We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Bugdet place... slightly bad experience however!”
Review of Andy's Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Andy's Guest House
Ranked #17 of 124 Darjeeling B&B and Inns
Kovalam, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Basic Bugdet place... slightly bad experience however!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We spent four nights in Andys guesthouse... normally i wouldn't do reviews but felt I should, due to my experience...

The room is basic, a bit like an english lake district kinda hostel... hot shower in the room for 600rupees for a double, peak season. We stayed in another place for the same price and found that andy's was better in general, and they don't charge service tax!! The shower was temperamental though, and we had to wait 15 minutes for the water to actually start coming out of the shower head, worth it though as it is so cold up in Darj!

The rooftop is amazing... best in Darjeeling for views!

In general though our first four days were fine... We then left to go to a farm stay for a couple of days. We asked Mrs. Gurung if we could stay again after the farm stay for one more night before we left Darjeeling... She assured us if she had a spare room still at 12pm we could stay that night before we left on the overnight train... Excellent! We paid our 2,400 rupees and left happy bunnies...

Three days later we rocked up at 1pm ish and mentioned the conversation we had... surprise surprise she had no recollection of who we were or that we had stayed in room A-10 (black damp btw but great views of mountains from window!) I said that it was after 12pm and she had rooms available as she had promised us... she said she was saving them for others who wanted to stay longer... totally fair enough if she had mentioned this the first time we spoke, but we had traipsed up with our bags on the promise of a room if there was one, and there was! I felt very disrespected as she spoke to me, and feel that this is not an honourable thing to do to anyone, hence the review!

In one sense i want to give Andys a good review, but feel at the same time i want to give them zero stars for their hospitality towards us...

I am hoping other backpackers do not have this experience as it really put a dampener on our time at Andys... i feel that if you are infront of them wanting to check in with money available no matter how long your stay, you should feel the right to do this and they should accept your offer!!

Room Tip: Try to get mountain facing rooms as they get a bit of sunshine in the morning and warm up ever so sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hvrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    35
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
3
31
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
treviglio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Andy's guesthouse is perfect if you are looking for a cheap and quiet accommodation.

Pros:
- hot shower (if you pay 100 rupies more)
- clean rooms
- laundry service
- the owners are really nice, they are available to provide you any information; you can also ask them to wake you up early in the morning to see the sunrise if the sky is clear

Cons:
- no wifi
- no heat
- no breakfast

Ps: bring your own towel and toilet paper!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarcoMC89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The cleanest place we stayed in this area of east India. very nice library, feels like you sit in your own living room, cosy feeling.
The place is runned by nice couple. The rate was 600 ruppies per night for double room, which was very good value for money.
When we went on trekking they kept our bags safetly in a locked room.
The main attraction is the rooftop 270 degrees of incredible view to the Himalaya - beautiful sunrises ans sunsets.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NetaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

we stayed in one of the downstairs rooms for 500 rupees a night - clean large room with attached bathroom. For 600 rupees the upstairs rooms have a shower, but the downstairs rooms have a bucket with hot water available in the mornings. The couple who own it were friendly and helpful, and there was an amazing view from the roof top. The laundry service is good too with good rates per item

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mackinac island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The guesthouse is opened by a cute, funny old couple, makes you feel at home. rooms are clean and big. it has a comfortable library and a beautiful garden which is maintained by the couple everyday. and the best of all, the guesthouse has a fantastic view point on the roof which you could have a fabulous view of the Kanchenjunga! when you go just remember don't miss the Sonar kitchen near the guesthouse for your breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kookooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I paid Rs 600 per night for a room with two single beds and ensuite bathroom. Rooms are simple but clean and well-kept. There is no TV, WiFi or restaurant on site, but there is a library and reading area. Two minutes' walk down the hill there is Sunam's kitchen which does a great full breakfast for Rs 100, and opposite this is an internet cafe that will give you WiFi for Rs 30 per hour.

The location is great, the owner Mrs Gurung was helpful, I slept well, and you can go up to the roof to get great Darjeeling sunrise views. It was a lovely tranquil place to stay.

Some people report trouble with the hot showers, I did find the hot water pressure to be low but not unusable. Make sure the cylinder in the bathroom is switched on, and don't take ages in the shower! The bathroom was very clean.

For the price I was more than satisfied.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardV_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
131 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Although most people we met said there were no reservations allowed we did managed to reserve a couple of days in advance over the phone. No reservations for coming back from a trek OR luggage storage though, even though we had stayed there for 3 nights before going!
The owner is friendly and helpful, the place is spotless, and despite it being cold and wet in Darjeeling it was quite cosy. There is a lounge with a good book collection.
The hostel is only about 10 minutes walk from Chowrasta (fountain) and all the main restaurants etc - on the way are loads of cheap street-food places selling momos, parathas etc as well as the brilliant Sonam's Kitchen.
Note - all the rooms are TWIN not double...no double beds. Towels not provided but sheet, blanket and duvet are. Good laundry service.
There were frequent brown-outs so make sure you have torch and candles, and we only had warm water one day out of three.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sparklebcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.1 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 97 in Darjeeling
650 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#64 of 97 in Darjeeling
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seven Seventeen
Seven Seventeen
#17 of 97 in Darjeeling
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
0.3 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.2 mi away
Snow Lion HomeStay
Snow Lion HomeStay
#15 of 97 in Darjeeling
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andy's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andy's Guest House

Property: Andy's Guest House
Address: Dr. Zakir Hussain Rd, Darjeeling 0354, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Darjeeling
Also Known As:
Andy`s Guest House Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing