We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in Darjeeling!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel and Restaurant Shangri-la
Ranked #4 of 126 Darjeeling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Might be the best lodging in Darjeeling! Stayed for two nights and I had such a good experience that I had to come back and book for five additional days!

Beautiful rooms, with lots of sunlight and views of Darjeeling. Just four rooms in this hotel so a perfect place to relax and snuggle up with your loved one(s). Great location -- just steps away from Chowrasta/Observatory Hill, which is great for a peaceful morning or evening walk. Shopping right outside, which proves to be very convenient (close up around 8:30 PM so no problem with noise). Post office and Rink Mall a short walk away too.

Coziest bed ever!!! which is very important with the cold/chilly weather. Hot showers too (which can't be said for some other hotels in the area). Did I mention fast WiFi and satellite TV too? This place has it all.

The staff is incredible too. Morning tea and breakfast served promptly and with a smile. Requests are just a buzz away, and you can order room service from 8:30 AM to 8:30 PM from the delicious restaurant just downstairs. Bipen was especially helpful and made sure I had a wonderful stay!

Do yourself a favor and book here!! You will be happy you did!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paigedearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 170 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2012

good thing is that they look after the most imp part when u travel for outing is comfort with neat and clean rooms well dressed staff and waiters as well is the rooms laundry and bathroom secondly it is very close to main market place and the area where all the tourist gather in afternoon evening and lots of other eating corners and shopping feasta for ladies if u r travelling so keep u pocket tight when in this hotel as ur women will hunt u down in shopping or in room bye

Room Tip: i think all rooms r good see urself n choose with keeping ur budjet in mind
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArvindPareek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

This review is about the restaurant. Food was great, similar to Park. Tasty and good value.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jubjab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

DISCLAIMER: We did not stay at this hotel. We only wanted to eat at the restaurant. This account details the circumstances under which we were unable to do even that.

My wife and I wanted nothing more than to be able to sit down to a plate of momos and a drink. We settled on this restaurant after scouting the bazaar for non-vegetarian momos because they claimed to be recommended by Lonely Planet and Tripadvisor on a signboard at the entrance. Naturally, we figured, there must be some kind of higher standard here. To begin with we were told that out of the 5 (I think) cocktails on their menu, they had only 2. A screwdriver and the mojito. Not a very good start. We settled for whatever they had on offer and then asked for momos. At first the waiter told us we needed to give him a one hour (minimum!) heads-up for momos. Since we were left with little choice, we said we'd wait the one hour. Then a man (who seemed to be the manager of the restaurant) stuck his head out of the kitchen and quite simply forbade momos in any form or within any time-frame. Now I don't have a problem with the fact that sometimes restaurants aren't in a position to deliver items on the menu, but the attitude of this person was shocking. He didn't even have the decency to address his customers directly or politely, choosing instead to speak across the room in a raised voice. Needless to say, we'd had quite enough of the ridiculous attitude on display and rather than spend another minute being subjected to such shabby and unprofessional behaviour we chose to quite simply walk out. This after we had to call the waiter first to get a menu and then to give an order that they couldn't even service.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kunalpuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rogerCoventry, Owner at Hotel and Restaurant Shangri-la, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

We are sorry that this guest did not have a positive experience at our restaurant. Making momos is a very time consuming process and therefore they are subject to availability or a long wait! It is our policy to inform diners about the wait time. However on this occasion the kitchen staff realised they would be unable to provide momos in the given time frame because the kitchen was very busy, and therefore informed the waiter that momos would not be available after all. The ‘shout out’ from the kitchen was intended for the waiter and not the diner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Restaurant only review. Perfect location off the mall and fantastic interior, probably the nicest looking place we ate in Darjeeling, but an overall disappointment. We arrived a few minutes before the official 6:30 opening and the place was still very cold. A theme that continued throughout the meal as the staff tried and failed 4 times to get the fireplace going. I might suggest longer shirts or tighter belts on the jeans for the staff bending over to tend the fire. It was a bit disconcerting to see half of a waiters butt. The service was disappointing in that our waiter did not speak very good English and had a hard time understanding us and did not understand at all that we were ordering drinks and appetizers then we were going to order our main course. When we finally did get to order, everything came out quickly, but the only thing that was good was the Chicken Spring Roll appetizer. The Chicken Wontons were just OK, the Chicken Manchurian was a bit bland, and the Szechuan Chicken was also just OK. The ambiance really is quite nice and we would love to come back with a bit of improvement in the food.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank mc130hip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Stayed here four nights. The room is good, large and comfortable. However my room No103 adjoined a private room and there was no sound proofing, the wall being of timber construction, I could hear everything going on and was woken at 5.30am by the TV put on for the early rising children. The hotwater system in the bathroom only seemed to give 5minutes of truly hot water before cooling down. But my main complaint is the smell coming form this bathroom, I think it came from the shower drainage which may not have been ventilated. The smell drove me out. If these problems could be fixed this would be a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 103, noisy and bathroom stinks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bemeup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rogerCoventry, Owner at Hotel and Restaurant Shangri-la, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

Thank you for your comments. Following an investigation we have found the cause of the problem in the bathroom and this has been repaired.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Last July me and my wife decided to visit the Queen of Hills, Darjeeling and our final choice of this hotel was highly influenced by a huge percentage of 'Excellent' or 'Very Good' Tripadvisor user ratings of its parent hotel, 'The Shangrila Regency'. And what an excellent choice it had been!! The owner Mr. Ranjan Lama is a perfect gentleman. He suggested us this hotel as one of our main criteria was to stay near The Mall. He always provided us with a prompt and detailed reply to whatever queries we had and booking was a breeze with his help.

The hotel is tucked on Nehru Road, exactly in between Chowrasta and The Glenary's. We stayed there for 4 nights in Attic Suite No - 102, a spacious and tastefully decorated room with wooden flooring and a separate sitting area made up of cozy sofas beside large bay windows. I believe, an excellent view of Kanchenjungha range can be enjoyed from here on a clear day. Unfortunately, we couldn't see anything but swirling clouds as it was monsoon. The king-size bed was very comfortable and a large wardrobe was provided with a safe deposit locker inside.The bathroom had all the modern amenities and most importantly, there was no shortage of hot water since it was fitted with a self-operated geyser. Darjeeling is quite notorious for frequent power-cuts, but they have got an excellent backup system, so no worries in that front too.

The tariff was inclusive of breakfast with a choice of Indian or English menu. We opted for 'Alu-Parathas' every morning, it was so delicious and filling that we could carry on with our sight-seeing activities till late afternoon. They have got a great Restaurant in the ground floor, though we didn't visit it even once since it was possible to order any item from their mouth-watering menu right in our room, and that too at no extra charge!!

And last but not the least, I must mention the cordial and helpful staffs, their immaculate service with a smiling face made our stay much more pleasant. A big thanks to Mr. Lama and every staff of the hotel to make this one of our most memorable holiday. We would definitely stay with you next time we'll be visiting Darjeeling.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ComfortablyNumb314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.2 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.2 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#4 of 100 in Darjeeling
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 100 in Darjeeling
663 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#74 of 100 in Darjeeling
98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Gleneagles Heritage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel and Restaurant Shangri-la? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel and Restaurant Shangri-la

Address: 5 Nehru Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Darjeeling
Price Range: $24 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing