We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay with family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Villa Everest
Ranked #9 of 97 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay with family”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I stayed in villa Everest for 2 days in Nov 2013 and the stay was wonderful. I stayed in room number 10 on second floor. This was a big room with separate sitting area and great view of kanchanjunga peak from window. I was able to see the golden peak with the sunrise rays from my room. The bed was heated and very comfortable. The washroom was clean and big with hot water available all the time. The staff was very friendly and the owner was very helpful in giving tips regarding different points to see in Darjeeling and when to go there. He suggested Glenary's for dinner and it turned out to be great choice. They also gave 10% discount to villa Everest guests. Overall a highly recommended place for family stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit_Bendre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    88
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
90
61
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for 2 days in the month of December and I must say I had a fairly comfortable stay in the hotel.

The Room- The room were clean spacious and pretty well equipped. The bed had heaters and the hot water in the washroom was not an issue. The WIFI in my room worked well and the television had subscription of all major channels.

Food- My plan had breakfast included and the breakfast was a Typical Indian one. Homely made food , nothing lavish but quite eatable. I got a complimentary discount coupon for eating in Glenary's ( A great place to eat in Darjeeling) .You can also order from Dominos Pizza which offers free hotel delivery. Else you need to venture out for Lunch and Dinner.

Location- Mall road is a good 10-15 minute walk from the place. Though the location is perfect , but its not a big deterant for not staying in the place.

Service- The hotel Staff were quite welcoming and pleasant.

Other Facilities- Lacking. No garden , no sports and recreation and no 24*7 restaurant.

All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We spent 4 nights in the Hotel from 27th Nov to 1st Dec 13. We were three family of office colleagues & wanted to have a good place to stay where our family can enjoy the stay & trip.

We booked 3 rooms of hotel considering the views on Trip Advisor and other sites and we did not get disappointed at all after reaching the hotel. Service was efficient and fast. Staff is very courteous & helping. Rooms and hotel is very clean and tidy. This place makes you feel at home.

Heater was provided in the room with extra charge. However, Bed was with electric heating beneath the mattress which keeps us warm whole night. Atmosphere was very cold after 6 pm and services mentioned above help us stay without any worry of catching cold. It was very much convenient. Linen, blanket & bath towels, Hand towels were neat & clean. Bathroom was also very much clean. Bathroom is provided with geyser/heater hence no worry about the hot water. Geyser to put on half hour before going to shower as cold water will take time to heated up. One day we faced Power outage in that area of city in the morning, but otherwise there was absolutely no worry.

There is a small dining area where breakfast was served. Quality of food was very good with prompt service. We had been asked in advance in the morning if we would like to have dinner. Dinner menu was shared with us and been asked us if we want anything special or need any changes in Menu. This was indeed very helpful. out of four days, we ate 3 times dinner & food was very good.

All rooms are good. Rooms are having a small table, a LCD TV, good interiors and lightning, separate cupboards.
Room service was also very good. However, Travellers be informed that this is not a 3 star-4star hotel & hence will not get any room service after 9 pm (after dinner). room service will start from morning around 7 to 8.30-9 pm. Hence, if you need extra water bottle etc for night, take it during dinner time. Rooms are provided with Tea maker so morning tea you can manage at your own.

Location of this place is very near to the main bazzar/shopping area. by walk it would take maximum 4-5 minutes to reach out to restaurants, bar, shopping store etc.

So this place is good to stay with family & friends. Dont expect hi-fi services of 4 star - 5 star hotel. But overall it was at par with them as per convenience and peace of mind.

Room Tip: All Room are good. However from Higher Floor rooms are large & sunny with good view of mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalayJoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We spent 3 nights in the hotel. Our room had excellent view of the mountains. The room was big and comfortable with dedicated tea corner (we were served Darjeeling tea on arrival). Darjeeling is a cold place so the provided bed heater really increased our comfort. Cleanliness could be improved but was not disturbing (however it is what prevented me to give 5 star rating).
The food (breakfast) was tasty and there are many options (at least for continental breakfast what we asked for) both veg and non-veg. Small improvement for the staff: please ask what to serve before you give us food what we do not want to have. I especially enjoyed their cheese omelette.
Location is good, frequented areas are in 10 minutes walking distance.
The staff is polite and ready to help. Special thanks to the owner for his hospitality (he greeted us and said goodbye personally and he was always there when he was needed).
Our overall experience was very positive. This is a good place to stay and to explore the awesome city of Darjeeling from here. I would choose the same hotel to stay if I had chance to go to Darjeeling again.

Room Tip: Room nr. 9 has excellent view of the city and the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nerina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

this place is very neat and compact. Good view of kanchenjunga on a clear day. This property is close to the shopping area. We stayed there for 2 days and both the days we found it very convenient to reach out to the shopping area. We were served one of the best aloo parathas here....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anonymous8523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonlomRongong, Owner at Hotel Villa Everest, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank for reviewing us. We are really happy to have had you stay with us. It has been very encouraging to read your review and it has given us the motivation to do well. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait, Al Kuwayt, Kuwait
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I went to Darjeeling for the first time and the idea of staying in a villa seemed very romantic. Also I wanted the kids to have the experience of a villa as they have always stayed in urban apartments. The first impression was good. We were welcomed with a cup of darjeeling tea. However it did not take much time for the awe to convert into disgust.
Firstly, let me make it clear to the travelers that don't go to this place if you are expecting a swimming pool or fitness centre. There is absolutely nothing. Not even a proper garden to sit and relax. Not even a library to read something. No fan or AC. No wifi connection. Faulty and smelly bathroom. Smelly bedsheets and towels.
In the name of staff, there are just a few number of boys who will not be available after nine. One ofthe boys cooks food in a dingy kitchen. Prices are considerably high and food is horrible.The location is not good either. It is a good half hour walk from the nearest mall road. If there is an emergency in the night, you are entirely on your own as the hotel does not have a vehicle.
Certainly, one of the worst places I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Humera R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonlomRongong, Owner at Hotel Villa Everest, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking out your valuable time to review us. we are extremely sorry that you did not enjoy our hospitality here. We have taken your feedback and we will try and improve on it in areas we are able to do , However no hotels in Darjeeling have air conditioning as Darjeeling gets very cold and swimming pools are not heard of here as Darjeeling is a small tourist town with acute water problems and so swimming pools do not make sense., Maybe in the future we will be able to come up with a gymnasium and Library Our hotel is a family run hotel and we try and give cuisines that are local to our taste and we ensure that our linen and rooms are clean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochin
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We checked into this hotel in the month of october in the afternoon after the tiring journey from Jalpaguri to darjeeling.The location of the hotel was some about in the interiors as we had to roam about a lot in the cab to find the hotel.We were finally releived after finding the hotel.

We checked in at about 1pm and and moved into our rooms.The man at the reception was very polite and the staff too were excellent.As we checked in they gave us pizzas to eat and we were on the whole very happy.The food was a bit saltiless.The staff at the restraunt was awesome.He had particular way of serving and had an excellent behaviour.The rooms were quiet clean and the bathroom was very luxurious.It was fully covered with glass and if I would have been drunk then I would have surely crashed onto it.There was one serious problem with the bathroom of ROOM 106 THAT THE BATHROOM HAD TRANSPARENT CURTAINS. The staff were exceptional!!.The view through the windows were good.The cost of the food was a bit high.
AN EXCELLENT HOTEL FOR STAY!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashish j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonlomRongong, Owner at Hotel Villa Everest, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review us, We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and recommending us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
1.6 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#6 of 97 in Darjeeling
341 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 97 in Darjeeling
650 reviews
1.0 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
1.2 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 97 in Darjeeling
643 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#12 of 97 in Darjeeling
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Everest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Everest

Property: Hotel Villa Everest
Address: 1 Hotel Villa Everest A J C Bose Road | Near Circuit House, Darjeeling 734101, India (Formerly Villa Everest)
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 97 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa Everest 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Everest was built in 1904 and is located at 1 A.J.C. Bose Road, Darjeeling, which was then known as Auckland Road during the British Raj. The property belonged to the former mayor of Kolkata, Shri Kamal Kumar Basu, who sold the property to us in the year 2007. This building has been carefully reinforced and the basic layout of the building has been retained. We have added one floor to the structure that has the Attic Rooms. This establishment is a 11 room family run hotel that offers a comfortable stay. To get in touch with the latest all rooms are fitted with LCD TVs with cable connection and also have Free Wi-Fi connectivity in all rooms.So while on vacation at Darjeeling, Villa Everest offers rooms that are comfortable, decent and well equipped with views of the Singalila Range and of Mt. Kanchendzonga from every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Everest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing