We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of R.J. Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
R.J. Resort
Ranked #14 of 122 Darjeeling B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

Located right on the Mall, this property perhaps has the best location one could wish for. The rooms are clean, modern and spacious. The food is marvellous and the buffet has a huge variety, without compromising on the quality. We were originally booked in for 2 nights but extended our stay. The staff were very courteous and helpful. The Manager, Mr. Shering was also very keen to help with any problems. Wonderful Experience, definitely will be staying there if I ever go back to Darjeeling.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    38
    15
    9
    12
See reviews for
63
29
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

Good, quiet location, however we requested twin beds (we are sisters) and were given a double, and the bed was the hardest we slept on for our entire trip through India. Room was spacious, bathroom poorly built, the shower was extremely small and drained all over the floor as it wasn't built properly. We had to repeatedly ask for toilet paper as they would only give one roll at a time and learned that our room would only be cleaned if we turned in the key and requested it to be cleaned and treated as if we had no clue about staying in a hotel as they told us that it is common practice of hotels not to clean rooms unless request--I've stayed at thousands of hotels and never had to ask to have my room cleaned. There was no top sheet on the bed, again we were told this is normal hotel practice--ya right. The restaraunt staff were nice, however we arrived late at night and wanted to order off the a la carte menu however most of what we wanted wasn't available. The breakfast buffet didn't have many options, however the food was good. They were repeatedly asking us where we had been and our next destination, even calling us in our room and when we booked the return vehicle to the airport had to confirm that with us several times as well. Our room safe was broken. When we booked this hotel through a service it had been listed as a five star and had a five star price, this hotel is at best three star and very overpriced. And really, change all the table clothes with the numerous stains on them.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmv72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rho, Italy
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

I slept one night in a very nice room, clean and quiet. The staff was very friendly either in reception / room service or in restaurant (lots of food of very good quality). It is also closed to the markets which you can reach easily on foot.
It is a western style hotel but our stay was absolutely good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiorgioFarao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

After passing the one day in Hotel i had to think why i choosed this hotel It was as one Hindi Saying "Uchee ukan Phike Pakwan" Except Look & Loaction, every thing is worst there any body can enter in your room any time with help of master Key.whatever they commited in package never ever believe on that.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asdf304551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

Stayed 2 nights .. good hotel but not great..

Good rooms but the room I stayed had no view and had view of lobby ... that was the worst part .. Imagine going to Darjeeling and staying in hotel which has lobby view.

Over all ok not great..

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tappi82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

We were almost the only guests at the hotel coz it was low season. The hotel is well-maintained. Rooms are clean. There was a leakage problem with the shower but it wasn't a big deal. Food at the restaurant was quite nice. Hotel manager was very attentive and made sure that we were warm (by giving us a heater), well-fed and able to catch our flights on time.

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank transience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

RJ was our first stop during our long NE India holiday and it set the right tone for the rest of the vacation.

The rooms and large and decent. Even with an extra bed we had enough place to move around. Would have preferred a better heater tho. The restaurant is pretty basic and the food is just above average. they have a fixed menu, so the choice is not too much

Beds are nice and comfortable. Sheets were clean. Bathroom is decent. Only problem is with the bath area. Its designed for a pygmy and an average Indian can not even by accommodated for a comfortable bath

The hotel has a great location and is on Mall Road, which is bang in the middle of the city and in a high security area. Its walking distance to the main market, which is great

I would recommend this hotel but for these small deficiencies

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deeppak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.9 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
1.0 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#4 of 95 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Little Tibet Resort
Little Tibet Resort
#12 of 95 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 95 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.8 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to R.J. Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about R.J. Resort

Property: R.J. Resort
Address: The Mall | Opp Governor House, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — R.J. Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your R.J. Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing