We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst part of my life”
Review of R.J. Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
R.J. Resort
Ranked #14 of 125 Darjeeling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2011

After passing the one day in Hotel i had to think why i choosed this hotel It was as one Hindi Saying "Uchee ukan Phike Pakwan" Except Look & Loaction, every thing is worst there any body can enter in your room any time with help of master Key.whatever they commited in package never ever believe on that.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asdf304551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
There are newer reviews for R.J. Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 129 of 129 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2011

Stayed 2 nights .. good hotel but not great..

Good rooms but the room I stayed had no view and had view of lobby ... that was the worst part .. Imagine going to Darjeeling and staying in hotel which has lobby view.

Over all ok not great..

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tappi82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

We were almost the only guests at the hotel coz it was low season. The hotel is well-maintained. Rooms are clean. There was a leakage problem with the shower but it wasn't a big deal. Food at the restaurant was quite nice. Hotel manager was very attentive and made sure that we were warm (by giving us a heater), well-fed and able to catch our flights on time.

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank transience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

RJ was our first stop during our long NE India holiday and it set the right tone for the rest of the vacation.

The rooms and large and decent. Even with an extra bed we had enough place to move around. Would have preferred a better heater tho. The restaurant is pretty basic and the food is just above average. they have a fixed menu, so the choice is not too much

Beds are nice and comfortable. Sheets were clean. Bathroom is decent. Only problem is with the bath area. Its designed for a pygmy and an average Indian can not even by accommodated for a comfortable bath

The hotel has a great location and is on Mall Road, which is bang in the middle of the city and in a high security area. Its walking distance to the main market, which is great

I would recommend this hotel but for these small deficiencies

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deeppak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Although the rooms are beautiful, the service is suffocating. For example, dinner begins at 8 and ends at 10 pm. We were called in our room at 8:05 and 'reminded' to come to dinner. Also, there seems to be a lot of stress on the restaurant waiting staff to perform in a fashion befitting a 5 star hotel. This makes them extremely ackward and tense; and they are always watching you eat (perhaps management is extremely unforgiving). It is really uncomfortable and stifling. I would have enjoyed this hotel if they had let us have more privacy.

Other than the aforementioned tidbits, this was a fantastic hotel. Very centrally located, clean, and beautiful rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizardo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

Stayed in October 2010 with my wife. Location was good, hotel is clean and tidy. Food is also good. However beds are as hard as the timber floor, shower is clean but bad design causes water to go everywhere and is small. linen including towels, sheets and dining room linen clean but stained. Service is a bit suffocating - phone calls saying dinner is ready etc. No kettle/tea making facilities. Drinks in restaurant obscenely expensive. Overall the accommodation is ok but it is very expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taps40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.2 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#3 of 98 in Darjeeling
543 reviews
2.7 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#8 of 98 in Darjeeling
346 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 98 in Darjeeling
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.2 mi away
Windamere Hotel
Windamere Hotel
#6 of 98 in Darjeeling
324 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 98 in Darjeeling
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to R.J. Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about R.J. Resort

Address: The Mall | Opp Governor House, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Darjeeling
Price Range: $81 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — R.J. Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your R.J. Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing