We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good choice in Darjeeling” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel and Restaurant Shangri-la

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel and Restaurant Shangri-la
Ranked #4 of 119 Darjeeling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
190 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“A good choice in Darjeeling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

The Shangri-la is housed in an older building on the Mall. Now, being on the mall means that it is noisy up to about 9 pm when the shops close and the shoppers leave the area. That being said, the Shangri-la was a good choice for the busy, large town of Darjeeling. It is a lively place, close to the Chowstra ( the main square) and great for exploring the town. We walked for hours, up and down the busy streets , enjoying the local scene.
It was cold and damp while we were there and we were provided with a heater ( at no additional cost) which was really quite ineffectual to heat the room, unless we were right next ot it. Our room was really like a suite with a seperate sitting area, a large closet, vaulted wooden ceilings, and work desk, an ample bath, wooden floors and lovely views out to the hills. The large bed was very comfortable. It was moderately priced.
A good choice in this busy town !

Room Tip: Try to get a room off the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemarytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    57
    12
    5
    7
See reviews for
91
40
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed in Darjeeling on 2 separate occasions over a 10 day period and we both wish we had stayed here first. For approximately $AUS60 we had a huge room with sitting area and en-suite, a view over the mountains from the beautiful bay window. In fact, if you go to their website http://www.hotelshangriladarjeeling.com/ our room is featured. When we arrived the hostess delivered fresh tea to us, made sure we knew were everything was (there's a buzzer next to the bed for room service) and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast is included and it's fantastic, a choice of traditional Indian or European. And most importantly, it was the most comfortable bed! Downstairs the restaurant is great, good service and lovely food. Only criticism, to the hotel, please do something about the restaurant toilets. The ladies toilet was a real letdown. Air/con please and a fresh coat of paint.

Room Tip: We had the room next to reception at the top of the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melbarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

What a amazing place....bang in the middle of things yet still quiet.Very nice breakfast in bed every morning served by your own "on-call" maid...Lhamu, a very friendly and beautiful lady...always smiling and wanting to help.
This hotel is a must....we will be staying there again for sure.

Room Tip: The hotel has only 3 rooms...the one you see on web-site is room 102....amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neilhiggins69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Travel date - 13 Apr 2012 - 16 Apr 2012

I have made the trip to darjeeling with my family which included my two and half year old daughter. Naturally her comfort came first. We stayed at Hotel Shangrila, Darjeeling and I'll list down the reasons why you should also choose to do so.
The room# 101 is BIG, with a large bed, big closet, clean bathroom and toilet, sitting area and still enough space which doubled up as a play area for my kid. The hotel is on the Mall Road, so just walk down the stairs for a good shopping experience.. and you can come back again, if you still want more. Also, you should definitely try the Chinese and Tibetian cusine here.
Nightangle park is also very near from where you can have a good sunrise experience, which can form an alternate plan if you miss the sunrise from the tiger hill.
Mr. Ranjan Lama, and his brother Mr. Sonam Lama are true gentlemen. A note of thanks to Ranjan Lama for take time to answer my queries and making the entire procedure smooth. Mr. Sonam Lama has always a tip for you regarding the weather, what to shop and where to visit. Thanks to you too. Ask them what you need and they have an apt solution for you.
Staff in this hotel are really courteous. I'll specially mention the name of Mr. Bipen Pradhan, the manager of this hotel who made all the necessary arrangements like early breakfast on the day of the departure. Lhamu always servered with a smile and she struck a special chord with my kid. My Uday was very professional in his approach. Also, the drivers Kiran, for transportation to airport and Sharat for local sightseeing are the best as they double up as local guides, telling you about the history of the palce and that makes the trip interesting and enjoyable. Thanks to all of you.
The memories of this trip is sweeter for you all..!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhageera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

This is the best hotel we have ever stayed in Darjeeling. We had a big, comfortable attic room with huge windows to view the mountains and the town; unfortunately due to bad weather we could not view the mountain. We were treated like royalty from start to finish. The staff are the most excellent and very help full, especially I need to mention the name of Mr. Bipen Pradhan who is the manager of this hotel ,nothing was too much for him.
The hotel is great for money, as well as its clean and distinctive particularly that almost in front of Mall can go by walk. Also you can do some shopping without using taxi.
The quality of the food was outstanding with a huge variety to choose from. We had complementary break-fast which used to serve in our room as well as our meals too. The cleanliness of the room, bathroom, and hotel was excellent as was the quality of the furnishings. All in all, excellent, we could not have dreamed of a better stay. Thoroughly recommended.

Abu Ertadad & Family

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mehajabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

Might be the best lodging in Darjeeling! Stayed for two nights and I had such a good experience that I had to come back and book for five additional days!

Beautiful rooms, with lots of sunlight and views of Darjeeling. Just four rooms in this hotel so a perfect place to relax and snuggle up with your loved one(s). Great location -- just steps away from Chowrasta/Observatory Hill, which is great for a peaceful morning or evening walk. Shopping right outside, which proves to be very convenient (close up around 8:30 PM so no problem with noise). Post office and Rink Mall a short walk away too.

Coziest bed ever!!! which is very important with the cold/chilly weather. Hot showers too (which can't be said for some other hotels in the area). Did I mention fast WiFi and satellite TV too? This place has it all.

The staff is incredible too. Morning tea and breakfast served promptly and with a smile. Requests are just a buzz away, and you can order room service from 8:30 AM to 8:30 PM from the delicious restaurant just downstairs. Bipen was especially helpful and made sure I had a wonderful stay!

Do yourself a favor and book here!! You will be happy you did!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paigedearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

good thing is that they look after the most imp part when u travel for outing is comfort with neat and clean rooms well dressed staff and waiters as well is the rooms laundry and bathroom secondly it is very close to main market place and the area where all the tourist gather in afternoon evening and lots of other eating corners and shopping feasta for ladies if u r travelling so keep u pocket tight when in this hotel as ur women will hunt u down in shopping or in room bye

Room Tip: i think all rooms r good see urself n choose with keeping ur budjet in mind
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArvindPareek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
10.9 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#4 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
10.0 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
10.2 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Snow Lion HomeStay
Snow Lion HomeStay
#17 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
10.4 mi away
Seven Seventeen
Seven Seventeen
#12 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
12.7 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#10 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel and Restaurant Shangri-la? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel and Restaurant Shangri-la

Property: Hotel and Restaurant Shangri-la
Address: 5 Nehru Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing