We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Classic Guest house
Ranked #3 of 124 Darjeeling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed May 28, 2010

Very kind and helpful staff, an extremely nice proprietor, cosy, nicely decorated, clean and big rooms (room B is almost like a suite, part-devided into sleeping and sitting room), very quiet (no cars allowed on either sides of the hotel), good beds, balcony with great view and most important in the hills: electricity and hot water 24hs, without any disturbing and stinking loud generator - that´s hard to find in the hills.
The perfect place to stay if you want to be away from the chaotic&loud streetlife of Darjeeling, and still have only about 5 minutes walk on foot to cafes and shops on mainstreet. We were there in the middle of a strike, and the proprietors took kind care of us so we had food delivered to our room when all restaurants were closed downtown. All wishes were fullfilled immediately, and it´s really nice to have your tea and breakfast delivered to the room free of charge (as there is no breakfast room). The hotel only comprises a few rooms, why it is really cosy and feels like home. The only place I would go when coming back to Darjeeling!
Only (very small) drawback: you have to walk 3 minutes to get to a taxi, as it is a carfree zone. But you get so much on the plus-side, that you won´t worry about that. Besides the staff will help you to carry your luggage free of charge.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thepromisedland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    62
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
52
54
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nagpur
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Just sit in the dedicated balcony of your room and see the mountains so clear, the Valley and the fog so near with your tea or any other drink. 30 seconds from Chowrasta, the main chowk or main market, close to Taxi stand and the staff along with the owner Mr.Rajen Singh ment only for guests. Not a commercial type hotel, but a bunglow. i had a great experience there.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SureshNagpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, Idaho
Level Contributor
230 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2010

The rooms face east--important because Darjeeling's main sunshine hours are morning. And the balcony faces the same direction.
The hotel is on the quiet side of the town. You hear children playing at the schools, but not a lot of traffic noise (in contrast to most of India).
The water heater is large enough to give you a full hot shower--important in a cool climate.
The hotel gives you hot water bottles that are still warm in the morning.
The TV has plenty of channels that aren't simply Indian Bollywood shrill musical numbers.
The owners have been very gracious, courteous, as have been the employees.
The room has a full-height table in it, so that you can not only eat there, but also type.
And the cost was low--Indian Rs 1000/night in 2010 April.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithHruza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2009

Stad on three occassions during my trip in India and Sikkim, leaving my bag while I went travelling and then came back again. Rajen and his staff are very helpful,friendly and it felt like coming home on each occassion. The rooms were very spacious and clean

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller10096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2009

We had a room next to the garden which was cosy and quiet. We stayed for 4 nights and our hosts really looked after us. We were made to feel really welcome and they couldn't do enough to make sure we were comfortable (left the geyser on for longer so we had lots of hot water, supplied tea on request and great omelettes for breakfast). We stayed previously in a hotel on The Mall - and it was really noisy with the dogs barking at night. At The Classic we slept really well and were never disturbed by animal or people noise. It's great value and exceptionally friendly. The rooms are clean and comfortable and there's lots of bedding provided on those cold Darjeeling nights. The balconies have fantastic views of the valley and the hotel is just a short walk from the action of Darjeeling - so convenient when you head out to dinner etc. We paid around a 1000 rupees a night for a smaller downstairs double room.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2008

Had a great time, the room we first stayed in was quite large and old, but the balcony has breathtaking views of the valley and mountains!
The room had a sitting area and then a sleeping area, cable tv, big bathroom and lots of eclectic decorations!
And a very good heater too.

The staff are fantastically friendly altho the english was not so good, but the room service tea is great after a long day walking around.
We never had breakfast there as we wanted to go out, but they do do food.
After you get in from dinner, they knock at your door and present you with hot water bottles to sleep with! In addition to the mountains of blankets!
Snuggle down and watch cable tv (HBO and bad movies are great on cold darjeeling nights).

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade_alexander1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2008

Cosy familiar guest house, rooms with terrace and great views, really enjoyed them. The staff are very nice and the breakfast is lovely.The price is also good as well as the location

  • Liked — the terrace and the views
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.2 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 97 in Darjeeling
650 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
0.1 mi away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#64 of 97 in Darjeeling
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.6 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.1 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#12 of 97 in Darjeeling
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Classic Guest house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic Guest house

Property: Classic Guest house
Address: C R Das Road | Below Chowrasta, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Guesthouse is located just below Chowrasta on C.R.Das Road, one minute walking distance from Chowrasta Police Booth and Cafe Coffee Day, on a peaceful location away from the maddening travellers crowd and traffic facing the wide range of panoramic view from part of mountain to Tiger Hill and the lush green valley. All the rooms have its own private balcony. Guests can have breakfast in the garden or in the balcony on a clear day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Classic Guest house reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing