We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodation at fare prices”
Review of R.J. Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
R.J. Resort
Ranked #15 of 126 Darjeeling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I visited RJ resort during this month of june, to find a delightful escape from the summers. RJ resort made my stay worthwhile by providing everything to my leisure. The hotel is situated at a beautiful location with a breath-taking view. The bed rooms are spacious and cosy, with a decent size bed and flat screen. There are even provisions for hot water and free WIFI whenever required. Thanks to the directors Mr. Dinesh and Mohit Singh for making my stay comfortable and being a generous host. The Resort has done a wonderful job in hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mannan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAI, General Manager at R.J. Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at out resort. We look forward to welcoming you to our property again.

Kind Regards,

T. W. Tshering
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 130 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

This Resort so called director Singh think he own this world but fact of the matter is he is just owner of hotel and working in service Industry.

Poorest service and unprofessional behavior from there management , lead us to have worst experience at there hotel stay.

Not at all suggest to stay here, hotel is not worth of 2 star.

Room Tip: Don't even think on staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Worldindia999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed only one night at this joint (14.06.13-15.06.13), and that was sufficient to make me take a firm resolution never to return. The bed sheets were soiled, damp and crushed. I am not sure whether someone had changed the linen at all. The room had no ventilation, no airconditioning. The wifi signal, claimed to be free by the hotel, worked only for 15 minutes and then vanished. Even the mobile networks did not have sufficient strenght inside the rooms. The room service menu was elaborate but the service does not operate from 8PM onwards as the kitchen gets "busy" in preparing dinner ! The last nail in the coffin was totally non-soundproof glass patitions, which overlooked the central lobby, and the conversation of people sitting in the lobby reverberated, making sleep impossible. Even the people shouting and the TV from adjoining houses could be heard. The reception managers could not communicate beyond "Yes sir' and "Thank you sir". The entire complex is cramped, dingy and damp. I wonder how "Best Western" got associated with such a cubby hole !

Room Tip: The best tip would be to just avoid the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I did not stay with them and after my reservation experience with them, I thank my stars that I did not stay there!!

I had made a booking for Hotel Mayfair Darjeeling through Expedia but was surprised to be charged under the name of RJ Resorts, two days later. I call the hotel directly and they claimed that they had got this reservation from Best Western. Since I had wanted to stay only at Mayfair, I immediately cancelled this reservation through Expedia (it was a fully refundable rate) but after three months, I am still waiting for my money to be credited back to my credit card.

My attempts to reach R J Resorts have not been very successful. I spoke to their General Manager who bluntly told me that reservations were handled by their owner / director and that the GM takes care of the operation only. I wonder what kind of hierarchy does Best Western adopt!!!

I then spoke to this director who told me that they have asked their bank to credit this money back to my card and this was what they could do. There was no further assistance offered and our conversation ended with a `Do what you want to do!!' threat from the director.

Ofcourse, it looked like Expedia botched up my reservation since their confirmation to me was for MayFair and not R J Resorts. I called MayFair only to find out that they had no reservation under my name!!!

Three months have passed and I have no idea on what happened to this reversal........Can I assume that this Best Western Franchisee has misused my card by through an offline transaction???? You decide.........

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
3  Thank Holidaymonger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAI, Manager at R.J. Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Sir, Thank you for your review and clarifying the matter regarding the confusion in the bookings made through Expedia. I think so we had lot of mail and telephone communications regarding your dispute and the charge back of your credit card, where we have provided you all our proof of the total refund from our side. I request you again to kindly contact you bank and get this matter sorted out. Please be advised that we never misuse and credit cards

Take Care
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Where should i begin... My girlfriend and I visited Darjeeling for the first time and abosutely fell in love with this Hotel! I have worked in hospitaltiy most of my life so I seem to critique every place i stay at :) With that said, I couldnt have been more impressed with the staff of every department and style of this hotel! The front desk was more than helpful with recommendations with things to do in the surrounding area. They also used our name when they saw us (this made us feel respected). What really stood out was upon arrival, the General Manager introduced himself and offered to help in anyway he could. Our room was very clean and house keepers were always very friendly. I thought that was very nice! We stayed for a total of 2 nights and ate at the restaurant for breakfast and dinner. Being from the US, the food seemed to be very authentic and well prepared. YUM!! Overall I give these guys 5 stars. We both hope to return again! Thank you to all your staff!! Until we meet again!

Thanks again,

Dan

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAI, General Manager at R.J. Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at out resort. We look forward to welcoming you to our property again.

Kind Regards,

T. W. Tshering
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Perfect place to stay in darjeeling. It is located right on the mall road and away from the busy city traffic and noise. The staff was very helpful, especially the general manager who personally took care of us. The food was delicious and the menu varied daily. A very nice feature was the sundeck
on the terrace. The property also offered free wifi.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanjay K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAI, General Manager at R.J. Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at out resort. We look forward to welcoming you to our property again.

Kind Regards,

T. W. Tshering
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

we stay in hotel from 21-march to 23 rd march.the staff of hotel manager and resrorent manager was very rood not co-oprative.the staff think geust is thief and they count every thng in the when we cheke out hotel. and if anything not there they charge very high price.even they dont show any list when we chaked in.then how we know about how many items in the room.so we dont stay in future in this hotel and suggest for every geust for not stay..
surendra gupta delhi

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surendra1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAI, General Manager at R.J. Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Guest

We regret that your stay has not been to your expectations and we sincerely apologize for the shortcomings. We acknowledge the issues that you brought up and have addressed them accordingly.

We look forward to welcome you again

With kind regards,


Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.1 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 100 in Darjeeling
673 reviews
0.9 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#7 of 100 in Darjeeling
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
3.1 mi away
Sterling Darjeeling
Sterling Darjeeling
#14 of 100 in Darjeeling
333 reviews
0.8 mi away
Viceroy Hotel
Viceroy Hotel
#40 of 100 in Darjeeling
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to R.J. Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about R.J. Resort

Address: The Mall | Opp Governor House, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Darjeeling
Price Range: $69 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — R.J. Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your R.J. Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing