We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Villa Everest
Ranked #7 of 95 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Jodhpur, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 4 nights from 20/4/2013 to 23/4/2013.Good arrangement for hot water ,as it was raining and cold during the period.G M was good to provide vehicle for local tours.Driver shri Abhishek was sincere and good at driving in hilly area.They are new for veg MAP.Though they tried to prepare food as per our demand ,but still needs a lot of practice and experience.

Room Tip: All 10 Rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prbhakal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    86
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
89
59
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel on our honeymoon trip. When asked for a room with a view, they told me that every room has the same view and was offered a room in the ground floor. Was disappointed when I opened the window for the 'View', I could only see the road running below and the near by building thats undergoing some repair works. I could hear voices from that building even during late nights which made me really uncomfortable.

Break fast was decent enough. Aloo paratha was so soft that it melted in my mouth. on the second day they even brought the breakfast to my room. Serivce offered is worth mentioning.

Located some 1.5 kms away from the bazar on a steep road that becomes deserted after 7 PM. So if you are planning to go for dinner after 7, better hurry.

Electronic heating bed was a surprise.

Bathroom was modern with glass doors and stuff. Cleanliness can be improved a lot as I could see some strains in the bedspread.

Overall an above average place.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bala49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umiam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Good family run hotel. Nice clear view of kanchanjunga from the room window. Very good breakfast, but alas, no lunch or dinner. Apparently there is a plan that includes lunch and dinner as well but I couldnt find that on cleartrip. Courteous staff. Overall, a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Mayank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I would start this review by praising the owner (Mr. Monlom) who was extremely helpful.

We had to leave early due to some issue in Darjeeling and he readily arranged a cab @ 8 in night. He even offered us to pay later as his card machine was not working. Hard to imagine such trust for people whom you don't know at all.

We met his wife as well. A nice smiling and helpful couple.

Now coming to Hotel and Service.

Place - Great location, 10 mins walk from chowrasta, not much taxis/traffic noise. Nice clean building facade compared to other so called premium options on this road.

Food - Limited options but nice homely non spicy food. We enjoyed the food.

Rooms - Its a small hotel with only 10 rooms. We stayed in attic room (2nd floor rooms) and stay was great. Clean room and toilets, comfortable bed (electrically heated- comes really handy). Room offers good view of hills and have wooden flooring, glass shower area.

However, shower cabin glass and toilet seat are very close and might cause some issue to healthy people.

Service - I would say we experienced innocent hospitality. Polite and ready to serve staff but lacks professional fine tuning. A little training would do wonders to these nice people.

Summing up - A great small place run by genuine nice people..

Room Tip: Choose Attic Rooms - 2nd floor rooms room no - 8 (no lifts though). These offer good views and have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaurav099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

The hotel doesnot have parking facility,but we only hire a cab there so who cares. they do not have multicusine restaurant, but what they have is limited spread of items which tasted fantastic( i ges its more of a home made food), we had booked star hotels for our entire tour except for this one but we had better food arrangements here (tastewise). They have limited staff but we never felt unattended and the staff is highly cooperative.the heater wasnt sufficient enough to kill the cold inside the room but the electrical blanket did the rest ( a facility which i could not find in other 4 star hotels around sikkim).room was cute and specious enough.The best part however was the view.fabulous ice caped peaks.wonderfull stay, was a perfect kickstart for my honeymoon trip

Room Tip: do not expect a typical spread of breakfast and dinner but you ll get descent enough items to choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitesh106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
338 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Excellent hotel with panoramic views of the hills. You glance from the sit out of the room. It is located quiet away from the busy and clumsy roads and isolated from the pollution. Rooms are kept very clean and well maintained. An electric heater for beds is an excellent arrangement.
Mr. Justin (manager) is quiet knowledgeable and gives good travel advice and shows hospitality in arranging food and travel. Limited choice of food is available and food Served is good.
Minus points are one has to walk around 15 minutes from the taxi stand. Parking place is limited and one should have reserved car for movements. Private taxies will charge one way Rs.150/ but for return to shopping area has to be on foot only. And as there is no restaurant attached and one has to order food in advance. Management may add restaurant in due course.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ASMTRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.7 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 95 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
1.6 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#9 of 95 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.0 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.1 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#1 of 95 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#11 of 95 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Everest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Everest

Property: Hotel Villa Everest
Address: 1 Hotel Villa Everest A J C Bose Road | Near Circuit House, Darjeeling 734101, India (Formerly Villa Everest)
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 95 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa Everest 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Everest was built in 1904 and is located at 1 A.J.C. Bose Road, Darjeeling, which was then known as Auckland Road during the British Raj. The property belonged to the former mayor of Kolkata, Shri Kamal Kumar Basu, who sold the property to us in the year 2007. This building has been carefully reinforced and the basic layout of the building has been retained. We have added one floor to the structure that has the Attic Rooms. This establishment is a 11 room family run hotel that offers a comfortable stay. To get in touch with the latest all rooms are fitted with LCD TVs with cable connection and also have Free Wi-Fi connectivity in all rooms.So while on vacation at Darjeeling, Villa Everest offers rooms that are comfortable, decent and well equipped with views of the Singalila Range and of Mt. Kanchendzonga from every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Everest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing