We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and great views”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel and Restaurant Shangri-la
Ranked #6 of 123 Darjeeling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great food and great views”
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Fantastic food, excellent service, friendly staff combined with a magnificent view to boot. We stayed at the Residency (same group) and have stayed at the same hotel each time we travel to Darjeeling which is every two years or so. Can not recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerri11257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    61
    12
    5
    7
See reviews for
98
42
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2011

Staying at Shangri La really made our holiday in Darjeeling. We'd recommend it to you.
We stayed for a week in this very friendly and perfectly located hotel. We felt extremely well looked after by the staff who went out of their way to help us with anything we needed. The rooms were spacious, warm and clean and at the same time retained their colonial charm with wooden floors and open fires.
The central location on a pedestrian street in the heart of Darjeeling meant that we could easily walk to many local sights, including the zoo and main square, and the children could go and explore independently whilst we enjoyed drinking tea and watching the street life go by.
We ate in the restaurant many times. All the food was great and there was a wide choice; the children really liked the tandoori chicken.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5Woodys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sils im Engadin, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Shangri-La alot, the staff was extremly friendly and very helpful and the rooms are spacious and comfortable with a nice view over the busy market. The hotel location is perfect. Only slight downside is for India / Darjeeling the price, but the room cleanliness and size as well as the service make up for this :-)!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spacealien008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2010

We ate here one night- waited for at least an hour to get our food, when customers coming long after us were served first. There was only one cook and half a dozen waiters who seemed determined to not pay amy attention to us. The food, when it finally came, was good, but worth the wait? Lovely log fire, but they're overstretching themselves with only one cook for such an ambitious menu!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leaderrjaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2010

I stayed at the Shangri La Hotel in Darjeeling in Spring 2010. , The comfort and warmth provided in the rooms as well as the attention and care of the staff, made the holiday memorable. The rooms were clean and well maintained, and any assistance was only a "ring" away. The best Oriental food in town, ensured that a meal a day at the hotel was in order.
Add to that the tall, imposing yet affable and friendly presence of Sonam Lama-and you would never fall short of a friend who proffers valuable advice on anything from a trip or buying good tea or Tibetan curios, or even sharing the local "buzz"! All in all a great stay- and one to remember and savor

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashsbnrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Shangri-la for a few nights and were very comfortable. Loved the wooden rooms and open fire and slept well under a mass of comfy blankets!
Breakfast was nice and a treat to be served to your room as there was also a seating area in the very generous sized room.
We also ate at the restaraunt serving a wide range of local cuisine. The staff were very attentive and I would thoroughly recommend both the hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
0.2 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.1 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Seven Seventeen
Seven Seventeen
#17 of 98 in Darjeeling
354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Gleneagles Heritage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel and Restaurant Shangri-la? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel and Restaurant Shangri-la

Property: Hotel and Restaurant Shangri-la
Address: 5 Nehru Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 123 B&Bs / Inns in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing