We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“review of rj resort”
Review of R.J. Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
R.J. Resort
Ranked #14 of 124 Darjeeling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“review of rj resort”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

One of the first things I noticed is that the toilet seat cannot be placed in the upright position (one has to hold it up with one hand), this sort of thing is quite typical in India actually, but usually in places which are one twentieth the price of this hotel. more problematic was that the wifi didn't work from the room, having complained about this repeatedly on the third day of my stay this was finally dealt with and then it worked for several hours and then again crashed in the evening and remained unusable through the final day of my stay there. For the price of this hotel, which is priced like a hotel in a developed country these details should certainly be addressed and fixed. The dinners were quite good and staff are friendly. There is a small gym which also improbably had a foosball table and a massage chair, but neither of these items seemed to be usable.as far as I could discern.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naturalnature9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAI, General Manager at R.J. Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Sir,

We thank you for your feedback, and are very sorry for any problems you may have faced during your stay here.

Kind Regards,

T. W. Tshering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    40
    17
    9
    12
See reviews for
65
29
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The hotel is located at a very good location, and almost all the attractions in Darjeeling town are at walk able distance. The rooms are clean and good, and the staff response is acceptable. However, they need to spruce up their cuisine as the food is not at par with the amount you pay for the room. Ambience is heavenly, the lobby is perfect for a cup of coffee. Don't forget to go on an early morning walk around The Mall, which many joggers and morning walkers do.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the Reception Floor, rather than going downwards to the basement floors. Make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CompulsionToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAI, General Manager at R.J. Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Ma'am,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our property. We look forward to seeing you soon in the future.


Kind regards,

T. W. Tshering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agra, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Everything right from services, food, rooms was excellent. Staff was warm and friendly. This is an ideal place to plan a stay with family. View from my room was great. Interiors are tastefully done with all modern facilities etc. I would definitely stay here again and recommend R.J Resort to my family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ady v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAI, General Manager at R.J. Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at out resort. We look forward to welcoming you to our property again.

Kind Regards,

T. W. Tshering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Nice place to stay. Liked the rooms. The terrace was the best part where I could sip some lovely Darjeeling tea while watching the sunset. Had an antique as well as a modern feel to it. Would recommend a stay there.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rewat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAI, General Manager at R.J. Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at out resort. We look forward to welcoming you to our property again.

Kind Regards,

T. W. Tshering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siliguri, West Bengal, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Definitely one of my favorite hotels in Darjeeling and has an almost perfect location. The view from the hotel in great, the service and food are excellent. You get the best of both world, the awesomeness of Darjeeling and the absolutely top quality management of Best Western!

The best place to stay in Darjeeling with either friends or family!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VivekLochan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAI, General Manager at R.J. Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at out resort. We look forward to welcoming you to our property again.

Kind Regards,

T. W. Tshering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purnea, Bihar, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Resplendent in sunshine, the resort stands tall and handsome situated on the mall! Mere words cannot express the feel about the place. I advise pack a bag and drop in there to bask in its glory above in the grandeur mountains. This place allows one to indulge in everything that a hill station offers. Having tied up with best western offers international standards, quality and care for all its guests. International educated management team (Les Roches, Switzerland) reflect in top quality management.
Take out sometime and allow yourself to live the magic at this place.
Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Expect a Hill station feel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiwaryAmrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAI, General Manager at R.J. Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at out resort. We look forward to welcoming you to our property again.

Kind Regards,

T. W. Tshering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had a lovely time at Rj resorts...perfect place to unwind! It was an absolute pleasant experience for our family and I would highly recommend this resort. This is a perfect place for family time: peace of mind, tranquil & relaxation was at its best.
This hotel offers clean rooms with beautiful view, lovely ambience and delicious food.The staff is highly courteous & helpful.

Great stay! Thank you RJ resorts for making my holidays memorable :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nidhi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAI, General Manager at R.J. Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at out resort. We look forward to welcoming you to our property again.

Kind Regards,

T. W. Tshering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.2 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#3 of 98 in Darjeeling
543 reviews
0.4 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
2.7 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#8 of 98 in Darjeeling
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 98 in Darjeeling
645 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Tibet Resort
Little Tibet Resort
#14 of 98 in Darjeeling
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Gleneagles Heritage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to R.J. Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about R.J. Resort

Property: R.J. Resort
Address: The Mall | Opp Governor House, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — R.J. Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your R.J. Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing