarding the farming techniques for the area and we were able to slowly enjoy the scenery around us without being hurried in any manner.

USP - Serenity and the excellent food.

Things that would make us appreciate even more - An optional totally organic food menu, We wanted to detox after our wedding and ended up bingeing on the lovely local fare everyday. Good though!!

Call Navin and book your stay now !!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Siddharth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PravinDarjeeling, Owner at Tathagata Farm, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Siddharth,

We would like to thank you first on your excellent review of our farmstay at Mineral Spring, we appreciate this very much and would like to share that we are constantly trying our level best to deliver the best stay for our travellers. We are fortunate to have travellers like you who share our passion for performance and delivery.
Its is great to know that you enjoyed village walk with Duraj, we will pass this feedback to him.
Thank you again for your constructive feedback on the total organic food, this is possible and thank you for the input on this.
Best wishes to you and your wife from Darjeeling.

Regards.
Navin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

To be clear this is not a quick drive to the town of Darjeeling but instead is in a village called Mineral Springs. Once you arrive you won't want to leave so plan your time in Darjeeling city then come to Tathagata Farm for some serenity and a lovely time. We planned on staying 2 nights and ended up loving the area and the conversations with Navin and the guide Duraj so much we stayed an extra night. There are two newly built huts and they are working on building another building with an eating area, official registration and a kitchen. There was plenty of food, boiled water and tea to keep us satisfied. There were lots of conversation about the local tea exchange and getting the farmers on board to be organic. There is a lot of good work being done in this village and those around it. Duraj took us on a tour around the villages so we could see the local farming practices in action and we enjoyed a lovely lunch at local home. The huts have running water, western style flushing toilets and two twin beds that can be pushed together. Hot water can be obtained by buckets from the staff. We were greeted every morning with a pot of tea which was very relaxing to enjoy with a good book on the patio of the hut. In the evenings we had conversations by the fire and enjoyed local beer and local wine called Raksi.
If you stay several nights the pickup and drop off in Darjeeling is complementary. The journey takes about 1.5 hours by jeep and is an awesome ride. Navin arranges that and he is also an excellent resource if there are other trips or activities you want to do while in the Darjeeling area. If you want to relax for a few days and enjoy some peace and quiet, stay here. If you have the slightest interest in farming organically, organic produce, organic tea, permiculture, or biodiversity, stay here. This is an amazing community to experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kayinmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PravinDarjeeling, Owner at Tathagata Farm, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Ms. Stephany,

Thank you for the great review for our simple farmstay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the village and the simple yet fulfilling experience you had during your visit recently.
We just wish that the road conditions improve so that the travellers have a smooth transfer to the village. But for the time being we will rely on the nature to make it a beautiful ride.
Farmers are now more involved and engaged to talk to the travellers and the visitors to the village and it gives us an incredible encouragement to work harder towards the over all development of the village and people.

Thank you again for the great feedback, we will look forward to host you again in near furture.

Kind regards
Navin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
2.6 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
2.6 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 97 in Darjeeling
649 reviews
4.8 mi away
Darjeeling - Khush Alaya, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#4 of 97 in Darjeeling
540 reviews
4.4 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#6 of 97 in Darjeeling
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tathagata Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tathagata Farm

Property: Tathagata Farm
Address: | Mineral Spring Village, Darjeeling 734105, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tathagata Farm is located in a rural village setting in a scenic part of Darjeeling, India. The place offers simple food, comfortable stay and hospitable staff and owner. It's a small and quaint little place to relax and unwind. There is great potential for short walks, treks, nature walks, tea garden visits and also take on mountain biking as an activity around the place or interact with the local village farmers who are proud of their village and their organic produce. Come and experience simplicity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tathagata Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing