We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ever zoo seen in India.”

Padmaja Naidu Himalayan Zoological Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$83.00*
and up
Darjeeling Half-Day Private Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #3 of 100 things to do in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“Best ever zoo seen in India.”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Its the best ever and most maintained zoo we have ever seen in India. I have seen some animals never seen before like snow leopard. We were dead tired to see this zoo, went there just to visit as we came long way from Mumbai. But after going inside, we were like thank god we visited this zoo. I would say must visit place.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kuwaronline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    648
    653
    203
    28
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
1,199 reviews
448 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
“animals i haven't seen elsewhere”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Really enjoyed the visit to the zoo--- on whole, nicely maintained. Many of the enclosures for the animals are well done and spacious-- although a few are not. The himalayan wolf, cloud leopard, and red panda were new to me--- and really lovely to see. I esp loved the red panda-- and there were a few enclosures with pandas, so plenty to see. Definitely try to visit this zoo! We stayed about two hours, including about 45 min in the mountaineering institute, which is within the zoo grounds.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jenabaintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great place for kids”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The animals are really healthy and well kept in this zoo. There is a lot of variety to see as well. You can see black panther, snow leopard, red panda, bengal tiger, Himalayan wolfs, bears, all in one place. Thats fantastic.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amit_Bendre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
1,819 reviews
972 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 928 helpful votes
“Nice to see the animals, but I always feel sad in zoos”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Nice to see the animals famous in this area including red pandas, tigers, etc., but I always feel sad they are in cages. The male tiger was pacing (boredom?) but the red pandas and most small mammals looked relatively entertained.

There should be more enforcement of visitors not taunting the animals or trying to get their attention for a photo. That is rude and disrespectful to the animals and only leads to more stress.

Very clean grounds, however!

I did enjoy my visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Saranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 549 helpful votes
“Snow Leopard & 4 Red Pandas”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

1 Snow Leopard & 4 Red Pandas are the show pieces, but the birds are impressive too
Animals are well fed

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank drsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Padmaja Naidu Himalayan Zoological Park also viewed

Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 

Been to Padmaja Naidu Himalayan Zoological Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing