We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shangri-La Hotel & Restaurant review”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel and Restaurant Shangri-la
Ranked #7 of 123 Darjeeling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
“Shangri-La Hotel & Restaurant review”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

That was my first visit to Darjeeling and I just wanted to make it as comfy as possible..I came across this hotel while searching for some good accomodation..the pictures were quite impressive. When we finally landed on a chilly winter afternoon in Nov, the welcome from the hotel staff was warm enough to make us feel homely and comfortable instantly. Madam Lhamu with her broad smile was always at our service, punctual, caring and extremely efficient. The room was very cosy with good wooden furnishing, aesthitically decorated and complete with a fireplace to enjoy the warmth. The english breakfast was a lip-smacking one. The location, just a few metres from the Mall, is also an added advantage. All the well-known joints..Glenary's, Keventers, the famous tea shop Nathmull's/Golden Tips..the curio shops are just a stone's throw away. Overall, definitely a nice place to stay at, but as always, comes with a heavier pocket pinch too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoumyaBiswas2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    61
    12
    5
    7
See reviews for
98
42
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The location is great for walking around Darjeeling and getting to the taxi stand. The Hotel is clean and the rooms are beautiful. Our room overlooked the mall with many windows, giving incredible light and mountain view. We had a little trouble remembering which switch was for a light and which was for our assistant. But, she was always most gracious and kind when we accidently called for help. Our very hot hot-water bottle placed in the bed a night made the comfort even more appealing. We had issues with some train tickets and our host was always gracious about assisting us with phone calls. The restaurant serves excellent food as well. I highly recommend the Shangri-La.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The service of the hotel is very good with madam Lamo at your service anytime. The place is very neat and clean with very comfortable bed and upholstery. The breakfast included in the room charges are of excellent quality and the food in the in-house restaurant is excellent. Overall an excellent stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sourendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We Visited to Darjeeling in January 2013 and our stay at Shangrila Hotel
would always be memorable. Starting from the location of the Hotel which
is near to the taxi stand with all the well known food joints at an arms
length, the curio shops in front of the hotel, the Mall just a minute away
and the best part no vehicles are allowed on this road, we could just walk
in and out of the hotel several times for sight seeing, food and
shopping.... The hotel rooms are adequately sized have wooden floors and
very neatly laid out, though we didn't get the one with fire place ,heaters
were provided .We got a two side open view with glass windows where you
can just sit down relax and sip a cup of "Darjeeling"....... Of all the
places we had food Shangrila was the best and I did like the Chinese and
also the Indian preparations. I would say its a must have even if you are
not staying at the Hotel...the cook is real good.... The bathroom was neat
and clean fitted with essentials and hot water was always available in the very cold month of January.

Anything good is always identified by the people who manage it and I must
say the hotel is very well managed by Mr. Sonam Lama and every one
in his team. Despite being an off peak season there was nothing to
complain. The lady Lohmu who serves all the three rooms did take very good
care of us and was helpful and prompt in serving food and taking care of
room....they have all made it a pleasant stay for all of us.

Last but not the least I have not been able to figure out how Mr. Ranjan
Lama the owner who resides out of Darjeeling manages the whole thing over
e mail. His turn around time related to bookings/ queries is amazing and
you can expect a very prompt and precise response. All in all its a must
stay for anyone who is visiting Darjeeling to relax and has time in hand
and is not in a hurry.....

Room Tip: If you want a fire place in you room book 102 or 103 as 101 doesn't have fire place..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anuj P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Having gone to Darjeeling many times we were familiar with the geography of the city. We were in the look out for a place of stay which meets the following criteria;
-No arduous climb to reach the hotel
-Spacious room facing north so that we can see Kanchanjungha from the room..
-Clean bathroom.
-Fire place.
-A good restaurant attached.
-Wifi connection for carrying out my work
-Very close to Mall
After going through the feed backs in trip advisor we narrowed down to this hotel. we started correspondence with the owner Ranjan Lama and got booking done through the net.
We stayed in Room No 102 which met all our requirements. The room service and the housekeeping is excellent. Lomu , the lady looking after these services takes personal care of the guests,a very efficient and sincere staff. The local head Sonam Lama is very helpful and is there to help out. He organised a reliable taxi for our trip back to Bagdogra.
Our stay of 4 days from 24th December to 28th December,2012 was unforgettable. The restaurant in the ground floor serves good food and drink at reasonable price.

Room Tip: The 3 rooms are in the first floor. The restaurant is in the ground floor. The room 102 is having...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I paid more than I usually do for accommodation but I was not disappointed. Great location on the main tourist strip and you only need to walk the last 100 metres or so (you can get a porter to help with bags). The room was super clean (there seem to be only about four or so) and had a perfect view. There is a lovely lady at the desk outside the rooms and she takes your breakfast order (Indian breakfast was great) and delivers it to your rooom. You just buzz her with buttons from beside the bed! They change towels every day and make up the room. No complaints - I'd come back. Just beware that there are many dogs that bark pretty much all night including some that lie at the door of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carnage99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burkina Faso
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

After reading the favourable reviews of both the Shangri-La Regency and this hotel, I decided to book. The Regency was full so I was referred to this one - which I was very satisfied with.

The hotel (with the restaurant beneath it) is located right on The Mall (a pedestrian only street of Darjeeling), close to Chowrasta (the central point of the mall, or the "town centre" - apparently). This means you will get some street noise but Darjeeling is a pretty quiet place so it all stops by 9PM. You will get the occasional dog barking but they are all over Darjeeling (they're all harmless - most of the time they're sleeping) so this is unavoidable no matter where you stay. As the hotel is a heritage building, there was also a bit of noise from the neighbouring rooms but nothing to worry about as the other guests seemed fairly considerate and were not noisy at strange hours, and fortunately there were no screaming babies!

The central location means that everything you need is within easy walking distance. This is very convenient as taxis are hard to come by in Darjeeling and are quite expensive, and the narrow roads make car travel impractical. Taxis from the airport or train station will drop you off at the bottom of the mall as cars aren't allowed to drive through, but it's only a 2 minute walk. The rooms also have excellent views of Kangchenjunga.

The room (including the bathroom) was very clean and spacious and was well equipped with a safe, TV, comfortable bedding, a new shower with decent water pressure and fast wi-fi, and there's also a fireplace for the colder nights. My only suggestion is that they could perhaps provide some shampoo in the bathroom to go along with the soap. Sachets are available from shops on the street very cheaply (2 rupees), but it would still be nice. There's no air conditioner but I don't think any hotels in Darjeeling have these - you really don't need one given the weather - which was, by the way, a very welcome respite after the heat of Calcutta!

The service was outstanding - particularly the lady who bought my breakfast (which was very nice) and newspaper, who was extremely attentive and polite. The reception staff downstairs were always pleasant and willing to help out wherever they could. The restaurant downstairs was also good, and their menu has a huge variety.

Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: As far as I know, all rooms have views of Kangchenjunga
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
0.1 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 98 in Darjeeling
650 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.1 mi away
Seven Seventeen
Seven Seventeen
#17 of 98 in Darjeeling
354 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel and Restaurant Shangri-la? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel and Restaurant Shangri-la

Property: Hotel and Restaurant Shangri-la
Address: 5 Nehru Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 123 B&Bs / Inns in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing