We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Darjeeling”
Review of Revolver

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Revolver
Certificate of Excellence
kolkata
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Darjeeling”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I was here during March 2012. Thoug location is a bit away from the famous Mall, still it is worth to stay here. On a clear day you can see the Snow peaks from room.
No words is more for the staying experience here, though the entrance is a bit shabby, but believe me, you will love every inches of the hotel when you are in. This is the hotel I recomended 3 friends of mine without hesitation for their family trip at Darjeeling, and everybody was just amazed like me.

The owner was friendly, they did not even asked for a booking advance when we booked it.

Only thing we did not like, is the option of food. Do not try the thalis here unless you are used to eat foods which you are not used to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diptiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    58
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
44
69
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I am Abhi from Bangalore. We booked George Room for 3 of us for two days. When we reached, we were welcomed by Vikash and in no time we were felling at home. Rooms was very clean and tidy. We were all feeling very cold but we had was electric bed so we did not require any additional heater. There was no problem for hot water as there was gas heaters and we could get hot water at any point of time. there was WiFi facility with good connectivity so browsing or uploading photos were not at all a problem. You can also spend some time watching TV and a pen drive with full of songs from Beatles.. Revolver also has good collections of books, you can take a look if your voracious reader and like exploring books:). Vikash arranged one day Darjeeling trip for us though his personal cars were already booked. We even took tips from Vikash on what to buy and where to buy :). Shopping centers are also at walk-able distance. He also gave us the right guidance and contact details so that we could travel ahead towards Gangtok. Not to forget Sarvan who helped us with our luggage and our breakfast was very helpful to us.
People in Darjeeling are very calm, down to earth, humble, very kind and always helpful.. so you wont have any kind of trouble with people.

Over all it was a wonderful personal experience. I would strongly recommend travelers to have a revolver experience if they happen to plan a trip in Darjeeling.

Thanks to Vikas and Asenla who are running this Home-stay and catering to travelers needs with almost care :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abhi587j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 549 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is not a hotel, but a family run bungaow.
They have divided the 1st floor into 5 rooms, after 4 Beatles & their manager.
Each room is diff, & the John room (1st on the left) appears the biggest.
John & Paul are corner rooms with double windows, so they are brighter. They face west, so early sunrays will not wake U.
The George room is also a corner room with double windows; as big as John, but facing east, so it is not for late risers.

PROS
Very clean, so well liked by foreigners
Vikas & Asenla, the owners, take a personal interest & go out of their way to help U plan your sightseeing & Itenary.
They also work too hard in running this bungalow all by themselves, with only 1 temporary cook & 1 helper for room service & porterage.
Yes, they provide free porterage too, which most Europeans are not used to.
They have invested in an extremely comfy 12 inch electrically heated mattress. Heating is fully adjustable--temp & duration, etc
Besides cable TV channels, they have Beatles songs & videos pre-programmed on the LED TV
They have a unique gas heater, to have uninterrupted hot water, even during power failure, (which is Very common in Darjeeling, though we didn't experience any)
A lovely playstation 3 to have a Beatles Karaoke psingalong or play games like tennis, etc. This is available free for all guests in the lounge / hall cum restaurant
The Continental platter @ Rs180 is delicious, The Naga platter @Rs80 is healthy & cheap
Only Cappuchino @Rs60 is expy by darjeeling standards (where momos cost Rs 10 for 4)
The rooms are v.reasonably priced.
Brian room @Rs 800 is very cheap--Acc. to Vikas, this is bcos the water pressure here is worse then the others (acc to Vikas)

CONS
Since the water heater runs on gas, the window of the bathroom has to be left open (with a small curtain). Also, an exhaust fan must be kept on for air to circulate; for oxygen to feed the flames. This gives U a draft while bathing & is a bit chilly. We didnt get any smell of gas while bathing.
The water pressure is too low, not suitable for a shower. So, u need to have a bucket bath!
No tray below the bathroom mirror, to keep toiletries. I told Vikas this & he said he would fix trays soon.
The entrance is not impressive. It is through the Open School carpark, then down a muddy lane (But this is not a problem, & there is nothing they can do about it)

All in all a lovely experience. My entire family enjoyed staying here, more than all the other regular 2* hotels on our long 17N tour

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank drsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

In this town full of exchangable, anonymous hotels, this family-run place is a true lucky strike. Revolver is a very friendly, personal, heartful and stylish hotel where you immediately feel at home.

We spent about two weeks here and really fell in love with this place: it's well situated in the centre of town but still quiet. The place is very clean, the service brilliant - you get everything from wifi and books to travel tipps.

Moreover, Asenla and Vikash were helpful in every way, caring when my boyfriend got sick and gave us a great insight into history and culture of India's northeast.
They even supply you with selected novels by regional authors, perfect for a cozy evening in the heated beds.
In their restaurants they serve unique Naga dishes, outstanding in taste and all freshly prepared.

Revolver is different from most hotels on many levels and perfectly works as a rolemodel for modern tourism in India.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Treppensteiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I booked Revolver of the good reveiw of Tripadvisor, but it is turned out as most terrible hotel experience!

1) Poor Water Pressure - unable to take a shower
I stayed in "Paul", the water pressure is terribly weak (please see photo enclosed), it is not more than a line that I can't take shower at all. If you can take shower in this water level, please go ahead!

Also, the use LPG as fuel for the heater, the room is full of LPG smell whenever you are using the heater. the room is full of odur

2) No hot water for the hand basin.
the heater is only connected to the shower but that means you have wash your face at the early morning with the frezzing cold water. If you wanted to quickly wake up at the morning, Resolver shall be your choice.

3) Odd entrance.
Revolver is stand in a far inside of the lane, that you have (a) entered a muddy car park and (b) then turn right to walk through a very narrow muddy footpath, (c) so you can finally see the entrance of Revolver. (phoro enclosed)

Note there is no lighting at the carpark and the muddy footpath, so if you go out for dinner. Please don't forget to bring your torch!

4) Poor Travel Services
The hotel owner offered two half day tour by using the hotel car at Rs2,000. - a) a half day visit for city tour i.e. tea planation and zoo and b) a half day visit to see the sun rise at Tiger Hill.

One day before my Tiger Hill visit, the owner suggested me to cancel the Tiger sun rise visit on the ground that of poor weather / cloudy, that I am unable to see the sun rise. I therefore accepted their proposal and then make my own arrangement to citywalk and joy ride of the toy train.

But I later found out that they use the hotel car to send the other hotel customer to the Napel Border (of course at a charge basis) and that's the reason they pro-actively suggested me to cancel .

of course, they have the right to selected the best way to use the hotel car to earn the highest profit and the best deal.

But you know,they have chraged me Rs1,600 of the half day city tour! (originally agreed 2 half day is Rs2,000!!! but I didn't ask them the breakdown cost of the two half day tour) !!!

5)Check your Bill
They make "mistakes" on all the bills. Make sure you have checked the bills before you paid it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EllieChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revolver-Darjeeling, Owner at Revolver, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are sorry for the terrible experience you had at Revolver. Among your many woes, there are a few that are beyond our control, like the entrance that does not belong to us. We made a conscious decision to go in with gas water heaters because we wanted our guests to have hot water on demand and it just requires turning a knob to increase the water pressure, which could have been resolved if communicated to us. There is a bit of a LPG smell when the heater is on, but we have provided an exhaust fan that helps to a large extent. With the town being prone to power-cuts, we felt it was a small trade off.

Yes, we made a small slip while preparing the bill. It wasn't intentional, but it was a slip nonetheless and we apologize for it. Since we wanted you to have the same vehicle right through the trip, we changed your vehicle from an Ertiga to an Innova, and while making the bill, I forgot to account for that, so, I billed you Rs. 200 extra, which was amended as soon as it was pointed out by you. With regards to the trip to Tiger Hill, as we've been doing (and will continue to do so), we suggest that our guests skip it for another morning if the weather is not clear. It has been wrongly insinuated in the review that we pro-actively suggested that you skip Tiger Hill because the vehicle was going elsewhere. In fact, the very reason why we sent in our Innova to pick you up (at the same cost) in place of the Ertiga, as was previously arranged, was to make sure that you had the same driver and vehicle right through. As was suggested, the vehicle was to have taken you to Tiger Hill on the fourth day on your way to Gangtok. But since you checked-out on the third day itself, we deducted some amount for the same from your total bill.

Meanwhile, the fares quoted was for an Innova, so, for anyone who has been to Darjeeling and knows the general taxi fares, the fairness or the lack of it is self evident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I think the owners go beyond your regular B&B experience, they try to create a five-star B&B with all the little things they take care of. As my first visit to a five-star B&B it was great. The food platter, the service, the room everything was very very good. I stayed in John in Oct'13. I really look forward to coming back to Darjeeling for more of the Revolver hospitality experience.And I really wish the owners more success in their future endeavors to make the Darjeeling experience a truly unique one. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Revolver is special in its own way. A huge collection of beetles memorabilia , a guitar for you to strum some notes , an array of good books to read, view of the mountains from the window and a wonderful host ready to help you out with travel tips. Revolver has 5 rooms after , John,Paul,Ringo,George and the band manager Brian.

All the rooms are very clean and has a chic Beetle themed decor . I stayed at the largest room 'John' for 1200/-

All the rooms are provided with geysers which run in gas,TV, bed warmers, toiletries. Try out the breakfast and Nepali platter in their restaurant. If you are a music enthusiast ,switch the TV on and play the recorded beetles playlist , or go to the lobby and play the guitar yourself.

This place is hidden in a corner behind the Union Chapel which secludes it from the chaos making it almost invisible from the main road.

Just 10 mins walk you will land up at the market and other best resturants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohan_iiitc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.4 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
0.1 mi away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#66 of 98 in Darjeeling
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#12 of 98 in Darjeeling
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Snow Lion HomeStay
Snow Lion HomeStay
#15 of 98 in Darjeeling
193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Revolver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Revolver

Property: Revolver
Address: 110, Gandhi Road | Behind Union Chapel, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 154 Specialty Lodging in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revolver, Darjeeling is a small, cosy hotel with five rooms. When the owners decided to start a small hotel, being fond of music, particularly the Beatles, the owners decided to base the decor on the Beatles memorabilia that they had collected over the years. Accordingly, the hotel was named after the most critically acclaimed album of the Beatles.Based on guest feedback, since the latter half of 2012, all the rooms have been made non-smoking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing