We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lousy Service & Damn Care Attitude!”
Review of R.J. Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
R.J. Resort
Ranked #14 of 126 Darjeeling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The worst service ever. Hotel looks good but the goodness ends there! We were served lunch after 2 hours of ordering and still didn't get what we wanted!

There is no view in ANY of the rooms and they refused to change the rooms though the extra bed would not fit in!

We lost a watch in one of the 3 rooms that we booked - and housekeeping didn't find it!

The showerhead fell on my head while taking a shower!

And in the final bill they added some other room's bill to our bill!

The Manager as well as the owner was least interested in our problems and I saw at least 2 other guest upset about some or the other services during my 2 day stay!

After paying upfront we expected better service as well as rooms. It spoilt the entire mood of our holiday. This wasn't my version of a pleasant & comfortable stay

Room Tip: None of the rooms have a view. However corner rooms towards the back of the hotel (series 1 like 101...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceipl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unid, General Manager at R.J. Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

Dear Sir!
We apologise for your negative experience in our Resort. Our Director had personally met you in the lobby regarding the issues and complaint you had lodged. He had even offered you complimentary dinner as you were the only guest who were booked in our property during the said period on Bed and Breakfast basis. Regarding the rooms we had offered you two view side and on atrium facing room. The extra bed was in room No.102 and it was to be removed as per your instruction but later it was decided not to be removed by your family as room no 102 ( Size 22ft X 12ft) is a comfortable big size room.
We have a very strict policy of guest left overs and while check out also no watch was found in your three rooms. We apologise sincerely for one of the bills which was by mistake posted in your room by it was corrected immediately as a provisional bill was placed to you.
Any how we believe that you have left with sour memories and we could not keep up to your expectations. We will surely try to improve our services mainly F&B department and our humble request will be to see you again when ever you visit our Beautiful Darjeeling

Sorry for the inconvenience one again

Management
R.J. Resorts Ltd.
Darjeeling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 130 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2012

my experience regarding the hotel was superb. right from the minute you enter the hotel reception till u leave back. Mr. dorji ,Anand at d reception were there for u all the time and the manager Mr.Shirin was soooo over whelming. My daughter had fallen sick all of a sudden, they arranged for a Dr. immediately and he was the best. all went well n it had become difficult for us to say a good bye to all of them there. as far as rooms n food is concerned.................all was too good.

Room Tip: rooms on fl one r quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kesh476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Room was so so nice stay is awesome food is okay location is also good and the hotel staff is so helpful

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saurabh0291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

It was my Honeymoon trip & they had given us Separate beds, when I ask about joint bed they attach the both bed where Mattress was not good in quality When I ressist to enter that room they gave us..... but it was interconnected with other room & they said all jointbed Room is interconnected So You have to adjust with it..........& Bathroom was very small & fitting was worst in quality, I will share my experience, I was taking bath & the Shower fall on me.............& Service is terrible, Food quality is not good...........Waiters is not trained....when you ask something, they said .....Sir, its a self Service................So I request, if you are going on Honeymoon Plz think 100 times to book R J Resorts.

Room Tip: They have no Jointbed ROOM if ti is there, all are inter connected........
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1nov_ashish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unid, General Manager at R.J. Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

Sir,
We believe that you were not comfortable in the room offered to you ans you were in your Honeymoon trip. We want to apprise you that we have mainly twin bedded rooms in our Resort and very less King Size bed rooms. At the time of you booking No specific request was provided for the bed and more over we had showed you all the possible rooms but still we could not satisfy you. Regarding the meals in the Restaurant we do not have individual table service as there is a buffet laid out for the Guests.

Regarding the shower falling on your head is actually these are Rain Showers and when any one tries to turn the shower anti clock wise or tries to loosen there is a chance that it will open up from its main shower rod.

However we are extremely sorry and wish to see you again in our Resort

Management
R.J. Resorts Ltd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Located right on the Mall, this property perhaps has the best location one could wish for. The rooms are clean, modern and spacious. The food is marvellous and the buffet has a huge variety, without compromising on the quality. We were originally booked in for 2 nights but extended our stay. The staff were very courteous and helpful. The Manager, Mr. Shering was also very keen to help with any problems. Wonderful Experience, definitely will be staying there if I ever go back to Darjeeling.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Good, quiet location, however we requested twin beds (we are sisters) and were given a double, and the bed was the hardest we slept on for our entire trip through India. Room was spacious, bathroom poorly built, the shower was extremely small and drained all over the floor as it wasn't built properly. We had to repeatedly ask for toilet paper as they would only give one roll at a time and learned that our room would only be cleaned if we turned in the key and requested it to be cleaned and treated as if we had no clue about staying in a hotel as they told us that it is common practice of hotels not to clean rooms unless request--I've stayed at thousands of hotels and never had to ask to have my room cleaned. There was no top sheet on the bed, again we were told this is normal hotel practice--ya right. The restaraunt staff were nice, however we arrived late at night and wanted to order off the a la carte menu however most of what we wanted wasn't available. The breakfast buffet didn't have many options, however the food was good. They were repeatedly asking us where we had been and our next destination, even calling us in our room and when we booked the return vehicle to the airport had to confirm that with us several times as well. Our room safe was broken. When we booked this hotel through a service it had been listed as a five star and had a five star price, this hotel is at best three star and very overpriced. And really, change all the table clothes with the numerous stains on them.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmv72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I slept one night in a very nice room, clean and quiet. The staff was very friendly either in reception / room service or in restaurant (lots of food of very good quality). It is also closed to the markets which you can reach easily on foot.
It is a western style hotel but our stay was absolutely good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiorgioFarao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.1 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 100 in Darjeeling
666 reviews
0.9 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#10 of 100 in Darjeeling
367 reviews
0.4 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.8 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#11 of 100 in Darjeeling
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to R.J. Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about R.J. Resort

Address: The Mall | Opp Governor House, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Darjeeling
Price Range: $68 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — R.J. Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your R.J. Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing